Need assistance choosing a road bike

Dullscalpel

Hi everyone!

I am new to road cycling and I would like to get a good, solid bike to start off with. This bike has a few requirements:

1) needs to be good quality

2) needs to be race worthy (no use buying a road bike you can't race on, imo)

3) needs to be cheap (sub 5k for now :( )

4) needs to be complete

I have had a look at gumtree and there have been a few issues- bikes aren't my size, bikes are incomplete, and also, I have no idea what is good and what is not. I am not sure if the prices people are asking are a bargain or a rip off.

One thing I am confused about, is sizing. I am 51cm, but when it comes to finding a bike in that size, it is difficult! Is it a major issue if I were to get a 50cm bike?

Any advice about what to look out for would be greatly appreciated! :D

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Would have to look at a Raleigh RC series in that price bracket.

I bought a RC2000 from Cash Converters like 3 months ago for R1700. lol :w00t:

Tiagra 9spd groupset, needed some repair work but that amounted to like R600

Hi,

First point look at the Classified section.

You need to get the right size bike but seems that you know that already.

Then you need to realise that on Recreational level there is not that much difference that a bike makes on performance.

Therefore a carbon bike will not go faster than an Aluminium bike.

Weight does not make that much difference, but if you start looking at weight look at the wheels first.

Therefore a bike that is a few years old, that has a few scratches and maybe not as shiny as the new look bikes will not be slower.

As long as your Wheel bearings is still ok and the gear shifting is fine you will be able to race.

The example below a bit higher priced but see what you get for R8500 https://www.bikehub.co.za/classifieds/224814-merida-scultura-110-2015-sm/