Demo rides: 26er vs 27.5er vs 29er

ByronH

• Replies 65

Do you also need me to explain why or do you just like holding Fabe's hand?

I do need for you to explain please, I have not followed the Oskar trial as I don't like drams, I m more of an action/horror story kinda guy.

So I have no clue who DIXON is, but I do know that the hub is full of dixon's.

I think Fabes is big enough to fight his own battles.

I have never seen you ride and this is not aimed at yourself, but one mans fast is another mans slow.

When you do things at speed, the game plan changes, I am definitely more wary on very tight stuff on my 29'er, and I have been on 29'ers for the past 7 years.

You want a piece of me?

I'll meet you at the cement circle on the R21 climb in Groenies after school :P

What's with all the "it's not personal" disclaimers?

Nothing says "It's personal" like saying "it's not personal" or "You're not as fast as me." Yoh! them be fighting words :D

Please stop trying to act all tough

Jaaslik after getting all mean with Hayley you getting into a solid mood now that people have called you out.

Man up and take it on the chin this is thehub, people will call you out if you decide to say something out of line.

Google Streisand effect.

Jaaslik after getting all mean with Hayley you getting into a solid mood now that people have called you out.

Man up and take it on the chin this is thehub it's not for sissies bru, people will call you out if you decide to say something out of line.

Google Streisand effect.

Dixon please man up and explain what you meant with your first comment. Stop playing the man.

If you are battling to explain try finding some answers on Google

Fabes are you having a rough day at work?

Ok this is not fair, we derailing this guys thread.

Fabe's pm me like you normally do if you need to chat

Referring to articles re wheel size as "literature" is a contradiction in terms :P . I didn't hear the Greg interview but I believe he had a few more reasons than just because he was used to the smaller wheels. Like less gyroscopic effect and faster acceleration. Jared Graves is on record as stating that wheel size is overstated as a factor in his kind of racing. He will be riding a 26er in the EWS this year. There are even proponents of 650B who believe 29ers gather too much speed and are therefore prone to loss of control in trail riding situations (I kid not) Although Mitch R seemed to demonstrate this this weekend.

Basically ride what you like - if you can find it. Chances are you'll not be able to find a decent 26"bike for sale anyway unless its second hand. If I were shopping for a new bike I'd get a 650B because its smaller and lighter than a 29er wheel with the same rubber and more like 26". I'm 187cm and ride a 26"with 150mm travel. works a treat.

Hi all.

I currently ride a 26er, but am at a loss for what I should buy when I eventually upgrade!

All reviews on wheel size comparisons indicate that you need to 'try out' the different options to see what's best for you. All good and well... But you can't exactly pitch up at your local LBS, and ask them if you can take a similarly specced 26er, 27.5er and 29er out for a few hours on a local trail.... Or can you?

Do bike shops, or manufacturers, ever have demo days where one can try out various wheel sizes?

I'm leaning towards 29er because of my height (186cm), and the type of riding I do. I love fast, flowing trails but HATE having to take my feet off the pedals because of a very technical section.

But before I spend that kind of money, I would love to have a Proper try-out on the various options. And I'm not talking about riding around in circles at the LBS parking lot....

Firstly, you can ask an LBS to test a bike. especially if (as mentioned) you are a genuince interested buyer. They may not let you take it to your local trails for a day or two, but some LBSes have text facilitied on hand. I can think of 2 with pump tracks. I personally think a pump track is a good way to get a feel for the way a bike handles.

Second, yes. Some manufacturers have demo days. Some months back I went to a Giant demo day at Modderfontein. They had a number of models, in all sizes, and a test course marked out. Keep an eye out for these sort of things. But also bear in mind that most manufacturers don't make a model with all 3 wheel size options. Most pick a wheel size (on occasion 2) for specific model, and stick to it. So your comparison may have to span across brands and models.

I'm 1.87 and feel awkward on a 29er. But that's just preference and what I'm used to. You say thta you prefer trail riding *to let's say, marathon). Then if you're in the market for a medium travel bike (120 - 150mm), then maybe 27.5" is an option.

There are plenty of brand and model options in this size. It's a fast growing segment in the market.

Also (and as much as I hate to say this because I love 26" bikes), it would probably be wise to go with oe of the 2 bigger wheel sizes, if you plan on buying all tyres, rims, forks, etc locally. 26" specific parts are becoming harder and harder to find (on a local level), so if you have atermarket upgrades in mind, 27.5" and 29" might be a better bet.

Finally... height vs. wheelsize... Yes, a 1.4m rider on a 29er might not be the ideal so people will recommend a smallwe wheelsize. But that is the extreme. At 1.86 you are a fairly average height, so take your pic. Any variant could work. As mentioned numerous times, it's all about preference.

After all, Emiline Ragot is probably only just tall enough to ride all the rides at Gold Reef City... but she ride's a 27.5" DH bike, and could kick all of our butts on it.

So after all that, the best advice I can give is to FORGET everyone's advice. Try the bikes your interested in. Ride what give you the biggest grin!

You want a piece of me?

I'll meet you at the cement circle on the R21 climb in Groenies after school :P

What's with all the "it's not personal" disclaimers?

Nothing says "It's personal" like saying "it's not personal" or "You're not as fast as me." Yoh! them be fighting words :D

I have to give a disclaimer, lately people take everything personal.

Fabes are you having a rough day at work?

Fabes a man full of contradiction.

Ok this is not fair, we derailing this guys thread.

Fabe's pm me like you normally do if you need to chat

Classic know it all response, when they have no answers they play the man.

Having a lekker kief day bru don't you worry

Man up and take it on the chin this is thehub, people will call you out if you decide to say something out of line.

Google Streisand effect.

All I got was a chick with very curly hair, squintish eyes and a biggish nose.

Thanks for all those that provided some valuable feedback! Hayley, Brogue, Max, Patches, Martin, Pusher, MTBc...

Will definitely be looking out for demo days, because everybody is agreeing you gotta try the different sizes no matter your height and technicality.