Andrew Mclean Fan Club

Yang

No problem Sean. At least I know how to pronounce his name, unlike Phil Liggett's McLeen as in "wipe clean" at the PnP awards at year end, which I watched on........ you guessed it..........SUPERCYCLING!

And Hagar- thanks for the comment.

• Replies 100

The strange thing is that I did not know about the "price fixing" thread until I saw this one yesterday, so it actually made me go back and read the other thread.  Thanks for the heads up! (I have to confess I only read up to page 30, but I'll read the rest tonight with a nice cup of coffee - riveting stuff)

Having worked for THE man I have the upmost respect for him and his ideas that he's forever conjuring (sp?) up to try to make the sport better and to grow his bussiness, and the fact that he has nothing bad to say about anyone.

But how bout a Fritz Pienaar fan club thread? Cuz lets not forget what he's done for MTBing in this country...Mazda Adventure Zone, drifter series?

Number 1, AM made a mistake with the "price fixing" setup, and I think it will come to haunt him at some stage.  But, everyone makes mistakes, I do daily!  So AM makes them as well!!!!!  Proof that he is just like us, a human!!

Number 2, I used to ride to Illovo in the mornings, crossing paths with the bloody crazy AM group.  One morning I hooked onto the group (bleeding through my eyes) and after that another guy.  The second guy came down HARD on Oxford.  AM turned around, checked that the guy was ok and then phoned the Cyclelab "support car" to come and pick this oke up.  The guy's bike went to Cyclelab, the guy to the hospital and then home, driven around in the Cyclelab car.  NO COST!!!  AM didn't even know the guy.....

Number 3, I've mailed AM with a question on weight (too many pies ja ja ja).  He did not try to avoid me, as some guys do, but he helped, suggested, adviced!

Number 4, on the Price Fixing thread he acknowledged his mistake!!  That took guts.

So what am I trying to say?  AM is human, just like us, but he's willing to help, promote and suggest to us cyclists.  Good guy, yes.

ewep2008-09-24 01:35:22

Number 1' date=' AM made a mistake with the "price fixing" setup, and I think it will come to haunt him at some stage.  But, everyone makes mistakes, I do daily!  So AM makes them as well!!!!!  Proof that he is just like us, a human!!

Number 2, I used to ride to Illovo in the mornings, crossing paths with the bloody crazy AM group.  One morning I hooked onto the group (bleeding through my eyes) and after that another guy.  The second guy came down HARD on Oxford.  AM turned around, checked that the guy was ok and then phoned the Cyclelab "support car" to come and pick this oke up.  The guy's bike went to Cyclelab, the guy to the hospital and then home, driven around in the Cyclelab car.  NO COST!!!  AM didn't even know the guy.....

Number 3, I've mailed AM with a question on weight (too many pies ja ja ja).  He did not try to avoid me, as some guys do, but he helped, suggested, adviced!

Number 4, on the Price Fixing thread he acknowledged his mistake!!  That took guts.

So what am I trying to say?  AM is human, just like us, but he's willing to help, promote and suggest to us cyclists.  Good guy, yes.

Hey vettie( se die dikker van die twee) ry jy nie vandag nie.

But yes Andrew and I spoke online to each other and it was a very very candid conversation honest and to the bone.

Had the same with Fritz last night,  respect for both.  That is all, I understand where they are coming from and what they wanted to achieve.

sammajoor2008-09-24 01:40:38

Number 1' date=' AM made a mistake with the "price fixing" setup, and I think it will come to haunt him at some stage.  But, everyone makes mistakes, I do daily!  So AM makes them as well!!!!!  Proof that he is just like us, a human!!

But yes Andrew and I spoke online to each other and it was a very very candid conversation honest and to the bone.

Had the same with Fritz last night,  respect for both.  That is all, I understand where they are coming from and what they wanted to achieve.

Nou oppad huiswaarts.  Moes kom werk.  Die Six roep hard!!!!!

I'll probably PM both the gents as well, just to find out why this whole thing started!!!

Nou oppad huiswaarts.  Moes kom werk.  Die Six roep hard!!!!!

I'll probably PM both the gents as well, just to find out why this whole thing started!!!

Ewep do yourself a favour and go and see Andrew, and have a chat over a coffee, then Skye Fritz and chat to him too.  He will say a few things that will make your hair stand on end.

