Emperors Race

awesme

Hi Clay

I really like the FiT kit!! Remember you well.

Thanks Underachiever, it is a nice kit and you can buy them from FiT, let me know if you're interested and I will put you in contact with the guys from FiT.

• Replies 175

I am one of those guys in the Lenmed kit. Well done on the guys that tried to get away with me. I ride the Ridley. Tried to set my buddy up for the sprint but at the end landed up to sprint myself. One of the guys who sucked wheel the whole race with the Fit kit on just nipped me on the line. Got 2nd in the end though.

Great Pieter. Good for you. Did not see you name on the results sheet, so I was wondering. Saw on the cyclenation site that Boerie (don't know his real name), took it easy to the line.

Pity that we (ok, me actually) are not strong enough to create a gap and stay away to the end. Hate the bunch sprints!

Like you say Clay, its racing. I really just wanted to have a lekker race yesterday and how else than to take the racing to the guys. Really tried to force a break which didnt happen. Well done again to your guys for the win.

You tried hard to make them racing, I tried to help you and create gaps of my own but the course just did not allow it, I need to get a bit stronger though, I think 2 or 3 times I managed a 10 sec gap but then I ran out of steam an everyone caught me, even did an attack on a downhilll ... crazy

Also rode in AL, overall it was a good day out. The last few kms was a bit nerve wrecking with all the shorter distance riders and then that accident, I heard the cyclists go down just behind me and it sounded bad, I hope everyone heals up quickly.

Yip, the Lenmed guys (Boerie and Piesang) are often spicing things up in the A bunch. Helping with the chasing down of the attacks from them, RastMan, Underachiever and AJP left me with very little for the finish sprint but was happy to finish with the bunch and unscathed. I was in the black and white FiT kit on the Felt.

Well done to all that rode!!

Nice meeting you will look out for you in the future

Great Pieter. Good for you. Did not see you name on the results sheet, so I was wondering. Saw on the cyclenation site that Boerie (don't know his real name), took it easy to the line.

Pity that we (ok, me actually) are not strong enough to create a gap and stay away to the end. Hate the bunch sprints!

I also hate them especially when they are as big as this, few more races riding together and we will get it right ek se :)

Did the 103km, race went ok for someone who was last on his road bike at the Carnival race and then i only raced the 60k so was happy enough with my time. Marshaling was good, had a near miss incident coming out of Springs where a car ignored marshal and turned in front of me, then just after we turned onto Rondebuilt road i was in a large group of mixed bag riders and some guys went down as they swerved to pass a shorter distance rider. Saw the accident at Hyperama which i heard after was the Metro police fault with 2 officers not communicating with each other and both indicating the 2 vehicles to drive at the same time. Was surprised to see only 1 metro policeman at the Rondebult/Northrand road which is a major intersection although he appeared to be doing a good job and was assisted by 2 marshals. Beer and boerrie rolls after rounded off a tiring but enjoyable ride.

His real name is Heinrich Meyer

What a day, what a race... at least for the first 11km in VA's, when my race abruptly ended with my first crash. Pothole in the road, water bottles flying, guys ducking and diving... crash boom bang. I saw my water bottle jump out of the cage as well because of the pothole, and somehow bounced from my leg into my back wheel. Locked up my wheel completely which left me scouting the tar for where i will fall.

Bike is broken badly, so I'll see this week what the financial damage is. Speaking to a guy after the race, he mentioned that our group had 3 different crash incidences... Sho!

To the Road Ranger who assisted me on the scene... You were absolutely brilliant and your concern about my well being was overwhelming. You guys do such a brilliant job and often go unnoticed (until we hit the tar mac and actually realize how helpful you are), to you my friend I take my hat off, and say thank you so very much.

:thumbup:

You got the medics there in seconds attending to myself and another cyclist that also fell down, and ensured that I get back safely to Emperors (with my broken bike).

Now it's to heal up, fix/replace my bike... and start riding again :thumbup:

I saw that crash SurferChild, it was a bad one with at least 5 riders looking to go down. Sorry to hear about the bike but glad you didn't break anything. Wishing you a speedy recovery!

I never moan about stuff but I was injured and went to watch my wife in the 102 km race! something that irritated me was all the 50k guys finishing at the same time as the elite woman and a b and groups. and they cross the finish line at 2km an hour and stop and chat to there buddies when there are serious cycle races going on behind them and sprinting at mach 2 for wins in there groups! If i was not injured I would have jumped over the fence and pushed them out of the way! I found that dangerous! My wife said I was a awesome race!

I have to agree with this post. In the final 30 km's the VA peloton was chasing a breakaway at 40km/h speeds while having to duck and dive between the short distance riders (who to their credit were innocent bi-standers). Really the groups shouldn't be mixing though as it is really dangerous to everyone concerned.

Otherwise a superbly organised race!

anyone know who did the pictures on the weekend?

cyclenation.co.za and the Emperors fb page also have some pictures.

I have to agree with this post. In the final 30 km's the VA peloton was chasing a breakaway at 40km/h speeds while having to duck and dive between the short distance riders (who to their credit were innocent bi-standers). Really the groups shouldn't be mixing though as it is really dangerous to everyone concerned.

Otherwise a superbly organised race!

Hey.....nice bike.

Did introduce myself but you seemed too focussed. :thumbup:

Hey.....nice bike.

Did introduce myself but you seemed too focussed. :thumbup:

Hey Spinnekop, sorry was that you?! Apologies & thanks bud :)

You were in the lead peloton until the finish were you not?

I saw that crash SurferChild, it was a bad one with at least 5 riders looking to go down. Sorry to hear about the bike but glad you didn't break anything. Wishing you a speedy recovery!

Thanx a mil... it's just now the financial burden to get everything fixed... eish

Hey Spinnekop, sorry was that you?! Apologies & thanks bud :)

You were in the lead peloton until the finish were you not?

Yah....we had a little skelm move going off the front with 10km to go that actually got away. Was funny catching the fast sprinter teams out for a change. Doesn't happen often..... :D

Must say I had fun at this one, even way back in IL!

Had a nice bunch of guys working well, with some attempts at break-aways in the last 5km, ended up 3rd in the group in 2h41. Cool (and cold) ride!!

Yah....we had a little skelm move going off the front with 10km to go that actually got away. Was funny catching the fast sprinter teams out for a change. Doesn't happen often..... :D

Brilliant, well done! you guys sure did upset some of the big teams! haha