This is why motorists get annoyed

IceCreamMan

• Replies 275

Funny that you said this. I have noticed that over the past 8 years there are more and more examples of people pushing their luck through just changed robots, recently more okes weaving through the traffic at speed on the highway etc. Not at N1 levels by any means but certainly noticeable. I wonder if this links in to what you are saying?

I'm sure it does. more people use their phones while driving in the UK now than ever before. Because they know there's almost no chance of getting caught.

I'm driving with a Garmin navigator that has a dashcam. I was going to post videos of people doing dodgy stuff. It didn't really work out. I don't drive a lot but average about two incidents per 30 min of driving. I don't have the time to deal with all that stuff. Still run it but for insurance purposes.

Perhaps this weekend I will take a drive out to the cradle, and come back via Greenside. That should set the cat amongst the pigeons. No one will be able to say I shouldn't be taking photos while driving either.

Yesterday on Chappies I saw the perfect example of why single file riding is a stupid rule and dangerous for all.

A huge line of cyclists, all riding single file, maybe 8 car lengths worth with 8 cars behind them.

So we have a number of cars riding in the middle of the road, over the line, riding next to cyclists who are right on the edge. Danger here is that there really is nowhere to go should the motorist need to get back into their lane.

One bunch, overtake when possible like for a slow car, would be much safer for all.

post-35786-0-80869700-1476605072_thumb.png

post-35786-0-90708900-1476605074_thumb.png

post-35786-0-16811400-1476605077_thumb.png

To avoid the grey MPV I was far left. Where would I have gone had I been in my SUV?

Yesterday on Chappies I saw the perfect example of why single file riding is a stupid rule and dangerous for all.

A huge line of cyclists, all riding single file, maybe 8 car lengths worth with 8 cars behind them.

So we have a number of cars riding in the middle of the road, over the line, riding next to cyclists who are right on the edge. Danger here is that there really is nowhere to go should the motorist need to get back into their lane.

One bunch, overtake when possible like for a slow car, would be much safer for all.

_012 (Small).png

_013 (Small).png

_014 (Small).png

To avoid the grey MPV I was far left. Where would I have gone had I been in my SUV?

No one cares if you think its a stupid rule - its the rule, so stick with if for everyone's safety.

If you were in your SUV the grey MPV would propably not have overtaken the bikes; or should not have.

What would you have done in your SUV if the bikes were riding in a bunch while the MPV wanted to overtake?!

No one cares if you think its a stupid rule - its the rule, so stick with if for everyone's safety.

If you were in your SUV the grey MPV would propably not have overtaken the bikes; or should not have.

What would you have done in your SUV if the bikes were riding in a bunch while the MPV wanted to overtake?!

And an idiot joins the debate on cycle safety. If you think about it you could answer your own question which I assume is not rhetorical.

Pot. Kettle. Black.

Sent from my Nokia 6310i

Pot. Kettle. Black.

Sent from my Nokia 6310i

actually not in this case- carbon29er is a long and respected campaigner for cycling safety - he has put in more time voluntarily than just about everyone I know, and has been a long standing activist for cycle safety in SA.

He does know what he is talking about on the subject -.even if you don't agree with his point of view and opinion, at least try to listen and understand why he says what he says.

actually not in this case- carbon29er is a long and respected campaigner for cycling safety - he has put in more time voluntarily than just about everyone I know, and has been a long standing activist for cycle safety in SA.

He does know what he is talking about on the subject -.even if you don't agree with his point of view and opinion, at least try to listen and understand why he says what he says.

Like ????????

Sorry I don't see what's the problem ...

We all pay tax ...

Last time I checked a cyclist has exectly the same right as a motorist ? Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Regardless if that was a slow car ... what whould you do ? Wait for safety and pass ?

So why not treat a cyclist the same ?

Sorry I'm finding it hard to grasp the anger for road space ? The more cyclist, the less cars on the road equals less traffic ?

Win win ?

Really?

attachicon.gif_012 (Small).png

attachicon.gif_013 (Small).png

attachicon.gif_014 (Small).png

Pick 'n Pay?

Over the edge?

Why do we assume it was taken with a phone

Lots of vehicles nowadays have dash cams.

Garmin even has one which also is used as a GPS navigator, I have one in my bakkie.

However the pic was taken it doesn't detract from the bad sense shown by these guys.

Because 10 to 1 it was.

You know Rouxtjie had something there about the 1K posts.

Carbon has clearly been involved and done much for cycling, which we should all be grateful for, thank you btw ;)

I think there is merit in debating whether the concept of single file vs shorter but wider bunches is worth having.

Having said that, what would the purpose be? Say now we come to the conclusion that it is better riding 2 abreast, do we simply just start breaking the law because we feel that it is a stupid law? That is a very slippery slope.

Or do we lobby to get new laws passed?

Im not sure, hence me asking. If you feel that the single file rule is a stupid law, what should we do about it?

Thing is we need to go about it constructively, eg: if we as cyclist decide that riding 5 abreast is our right and that cars can wait regardless, it's not going to end well.....

It's a both/and

Not either/or

Maintain single file where is ample space to both cyclist and car, enabling car to safely pass

I momentarily own the lane, let's say, approaching a circle, signal to the rider as a courtesy, and then swing left once there's enough space again

Most motorists seem cool with this

Some don't and I get shouted at

I'll take a loud hooter and an angry motorist over being sideswiped and killed

A summary of the rules in Spain

(from the thread https://community.bikehub.co.za/topic/162285-cycling-in-spain-some-rules-regulations-for-road-cycling/)

Overtaking cyclists when there is a solid white line . . .

Although it is QUICKER to overtake a group of cyclists when they are two abreast, it is SAFER to overtake cyclists riding single file. This is because if they are riding single file there is more room left remaining on the carriageway to allow you enough space between your vehicle and the cyclist, so your vehicle only needs to occupy a little part on the opposite lane.

For this reason, when cycling in a group along a road with a solid white line, cyclists MUST ride single file and if they are a large group they MUST form themselves into smaller groups - thus allowing motor vehicles to leap-frog the smaller groups one at a time. 

What happens when there is broken center line . . .

In this case, cyclists can ride two abreast, unless there is a lot of traffic approaching from the opposite direction. If that is the case then they will have to ride in a single file and in several groups , leaving enough space between them to let other vehicles overtake them one group at a time.

Sadly we do seem to have got ourselves into a situation where asking a motor vehicle driver to slow down for a short while is tantamount to telling them their husband/wife is ugly or their kids smell.

I think the debate, to whatever end, would be far more constructive if we could avoid calling people 'idiots', or any other inconsiderate term. Often a valid message is undermined by the perceived tone in which it is delivered.