Stem 101

Uni

Sure did. So much of knowledge you have. Thanks.

One more thing, my bars are 660mm...is that reasonable with a 60mm stem? It feels good.

You'll certainly have razor sharp handling, but at speed it may be a bit much. I'd suggest going up to maybe 740 when you can afford it. Rapide do a 780mm bar that is just super cheap and you can cut it down. Something like R300 delivered. The extra leverage is super helpful in all situations.

• Replies 78

One more thing, my bars are 660mm...is that reasonable with a 60mm stem? It feels good.

I am currently using a 715mm wide bar with a 80mm, 13/77 degree stem and I really like it.

Going to be testing a 60mm stem with 20 degree drop to see what difference it makes. Whilst being a shorter stem, I wonder what effect the extra 7 degrees of drop will have 

Maybe drop to a 40 or 50mm stem when you go wide on the bars, will keep your riding position more constant and sharpen up the steering even more. For me around 750mm bars + or - is plenty for anyone bar a gorrila or the DH guys.

He's already dropped from a 100mm stem, so an uptick in bar size would be fine. Plus even if he did get that 780mm bar, it doesn't have to stay like that. Can always cut it down to your size. At least it'll be a cheap way to do it, and you can find your size preference without going through multiple bars

But if he likes the riding position he has now and goes that much wider than his current bars then it may be advisable. If it's possible for him to go even shorter on the stem and it'll suit his riding I'd go for it.

I felt stretched out when I started riding my 29er a few months ago,680mm flat bar on a 100mm stem.The handling on the bike also felt slugish on the singletrack and tech stuff.

I changed the stem to 60mm and it made a tremendous difference.The riding position feels much more comfortable and the handling is much sharper.Turned the stem to negative rise to help move my weight forwardon the climbs.

Next step would be to get a bar with a sweep and rise and sommer go wider.Planning on getting one of those Rapidé bars RMan spoke of.

I'm just not quite sure if I will need to lengthen the stem again to account for the sweep or if the increase in width will cancel that out for me.

The trend seems to be shorter stems with wider bars, but I don't understand how I have never seen a single pro riding with a short stem. They all seem to be on 100mm+ stems :huh:

That's because you're watching a very small subset of cycling. XCO and marathon. Where climbing is the area that you make up the majority of your time. In that case, a longer stem is beneficial. For us mere mortals, who want to enjoy all of it, and don't contend at the sharp end, longer does not equal better

He's already dropped from a 100mm stem, so an uptick in bar size would be fine. Plus even if he did get that 780mm bar, it doesn't have to stay like that. Can always cut it down to your size. At least it'll be a cheap way to do it, and you can find your size preference without going through multiple bars

Ok so I like to ride trails, no marathon type stuff and by no means Downhill crazy stuff.

Mostly ride rietvlei and thaba as they local for me.

I like the new stem and feels really great. I also like the idea of getting a wider bar and then cutting to size instead of multiple bars.

Currelty its a flat bar with a 5 degree sweep. So, should sweep remain and if I do end up going wider then should the stem change also?

Im not a tall guy, 1.74 or so and dont have long arms so would a wider bar not stretch me out too much? What about nabbing the bars on tight tree sections?

Ok so I like to ride trails, no marathon type stuff and by no means Downhill crazy stuff.

Mostly ride rietvlei and thaba as they local for me.

I like the new stem and feels really great. I also like the idea of getting a wider bar and then cutting to size instead of multiple bars.

Currelty its a flat bar with a 5 degree sweep. So, should sweep remain and if I do end up going wider then should the stem change also?

Im not a tall guy, 1.74 or so and dont have long arms so would a wider bar not stretch me out too much? What about nabbing the bars on tight tree sections?

No, you shouldn't need to change the stem again, but that's basically cos you've had a large reduction in stem length. Even if you only increase your bars by 40mm, it'll take them up to a more comfortable width for longer rides as your hands Will be further apart, bringing you a bit further forward when in the saddle. When out the saddle it'll also give you more stability as your base will be wider.

As for the sweep... that'll be a difficult one to replicate without trawling the bar specs. The rapide bar has a slightly larger sweep and rise, but nothing excessive. The higher sweep also means that your hands won't be as far away again, and the difference in positioning won't be as radical as if you had a bar with no rise and a sweep the same as yours.

I'd still recommend that you get the rapide bar and see how that pans out. As much of a revelation the shorter stem is, the wider bar is just as, when used in conjunction with the stem

That's because you're watching a very small subset of cycling. XCO and marathon. Where climbing is the area that you make up the majority of your time. In that case, a longer stem is beneficial. For us mere mortals, who want to enjoy all of it, and don't contend at the sharp end, longer does not equal better

My bru. Your perseverance in helping others by repeatedly explaining your short stem wide bar advocacy to those who don't know better is unparalleled. While it amuses me to see you go through it again. Its quite admirable. You know I'm on the same side of the fence. But after contending with naysayers and the eventual slinging handbags I must say I've given up the fight. Keep doing what you doing to make sure more people enjoy better handling on their mountain bikes. I got gatvol a while ago.

I live but to serve. No, wait. **** that. I'm a selfish bastard. Me me me me me.

Well thank goodness for Rman as well as skylark for giving the advice as I tend to listen and take action on what seems reasonable to me and it worked out for the best.

No, you shouldn't need to change the stem again, but that's basically cos you've had a large reduction in stem length. Even if you only increase your bars by 40mm, it'll take them up to a more comfortable width for longer rides as your hands Will be further apart, bringing you a bit further forward when in the saddle. When out the saddle it'll also give you more stability as your base will be wider.

As for the sweep... that'll be a difficult one to replicate without trawling the bar specs. The rapide bar has a slightly larger sweep and rise, but nothing excessive. The higher sweep also means that your hands won't be as far away again, and the difference in positioning won't be as radical as if you had a bar with no rise and a sweep the same as yours.

I'd still recommend that you get the rapide bar and see how that pans out. As much of a revelation the shorter stem is, the wider bar is just as, when used in conjunction with the stem

Rapide have 2 bar types: the flat bar which is 720mm with 8 degree bend and 5 mm rise or drop and the riser bar which is 780mm with 9 degree sweep and also 5mm rise or drop.

Which is best as I have the flat bar with 5 degree sweep and it feels ok and was firted when I went for my bike setup?

Rapide have 2 bar types: the flat bar which is 720mm with 8 degree bend and 5 mm rise or drop and the riser bar which is 780mm with 9 degree sweep and also 5mm rise or drop.

Which is best as I have the flat bar with 5 degree sweep and it feels ok and was firted when I went for my bike setup?

Go wider, you can always cut it. Don't worry about the rise as you can play with steerer spacer placement to counter that (withing reason). The 780 will seem intimidating at first but give it a try and cut it down if you feel the need. I can vouch for those bars. I still have them on my downhill bike. Good quality and great value.