Tokai 2016 reopening

(Deon)

• Replies 762

hahahahahahaha I hear you!

That second drop to on DH1 gets my panties in a twist every time!

Super stoked with the way tokai is riding at the moment even after the drought. With a bit of rain and some washing out it will start to seriously rock.

Any news on the logging progress, or is that still a 'stub your baby toe on the coffee table' sore subject?

No, not that. I just roll that - it's easy. I'm talking about that piss-willy drop on the fast section. I need to get over my fear of drops and just drop it. I can, I jump the DH3 jumps (except the rock jump) and they're at least double the size. But something just takes hold of me and I behave like a little bitch. Need to session it and get over it. 

Same as that small drop on DH1 after the bobsled section thing. I cannot get myself to drop it. I roll it and boep-bump my saddle every time. 

Just need to session it and drop it progressively faster. 

I get that. Its not always the size of the thing. Its what it looks like on the trail mid pin.

Sometimes both. I can nail DH3 all day. Because I have a great view of whats ahead despite some of the features being bigger than smaller ones elsewhere I second guess myself on. Stuff that hide most of the landing. Even that drop on DH2. Took forever for me to do it. And even after I did it I still second guess myself approaching it and struggle to commit to it every time. Because I can't see the other side too well. I know there's a rock to avoid somewhere on the left. 

hahahahahahaha I hear you!

That second drop to on DH1 gets my panties in a twist every time!

Super stoked with the way tokai is riding at the moment even after the drought. With a bit of rain and some washing out it will start to seriously rock.

Any news on the logging progress, or is that still a 'stub your baby toe on the coffee table' sore subject?

yes. 

And no, not the final drop (haven't even tried that one) nor the one before it - the one in the middle. After the trail splits to the AM trail and you take the DH1 route, you've got a drop, then a rocky double, then down into the left / right berm and then a tiny log drop. I fixate on the landing where there's a rock that I'm *sure* my wheel will land on and wash out if I don't roll it. It's so bloody stupid, but I need to get over it... 

yes. 

And no, not the final drop (haven't even tried that one) nor the one before it - the one in the middle. After the trail splits to the AM trail and you take the DH1 route, you've got a drop, then a rocky double, then down into the left / right berm and then a tiny log drop. I fixate on the landing where there's a rock that I'm *sure* my wheel will land on and wash out if I don't roll it. It's so bloody stupid, but I need to get over it... 

Haha I know the spot. I'm a bit tentative there as well. 

I love that there's things at Tokai I still have to work on though

yes. 

hahahaha yeah.... Tokai has a way of humbling you sometimes.

Quick question..... I seem to be 300% worse at riding the bridal path switchbacks since it reopened. 

I used to be smooth as hell down there and now I feel like an absolute kook on 3/4's of the turns. Is anyone else having this issue or have I just reverted to being Derick Zoolander who can't turn right?

Quick question..... I seem to be 300% worse at riding the bridal path switchbacks since it reopened. 

I used to be smooth as hell down there and now I feel like an absolute kook on 3/4's of the turns. Is anyone else having this issue or have I just reverted to being Derick Zoolander who can't turn right?

HAHAHAHAHA!

No, you're not alone. The top end is looser than a thai ladyboy's sexual preferences, and there's loads of loose stuff on there. The turns I reckon are better, but also worse. 

What I mean - they're shaped better, but the exposure to the elements over the past few weeks & months has resulted in a lot of rutty loose stuff. 

HAHAHAHAHA!

No, you're not alone. The top end is looser than a thai ladyboy's sexual preferences, and there's loads of loose stuff on there. The turns I reckon are better, but also worse. 

What I mean - they're shaped better, but the exposure to the elements over the past few weeks & months has resulted in a lot of rutty loose stuff. 

Judging by your frequent posts RE Thai Lady Boys, I have to assume you have a little fetish you are wanting to tell us about :P

I actually haven't ridden it since the opening.

Switchbacks was always sketchy for me. Fun, but sketchy.

Even sketchier with a dual crown.

The moment I come to those corners the bike just needs to come to a screaming halt.

I'm probably gonna *** my first attempt. I look forward to it.

I actually haven't ridden it since the opening.

Switchbacks was always sketchy for me. Fun, but sketchy.

Even sketchier with a dual crown.

The moment I come to those corners the bike just needs to come to a screaming halt.

I'm probably gonna *** my first attempt. I look forward to it.

next time bro. 

HAHAHAHAHA!

The imagery invoked by your opening stanza has me both shocked AND strangely aroused... ssshhhh

Yeah. I know exactly what you mean. It looks like there is more room than there used to be but I find myself running out of trail quicker.

Still one of my favourite pieces of 'unbuilt' trail around with a fresh mountain stream reward at the bottom. It makes me h h h happy

Tokai is riding somewhat EPIC at the moment...And not in that krappy road they call MTB race that happens locally...

Rode everything on Sunday again and still...Cobra (Top level by DH0) is the most technical by far IMHO - sooooo fun...sphincter clenching at times.

AM is riding super rad. DH1 yoh lekker...You okes with drop nopes (Myles...) need to ride off some pavements :P

DH2 - super fun, but seemingly not as tech as it was when i last rode it.

DH3 - still haven't been able to have a good run on it over the first tables. First run out was a recon mission and then yesterday crosswind made me second guess :)

But psyched to go back and PI$$ED it's not open in the week :(

Tokai is riding somewhat EPIC at the moment...And not in that krappy road they call MTB race that happens locally...

Rode everything on Sunday again and still...Cobra (Top level by DH0) is the most technical by far IMHO - sooooo fun...sphincter clenching at times.

AM is riding super rad. DH1 yoh lekker...You okes with drop nopes (Myles...) need to ride off some pavements :P

DH2 - super fun, but seemingly not as tech as it was when i last rode it.

DH3 - still haven't been able to have a good run on it over the first tables. First run out was a recon mission and then yesterday crosswind made me second guess :)

But psyched to go back and PI$$ED it's not open in the week :(

Agreed.... pre/post work rides used to keep my employees much happier and my missus a little lonelier.

Cobra still needs to wash out a bit.. the top contour is still a lot more main road than it used to be.

But ja... 4km from my front door and keeping weekend fuel costs down and silly grins up!

The 50% CBC special between 16:30 and 18:30 at Tribakery makes afternoon rides appealing as well.....