Hermanus Road Rides

iamStewart

So, next week I'm heading up to Hermanus with my family for a little New Years holiday and I'm dead keen to get some riding in. I haven't been to Hermanus since I started riding, so don't have much idea about what the good rides are. I'm pretty keen to try ride to Betty's Bay and back, but I'm not sure how safe the roads are this time of year? Are they any hidden gems? I'm not really keen to put down huge miles, just casual morning rides with maybe one or two longer ones.

Any knowledge/advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Edited by iamStewart

I've been riding from Kleinmond to Hermanus and Strand and back every other day. Roads are good and traffic not really a problem.

• 6 years later...

I'm seven years late on this post...

I'm spending a week in Hermanus over New Year. What are the best road rides?

I've done two road rides there a while ago, both on the shorter side:

1. up Hemel and Aarde, stopped at the top of the pass. Reasonable shoulder for most of the route, except a short bit close to the start. Not a lot of flat road, and its not just up on the way and down on the way back... I think the roads get slightly worse on the way to Caledon after the pass.

2. To just on the other side of Kleinmond and back - bit more busy with cars, but good shoulder all the way. Not sure how safe it is going further

Both were fun rides. 

Sidenote - Rotary way is fun for a couple of hill repeats with a nice view at the end, but going further it gets pretty gravelly.

Pretty sure going to Stanford is not safe - the road is being worked on and there are stop/go's.

+1 on the H & A road. Very pretty and good workout.

+1 on the ride to Kleinmond.