[Event] Carnival City Macsteel National Classic

Frosty

I gave the feedback to the guys doing the printing... was a unique feature that I've only seen at the Amashova.

I'll concede this wasn't our novel idea

Ironman events also do that.  It really helps to hear your name 30km into the marathon.

Well, it helped me, even though no-one pronounces my name right :w00t:

• Replies 447

Looking at the feedback, I sometimes wonder what it would be like to race/ride this event.

Riding the pre-ride in January is just like any other club ride, a small group of mates looking out for each other.

The only exception was last year where we had rolling road closure (EMPD Bike Squad and Road Rangers accompanied us) for the 121Km and 103Km groups.

If anybody in VA's ever see a guy riding there with white Sasol kit... get away from him!! This is the second time that I see this guy riding like a tjop.

First time was at The Fast One race where he almost took out one of my team members and i went a spoke to hime to rather ride on the side or the back of the bunch if he doesn't have any bunch riding skills, so he moved.

This time at this great event, which i was soooo looking forward to, he was there again, and again bobbing and weaving all over the place! He dashed in right in front of me at one point and connected my front wheel.... and down we went taking a few guys with us.

I wanted to smack this oke so hard....

Body is healing but my bike is screwed!

Just look out for this guy in races to come. No skills to be riding in the racing groups

Gerald, the event was supurb... and hopefully next year i can at least finish  :thumbup:

DAMNNNN    Sorry dude ..One tjop can ruin a persons day. All the best 

Sorry to hear boet

I heard there was a massive crash in the group.

Can anybody identify this guy?

The cannondale completely thrashed?

And urself badly hurt?

Heal quickly bud

Hey RastaMan,

Ja my bike is totaled bru. Would definitely need replacing.

My left wrist is a bit screwed so i'm casted up and i lost a fair amount of skin on my knees, hands and ass. My face looks like is took a dive through razor wire  :blush:

Other than that all good

Sorry to hear about your crash. Don't suppose you saw his race/frame number?

Thanks Gerald,

Unfortunately i didn't catch his race number, however if i look at the DNF results on Championchip it's either:

509 - Jaco Pretorius OR

467 - Renaldo Bosch

After the crash I got into our team car and carried on following the rest of my team. When we passed the crash site on the second loop around, he was was sitting on the side of the road waiting for the sweeper, so i know he didn't finish

Sorry to hear bud. If its any consolation when we came passed the crash site on the second loop he was still on the side of the road holding his shoulder, so I don't think he finished either. I was towards the back when the crash happened(actually most of the race :unsure: )so didn't see what went on. I rode tandem for fast one but I remember him from the carousel race. Not sure what his name is.

Thanks a mil

Ja I also saw him sitting there as we passed again in the team car following our guys in the bunch. Was he also such a duche bag in the carousel race?

DAMNNNN    Sorry dude ..One tjop can ruin a persons day. All the best 

Thanks bud, ja he ruined it properly... not only mine but a few guys came down including another one of my team mates. Thankfully most guys could get back up and continue the race.

Looking at the feedback, I sometimes wonder what it would be like to race/ride this event.

Riding the pre-ride in January is just like any other club ride, a small group of mates looking out for each other.

The only exception was last year where we had rolling road closure (EMPD Bike Squad and Road Rangers accompanied us) for the 121Km and 103Km groups.

It would be absolutely awesome. You guys can really give yourselves a pat on the back.

Thanks a mil

Ja I also saw him sitting there as we passed again in the team car following our guys in the bunch. Was he also such a duche bag in the carousel race?

Well there where only like 15 guys in VA for the carousel and half where complete guys and a group of 6 of us got dropped after like 5 km and we rode together rest of the way. He was one of the 6 but with such a small group he couldn't cause much damage.

Thanks Gerald,

Unfortunately i didn't catch his race number, however if i look at the DNF results on Championchip it's either:

509 - Jaco Pretorius OR

467 - Renaldo Bosch

After the crash I got into our team car and carried on following the rest of my team. When we passed the crash site on the second loop around, he was was sitting on the side of the road waiting for the sweeper, so i know he didn't finish

There's one number of the two you list above that shows on the medical report, and it was recorded on the double loop.

I want to discuss this the race committee (leaving now for the sign-off meeting) first, before I confirm the name.

Thanks Gerald,

509 - Jaco Pretorius OR

467 - Renaldo Bosch

If you've time to do a search in FB, the person you're looking for (which matches to your description of the racing-kit) can be found...

Not trying to stir the pot here, so use the above suggestion at your discretion.

If you've time to do a search in FB, the person you're looking for (which matches to your description of the racing-kit) can be found...

Not trying to stir the pot here, so use the above suggestion at your discretion.

You are leading them around the Bosch .

Was timing from the gun or the moment you crossed the start mat?

Gun to matt (gross)

Matt to matt (nett)

There are two positions showing on the results showing your nett and gross results.

Last few questions from my side...

1. Does a later start time concern you?
    The Elites and Vets ride a longer distance, which means a delayed start so they can complete parts of the route twice. It also gives us time to get all start groups on the road before they return. If they did the 103Km, they would be back in less than 2:15, so it results in bigger groups (also less start groups).

2. Does that other race the weekend before deter you from doing this race?
    Two routes on parts of the same route (although it affects the 65Km more than the longer routes).

3. Does riding the CTCT influence your decision to ride/not ride this event?