PPA One Tonner logistics

Korkstah

An open message to the PPA One tonner logistical team.

Yesterday i had the unfortunate experience of pulling up at the halfway mark in the one tonner at 09:40 with a bleeding nose and a bad case of what turned out to be gastro.

Upon stopping i immediately notified the marshall of my situation whoradio'd in the pickup is needed. I chose not to get a medic as this wasnt life threatening, a little bit of water and food would keep me sustained until what i thought would be an hour or two max before i get back to the start.

3pm.................5 hours and 20 minutes later was the time i got back, that's after sitting at the water point for 2 and a half hours. We were unable to get food, had to sit in the sweltering heat while your 2 or 3 sweep vehicles fumbled over each other stuffing things up left right and centre........why not fill one vehicle up and go?

It was nothing short of a disaster and a fiasco from your part. You were pathetic and atrocious, you should be wholly ashamed of your performance yesterday.

Piss poor performance PPA, you should really jack your logistical team up and start using common sense and logic.

• Replies 58

There were a number of serious accidents yesterday so perhaps, as you mentioned your mishap was not life threatening, hence they took longer to attend to you?

I must say I expected sitting a few hours in the sun after getting a side wall cut during last weeks mtb race, I phoned the emergency number and ten minutes later they picked me up, I was soooooo freaken impressed. Guess it's a different story if you have larger numbers to accommodate during a roadie race. 

There were a number of serious accidents yesterday so perhaps, as you mentioned your mishap was not life threatening, hence they took longer to attend to you?

I think this is probably it. They have to make a call at who needs the attention the most.

not a chance, the sweeping was pathetic logistically. experienced it first hand. Instead of filling up one vehicle and sending back to offload they for some unknown reason they kept filling each one up halfway.

Personally I think that a few teaspoons of HTFU will sort you out!!

Realistically, just think what a logistical nightmare it must be for the PPA to attend to injured or other riders over a circle route course of 203km!!!

Sorry, but if you decided to stop and it's NOT life threatening.....be prepared to wait!!

i was in an accident myself... bad one... but being asked a few seconds after your fall you don't realise how bad it is... if not for a broken bike i was going to try and continue :) 

I told the marshall that I would wait for the sweeping vehicle... he said it will arrive soon but only arrived after an hour! he disappeared after i told him this.

Then at the medical room back at the start they didn't even examine me and told me to go home. I couldn't drive but had a friend to take me home.

Found out today that I had a fractured elbow and badly hurt shoulder.  

A bit disappointed at how they handle accident cases... hopefully they learn from this.

I think this is probably it. They have to make a call at who needs the attention the most.

Ok, but to get in at 3pm aint no joke. was a moer of a long time. Feel for the rider. Must just say that the atmosphere at the end is like an RETIREMENT VILLAGE. SECOND YEAR IN A ROW THAT ITS PLAIN AND BORING. No lekker vibe like at the Argus road and mtb. Hell the Burger road and mtb has more life in it, just m2c worth.  

i was in an accident myself... bad one... but being asked a few seconds after your fall you don't realise how bad it is... if not for a broken bike i was going to try and continue :)

I told the marshall that I would wait for the sweeping vehicle... he said it will arrive soon but only arrived after an hour! he disappeared after i told him this.

Then at the medical room back at the start they didn't even examine me and told me to go home. I couldn't drive but had a friend to take me home.

Found out today that I had a fractured elbow and badly hurt shoulder.

A bit disappointed at how they handle accident cases... hopefully they learn from this.

Eish, Bru!

Now this post I can take seriously.

Glaring gap in PPA safety protocol here - at least quick examining of you would be necessary.

So the rant is not medically related but that the sweep vehicle wasn't loading all the riders in the vehicle?

no one but them will ever understand what they were doing, at one point we had 3 vehicles in tow, each half full, kept asking them to fill one and go.

Personally I think that a few teaspoons of HTFU will sort you out!!

Realistically, just think what a logistical nightmare it must be for the PPA to attend to injured or other riders over a circle route course of 203km!!!

Sorry, but if you decided to stop and it's NOT life threatening.....be prepared to wait!!

It really was not a choice to stop, it's extremely disappointing. Thank you for being on point though troll, the internet will be proud.

You guys are responsible for looking after yourself and getting yourself home from events. I am pretty sure that PPA are not obliged to provide medical support and/or drive you home. 

Then why have back up vehicles and medical staff. I`m sure the op did not want a ride home, just proper MEDICAL ATTENTION. Why have them there if they are just gonna send you home? Just a tought.

I broke down 20kms into the race just after Pniel, as I busted a spoke in my rear wheel..

I was also taken joy ride along the route for some hours before got dropped off at the finish, only because 1 of the ladies we picked up had a tight chest, and due to that we luckily got taken back to the end :-) otherwise we would of carried on along the route...

Nevertheless, the ride helped me to calm down as I was p-off of having to accept the mechanical issue not along me to complete race..

1 thing I must share, a guy along the route broke down also due to a rear broken spoke, but at the point where he broke down, there was another guy who I think was struggling, he actually gave his rear wheel to that guy so that he could continue the race.

I don't know what everyone else thinks, but it would be a very nice thing to invite bike shops to setup along the ride at various points, so if a rider breaks down with any issues, there will be help along the way to sort you out, so that you can continue the race. I know what the feeling is wanting finish badly, but you can`t, but if there was a bike/mechanical shop close by, I would  pay and d anything to be able to finish the race.