2018 Cycling reunion in Cape Town- meet the heroes of the past

Chris Willemse

All Cycle riders and lovers. We have decided to arrange a REUNION for  old cyclists of many years ago. We were hoping to get around 50 cyclists to this "party" but we are totally overwhelm with the respond from cyclist and supporters. 

We have now decided to move the venue to the Bellville Velodrome. Here is some info regarding the reunion.

Place: Bellville Veledrome

Date: 27th January 2018

Time: From 12h00 onwards

Cost: R 50.00 per person plus 6 pieces of braai wood and is payable at the event.

It will be a bring and braai - boerewors or meat and you must bring your own drinks.

Who can come: Any cyclist and supporter who wants to meet the heroes of the past and current.

Please feel free to contact Muller Bredenkamo on 082 3751 337  or myself on 083 640 4823 or mail me to Chrissnr@cwcycles.co.za should you need more info or want to assist us in any way.

Hope we see you interacting with the "Heroes of the past"

PS. Should you know of any old cyclist and have his contact detail then please forward it to us.

Its going to be great chatting to all the old heroes. Some big well known names that is coming are:

Robbie McIntosh - 5 x Rapport tour winner

Eddie Kriel - Springbok Track captain.

Tin Thiart - Springbok track and road rider

Jan Loubsher - Spring track and road rider representing SA at the Olympics many years ago.

Rowan Peacock. Springbok track and road rider representing SA abroad many times.

Gotty Hansen. - Springbok coach and manager

Hennie Wentzel. Springbok track and road rider and Argus tour winner

Tommy Shadelow - Springbok track rider and Olympic medal winner

Willie Engelbrecht - Springbok track and road rider. Winner of Rapport tour and most winning Argus tour.

Morne Bester - Springbok road rider and Argus tour winner.

Leon Jonker. Springbok track rider and winner of Boxing day 25m

This is only a few. More names to follow.

Some more top riders of the past that will attend are the following Springboks:

Martin Neft - EP

Ralph Smout - Natal

Johny Warne - STVL

Rudolf Wentzel - W.P.

Dave Wisemann - Natal

Linus van Onselen - W.P.

Syd Byrnes - W.P.

Steve Wolhuter - Stvl

Walter Thornhill - S Tvl now lives in the UK

• 5 weeks later...

Only 14 LAPS [ days } to go to the biggest ever reunion of cyclist in SA. At this stage more than 200 cyclist from all over SA and  abroad has confirmed that they will attend the reunion on the 27th January [ 2 weeks ] from today.

This is something not to be missed. Bring your wife, girl friend and friends and meet the best that have ever represented SA. The cyclists will be introduced to the crown and you will be able to ask them questions whatever you want.

Come and listen how hard these okes were compare to today. They did not ask for a inch nor did they give an inch. You all will love it.