Enjoy your mate.  Give the little one a hug

Ewep you full of bull man ! I have never been a huge Andrew fan but of late he has ventured onto the dirt with a lot of success and he and Fritz and a few other unnamed ones had the balls to get together to try and make the cycling retail industry a better place . Unfortunately the Hub took it upon themself to shoot the whole thing down because we want it ALL but don't want to pay for it . But to return to the original question , Andrew don't dispair you have moved up my rankings to number 12 .

i have known andrew since my best friend started working at the lab a few years ago never once have i walked into the lab to see andrew without a smile on his face and he always goes out of his way to greet not only me but everyone that walks into that door he really does alot for the cycling community in Sa and i have tons of respect for him and in all honesty it is with pleasure that i will go to the lab to spend a few more rands on a product if i know i will get good customer service

i havent read the whole price fixing thread or even this whole thread so dont shoot me down but this is my 2cents worth

enjoy your public holiday guys

Ewep you full of bull man ! I have never been a huge Andrew fan but of late he has ventured onto the dirt with a lot of success and he and Fritz and a few other unnamed ones had the balls to get together to try and make the cycling retail industry a better place . Unfortunately the Hub took it upon themself to shoot the whole thing down because we want it ALL but don't want to pay for it . But to return to the original question ' date=' Andrew don't dispair you have moved up my rankings to number 12 .[/quote']

Hey Dirt Rider does a talented cyclist like myself feature on your top twenty?

1 Red Heart

2 Camel lights

3 Morewood ( not as in " Hey boet pass us morewood for the braai")WinkWinkWinkWink

My tuppence:

I was at another club which was basically a retirement scheme for the chairman. We went to a meeting to discuss the Interclub. This short bloke stood up and said Cycle Lab was too dominant and we needed to level the playing field. He suggested a scheme which everyone accepted (only 3 in the top 10 far each Club). That was the first time I came across Andrew. The guy was screwing his own club to make cycling stronger! Wow!

I then joined Cycle Lab and have now ridden with Andrew for 3 years. At first I was wary of him: all the horror stories I heard about the guy could have filled a book. What have I learnt? They are BS. It's easy to criticise and spread lies about the guy behind his back 'cos he stands so tall.

He's human, he makes mistakes and I have seen him do a few things where I've thought "oops".

BUT then:

- he has put SA cycling on the road with SuperCycling. We have this every week due to him. Do you think we would have the best TV cycling coverage (TdF, Giro AND Vuelta, plus, plus, plus...) in the world without that;

- he has put together the largest Club in the country (2500+, I believe);

- he has a strong junior academy;

- he is punting road & MTB to all who will listen;

- Cycle Lab saved the Tour Durban last year (1 of only 3 full closed off races in the country) and we wouldn't of had one this year without it;

- Cycle Lab saved the Junior tour this year (one of the most successful ever);

- Cycle Lab helped the Double Century last year with sponsorship (and sponsor other races);

- he organised the Liberty Life criterium series;

- he has helped put together the SuperSeeding index you guys are ranked on;

- he introduced online entries with the Cycle Entries site;

- he has lobbied for cycling right with business and government;

- he lectures to schools and varsity students on sport;

- he has arranged charity races (I know he did one for Redhill school);

- he's beein instrumental in putting together the new bike park off Main road - looks like it's going to be the best yet;

- he has introduced and supported new races, both on and off road;

- he is the main reason we still have Vets Tours (Panorama and Libery are two he worked on);

- who do you think organised this years Super Series?

**** - I could go on all day.... And that's without mentioning what the bugger does ON the bloody bike!!!

And what happens? Some w@nkers need someone to shoot down and he's the easiest target.

Nope - I'm not a McLean "fanboy", but I respect the guy one helluva lot for what he has done for me and you can quote me on that.

He has a smile on his face when u walk in to his shop because he's thinkng -this guys going to pay towards my nice car outsideTongue. Promise you that the sun still shines even if Andrew sits.

QED: this is the type of tosser I was talking about! Thanks for pitching up liquid!

So: cycle shop owners are not allowed to make money and drive nice cars? Or send their kids to decent schools?

Does it also burn your arse when you go to Pick 'n' Pay and think of Ackermans living in nice houses? Or to Toys 'r' Us and you go green when you see Issy on a nicer bike than yours.

Grow up. If the guy has the balls to go out and run a business, don't begrudge him the benefits...