Still new to biking...yes this is a rant

Wheelie87

So I'm still fairly new to biking and the journey never ceases to amaze me..good or bad. It truly is a love-hate relationship.

I recently had to buy a new MTB tyre and after extensive research online (yes I am a desk jockey if not in the saddle) I decided on the perfect tyre (for me) to run up front.

Still early in my career, recently married, MTB'ing is a luxury and to be quite honest hella expensive; so forking out close to R1K for a single MTB tyre doesn't necessarily always sit well with the Mrs. 

Be that as it may..I phone the LBS and confirm that they have the desired product in stock..super excited I leave early from work and rush over there. On arrival I can't seem to find it on the shelf, I ask for assistance as they confirmed to have three in stock that AM. They bring the tyre but it is in a different tyre's box..immediately I wonder, but why..the sales rep says he's not sure but what does it matter. He takes the tyre out and it seems to be new, albeit not as sparkly clean as the other tyres in their original packaging on the shelf. At R880 a tyre I kinda want it in the original packaging. I'm hesitant. I ask how they compare to a similar tyre on display. " I don't know..I don't know anything about these Enduro tyres" and walks off. I apparently know their products better than they do - thank you Google.

Having no front tyre and the weather begging to go ride I decide to take it.

At the checkout another bright young employee assists me as employee numero uno is now very busy. I again inquire about the packaging as I want to compare the info on the box with another tyre (the one mentioned above). He brings the box of the tyre I want, but in a different size and says I can Google if I need more info and walks off.