So the Ezelenduro is on again - but you still can't go if you don't know teh right people?

Headshot

Good idea and then get a photo shoot and make sure everyone who wasn't invited knows they weren't? 

You gotta be part of that exclusive club that gets invited to the event ya know. 

Something about this sticks in my craw- can't put a finger on it but maybe its that publicity generated about an event that isn't open but gets championed as loudly as this one does. 

A far better and inclusive way is to invite all comers and make sure everyone knows its a toughie. 

Not impressed. Again.

it's a bit like that Trail Daze feature on Piket-Bo-Berg a few months ago. I got lank excited only to find out the trails aren't open to the public.

• Replies 140

The logistics and topography are extreme and more akin to TP or TS than any of the local Enduro one-day races.

I assume there is a numerical tipping-point, where a competitive field will be too big – and the day’s riding will turn into night. And you really don’t want to come down certain sections there at night.

Some of the stages are dual-purpose: climbs on the up, which turn to special stage descents. If you have a long line of staggered climbers, it does possibly complicate the actual racing.

Worth remembering that this is a one-off special. It is not part of a series. Nobody is losing the opportunity to gain points or forego a championship.

Visionary? Yes. Perhaps too visionary for South African mtb at the moment? I’d hope this not to be the case, but in the fullness of time we’ll see.

The organisers have been planning astutely, considering the spectre of terrain and distances involved, and it certainly is their prerogative to continue with the invite-only formula; I’d think. Sacrifices in time and relationships built over years to make this event happen have all been their doing.

If one does make an error of judgement on the really big stages, there are very real consequences.

Not only the immediacy and severity of terrain you’ll collide with, but the difficulty of evacuation. And here the implication is that those invited know the risks and don’t expect miracle extraction in a matter of minutes if things go really badly. In view of this, it is perhaps best to invite people you know, and also know won’t attempt to litigate in a personal capacity against you or the land owner (the latter of which is a reality, unfortunately).

As an aside, and perhaps most pointedly, the matter of it being shared across digital platforms and gaining notoriety is incidental in a time of instant content migration. That’s an unintended effect, not an affect. 

it's a bit like that Trail Daze feature on Piket-Bo-Berg a few months ago. I got lank excited only to find out the trails aren't open to the public.

But they are having 2 events (stage race and a 1 day) this year so get in and get riding! I can't wait to ride that place. Will put myself at the back of the bunch, was for 30 minutes, let everyone head off and ride it solo! ;)

Here's a thought. Go to Ezelfontein - for a group to stay at the Ecohuts it's just over R200 pp incl riding permits. Check the Stravaaaa or ask Daniel nicely for directions to last year's stages - access to 3 and 4 are on someone else's land so leave those out. Ride, walk, ride, repeat. 

Edit: Thanks MTBeer, great minds and all that.

please, if you are going to spend the weekend at esels, do it properly and rent out the farm house ..... very nice accomodation and a moerse fire pit outside to burn lots of wood all night long ....#JUSTSAYING

But they are having 2 events (stage race and a 1 day) this year so get in and get riding! I can't wait to ride that place. Will put myself at the back of the bunch, was for 30 minutes, let everyone head off and ride it solo! ;)

I am doing the 1 day. 65km, I think. I hate races but couldn't resist this one. Also seems to be a smaller field. Was keen on the stage race as well but @ R3500 per person for about 45km a day! Eina!

Love your wait-at-the-back strategy. I might see you there.

Really don't see what the issue is here. They still need entries, but the barrier to entry is either a good enough standing on the WPGE lists and Dirtopia Enduro lists, or to be known as a bakgat rider by one of the organisers.

Yes, some may feel left out, but if you want entry - get faster / better or ride in the funride.

Also - it's a private event. Boo hoo.

please, if you are going to spend the weekend at esels, do it properly and rent out the farm house ..... very nice accomodation and a moerse fire pit outside to burn lots of wood all night long ....#JUSTSAYING

Eco-village is definitely a summer venue.

Eco huts also have a lekker fire pit / braai outside, as well as a lovely undercover fireplace at the "bar" area.

Personally would love to be there in the beginning / tail end of winter... But yes. Could get a tad fresh in the middle of winter!

yes, I meant summer, as in when it's not raining.

best MTB experience to date, was a camp with my wife and daughter at Sandriff, they would be lazing in the river, and be lazing on the trails...

planning on doing the same, come warmer weather for Ezelfontein...

The logistics and topography are extreme and more akin to TP or TS than any of the local Enduro one-day races.

I assume there is a numerical tipping-point, where a competitive field will be too big – and the day’s riding will turn into night. And you really don’t want to come down certain sections there at night.

Some of the stages are dual-purpose: climbs on the up, which turn to special stage descents. If you have a long line of staggered climbers, it does possibly complicate the actual racing.

Worth remembering that this is a one-off special. It is not part of a series. Nobody is losing the opportunity to gain points or forego a championship.

Visionary? Yes. Perhaps too visionary for South African mtb at the moment? I’d hope this not to be the case, but in the fullness of time we’ll see.

The organisers have been planning astutely, considering the spectre of terrain and distances involved, and it certainly is their prerogative to continue with the invite-only formula; I’d think. Sacrifices in time and relationships built over years to make this event happen have all been their doing.

If one does make an error of judgement on the really big stages, there are very real consequences.

Not only the immediacy and severity of terrain you’ll collide with, but the difficulty of evacuation. And here the implication is that those invited know the risks and don’t expect miracle extraction in a matter of minutes if things go really badly. In view of this, it is perhaps best to invite people you know, and also know won’t attempt to litigate in a personal capacity against you or the land owner (the latter of which is a reality, unfortunately).

As an aside, and perhaps most pointedly, the matter of it being shared across digital platforms and gaining notoriety is incidental in a time of instant content migration. That’s an unintended effect, not an affect. 

Watch the gopro's of the stages - they are rocky and long, thats all. The climbs are also hike a bike if the previous report is to be believed so you'd need to be fit. 

As far as it being private or invite only. All good, but then shaddup and get on with it and spare us the photo shoots and FB promo ....

I am doing the 1 day. 65km, I think. I hate races but couldn't resist this one. Also seems to be a smaller field. Was keen on the stage race as well but @ R3500 per person for about 45km a day! Eina!

Love your wait-at-the-back strategy. I might see you there.

With you. I don't do races on dirt, that's what my evo and tarmac is for but I couldn't pass up the opportunity to ride there. The stage one isn't on the cards, would be a great experience the cost for 45kms doesn't pay off.

So it's the single day and pretending to fix my chain for 30 mins at the start with you then off we roll to take in the fun! 

best MTB experience to date, was a camp with my wife and daughter at Sandriff, they would be lazing in the river, and be lazing on the trails...

planning on doing the same, come warmer weather for Ezelfontein...

there are some awesome 2 day rides in that area, sleeping over with locals in the middle of nowhere. Did one last year from Jamaka (near Algeria), through Clanwilliam up Pakhuis Pass and down the old wagon trail towards Wupperta, sleeping over at Heuningvlei and then onwards back to Jamaka the next day. &5km day1 and 90km day 2.

Unbelievable experience riding in truly remote areas.

Really don't see what the issue is here. They still need entries, but the barrier to entry is either a good enough standing on the WPGE lists and Dirtopia Enduro lists, or to be known as a bakgat rider by one of the organisers.

Yes, some may feel left out, but if you want entry - get faster / better or ride in the funride.

Also - it's a private event. Boo hoo.

Aah so you know how its organized then Myles? Where do you have to be in the results to be invited?