Hi/Salaam,

I started MTBing beginning of the year, enterered quite a few races so far, ony MTB btw. Sad thing is, out of the THOUSANDS of MTBer's, my family and I are like the only Muslim people I've ever seen at any race.

Its so bad that at the Lion Race this year, my phone fell out of my saddle bag, a kid found it, and after going through the pics on my phone, he had absolutely no difficulty finding me.

Muslim dudes are usually too spoilt and too "precious", most of them usually end up getiing a Golf GTI on their 18th birthdays. And if they do any sport, 7 out of ten times its soccer, and the other 3 time its cricket.

So if you a muslim MTBer, please say Howzit/Aweh/Whatzappening.

Fanks/ Shup, Salaam

• Replies 58

Muslim or not.....out there we are all of the same religion called MTB'ing!!!

So even though I am not Muslim, here goes.....

WHATZUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbup:

Cant believe this is the case in Gauteng.

There are so many Muslim MTB'ers in Cape Town , it seems most of the roadies have left the road and moved over to MTB, I plan to also take up Mtb'ing after the Argus.

Your observation is quite true, I was talking to someone about it the other day. MTB races see *very* few people of any colour other than white, for some reason. I could be mistaken, but with road cycling there's broader representation of different races. There must be some sort of logic around differing attraction to the disciplines based on cultural preferences, or something along that line?

One thing that's always encouraging is how one sees people (including whole families) of different races, sizes, fitness (and a whole bunch of other differentiating properties) on the trails at Tokai on weekends. Good to see the sport having a broad appeal!

Hi/Salaam,

I started MTBing beginning of the year, enterered quite a few races so far, ony MTB btw. Sad thing is, out of the THOUSANDS of MTBer's, my family and I are like the only Muslim people I've ever seen at any race.

Its so bad that at the Lion Race this year, my phone fell out of my saddle bag, a kid found it, and after going through the pics on my phone, he had absolutely no difficulty finding me.

Muslim dudes are usually too spoilt and too "precious", most of them usually end up getiing a Golf GTI on their 18th birthdays. And if they do any sport, 7 out of ten times its soccer, and the other 3 time its cricket.

Fanks/ Shup, Salaam

Hey Joe

No disrespect, but that is moer funny.

Thanks guys.

@ Dangle, yeah I know, I also find it moer funny.

I also know a couple muslim okes that do road cycling. But hardly any MTBer's, think they don't like getting dirty, im sure it's difficult getting the mud of those white Puma tekkies.

@ Spat. The one other mulim dude that cycles with me is also a Kaapie.

Hi/Salaam,

Fanks/ Shup, Salaam

Being a person of colour I always get intimidated by all the cool hardcore guys with the shades and 20 waterbottles straped to every space on their bike then when they look at you its like they gna come slice your tyres or something..but then when u walk by u get a friendly greeting and u feel welcome . then i dont feel so bad being the only one there

I've never felt intimidated by the sheer number of "fair" people. I'm not sure, but it seems some of them do find the big beard a bit "strange". But I've bever had a problem or anything. The Dudes/Dudettes are always friendly and helpful.

I love it!

I've never felt intimidated by the sheer number of "fair" people. I'm not sure, but it seems some of them do find the big beard a bit "strange". But I've bever had a problem or anything. The Dudes/Dudettes are always friendly and helpful.

I love it!

What? Don't you know us honkeys are dangerous in big groups? :P

Had a couple muslim mates in the past who have ridden, know what you mean though, hardly ever see muslims or rather, Indian riders at events.

Lens has a very active athletics club whom I see represented at nearly all the running events.

I think BigH is a closet Muslim mountain biker... but seriously - I see very few here in Gautengaleng, but many when riding in the Cape. Of course, I am judging this on appearance, so I may be wrong. Just the feeling I get.

Cant believe this is the case in Gauteng.

There are so many Muslim MTB'ers in Cape Town , it seems most of the roadies have left the road and moved over to MTB, I plan to also take up Mtb'ing after the Argus.

Thats good news as I got someone I hope to get into MTBing soon and if the more guys in his community he sees MTBing, the easier it will be to motivate him. Currently he is just interested in BMXing (met k@k deidelik rims en 'n gevaaaarlike frame) but the facilities in his community is limited to a rather dangerous sand mine.

I think BigH is a closet Muslim mountain biker... but seriously - I see very few here in Gautengaleng, but many when riding in the Cape. Of course, I am judging this on appearance, so I may be wrong. Just the feeling I get.

Puzzling question. How do you judge a Muslim on appearance?

Edited by capeofstorms