CyclingSA / MyRace / Licensing.

allobar

33 members have voted

1. 1. Should you need a license?

• Yes, it is necesary.
    • No, its a money making scam.

My Rant.

Firstly I do not believe that there should be license fees involved to race as an amateur.

I am not a professional racer and don't want to be, I want to go and do the occasional MTB race and that is that.

Now I am forced to join a club, then I have to join the CSA to get a license.

So there are club fees, CSA license fees and to top it all a race fee.

What is happening to all this money that is being collected.

Well it has to pay for the club admin - that would not have been there had everyone not been forced to join a club.

Then there is the licensing fee that has to go to CSA - to do what exactly - that’s right they have to keep track of the newly created clubs and the members.

I can to a certain extent understand the need for a seeding system and rankings and the cost to maintain that.

But then just have one fee at one institution - pay a yearly license see at CSA and if you don't want to then that is fine to but then you will not be on the ranking system.

That is fine - then it is a choice that I can make - now I am forced to pay a Day License fee - that goes into someone's pocket and does nothing for me.

I also pay the race organizer to put on the race - no problem with that.

To add insult to injury - try creating a new account on 'MyRace' and see how far you get.

Once you have created the account and they have sent you the confirmation key - meaning the email address works.

You go back and try to log-in - the site then comes back to inform you that the details are not correct.

This is a joke - a total sham - a mockery of intellect - This is what they are doing with the license fees.

What a joke !!!

I would love to see what would happen if every cyclist would boycott races that required a license fee for amateur racers to partake.