Online Racing - Virtualtraining (Cyclops)

Garfield2010

Going on holiday, back in December but probably going to be starting training and wont be racing...will still take part but not at race pace.

Nope, hope they make the event...there have been a few unknown (non hubber) users in the past but for some reason they dont make the start. Maybe new people who get lost in the race start procedures which imo are a bit complicated the first few times.

cool, hope you have a great relaxing holiday.

• Replies 4.3k

My training room flooded.  Everything is wet including the power supply.  Not sure I should plug it in for a while :eek: .  If you see me ride 120km / hour for 3 minutes and then flat line don't ask too many questions :nuke:

Hey sorry Garf, hope its not terminal and your insured.

What happened, i thought Bloemfontein was the sunshine capital?

anyone know these Virtual Training user names, they have all registered for

tonights spin ?

mreinaldo

Jroc007

veloracer01

One of these might be Dipslicks new 2000W Bosch power drill

Sorry man garfield...bummer

In other news though, how lekker is the new workouts tab on the virtual training website....SOOOOO much easier than the previous page. Create a workout and then boom via the magic cloud, its on your tablet ready to be suffered in. Also you can now create workouts based on your FTP% which is moer cool cause it will adjust depending on how strong you are...

How can i do a proper test to find out my FTP?

there is a 20 min test already loaded. Just select and go.

I thought I'd give the Sufferfest Revolver a go whilst watching the barbarian vs aussie game on Sat....the rugby may have been on the TV but I can't say I watched it..man they are tough.

edit: added pic

post-21056-0-89771000-1415094038_thumb.jpg

How can i do a proper test to find out my FTP?

I have been dodging this for a year. Last one nearly killed me. :nuke:  :(  I was thinking I will just use data from one of the races. is that OK?

No - do the test - there is a specific protocol to follow for the 20 min test - I have a garmin workout file of it if you want it, but it is in Hunter et al's book.

That FTP test is only 20 minutes long.....peace of cake compared to the races imo.

But saying that i have not actualy done the virtual training FTP test myself :whistling:

The races we do should be reasonably close provided you putting 100% effort in and not doing single leg training along the way.

Problem I see is they might even (in my uneducated power training experience) provide a slightly higher or lower FTP as a result of not so constant power output (spikes) that happen when you hit inclines / declines and have not had time to change up / down to the correct gearing… whereas the FTP test imo would be more constant output?

Anyone done the virtual training FTP test and compared the result to an online race effort?

That FTP test is only 20 minutes long.....peace of cake compared to the races imo.

But saying that i have not actualy done the virtual training FTP test myself :whistling:

The races we do should be reasonably close provided you putting 100% effort in and not doing single leg training along the way.

Problem I see is they might even (in my uneducated power training experience) provide a slightly higher or lower FTP as a result of not so constant power output (spikes) that happen when you hit inclines / declines and have not had time to change up / down to the correct gearing… whereas the FTP test imo would be more constant output?

Anyone done the virtual training FTP test and compared the result to an online race effort?

My race watts almost always beats my FTP....there is a rabbit to catch in races.

That virtual online FTP workout should have a list of "passes" people who have done it a ranking...then u racing against the whole global community....BIG BUNNY

There we go....not sure how you relate it to a position like ina race, maybe the IF?

post-182-0-68356400-1415101351_thumb.png

I normally go for the "rabbit" option when I ride a course...look for saffas and then chase them. Quite a lekker little feature the virtual partner

The following is from the Training Peaks website.

"Note that one particularly useful application of IF is to check for changes in threshold power - specifically, an IF of more than 1.05 for a race that is approximately 1 hour in duration is often a sign that the rider's threshold power is actually greater than that presently entered into the program. Thus, by simply examining a rider's IF for various events during the course of a season, increases or decreases in threshold power can often be revealed without the need for frequent formal testing."

The following is from the Training Peaks website.

"Note that one particularly useful application of IF is to check for changes in threshold power - specifically, an IF of more than 1.05 for a race that is approximately 1 hour in duration is often a sign that the rider's threshold power is actually greater than that presently entered into the program. Thus, by simply examining a rider's IF for various events during the course of a season, increases or decreases in threshold power can often be revealed without the need for frequent formal testing."

I get notifications from training peaks when this happens, sommer on the fly when I upload to different apps via cloud...happened in the last race...got a email saying my ftp needs to be adjusted, slapgat!

Very handy...

Swiss and rabbit nearly killed each other!! Mongoose (Ryobi) too strong again. I (really) screamed like a girl. Still cannot get 3W/Kg ave. Toughies - going to have a beer now. Thx guys. Rest well Swiss.