Why is it that we are always taught to keep left when we are on the roads, whether it be on a bike or in a car, yet this basic rule of the road goes out the window at Kyalami.

I was taught 'keep left, overtake right. It was the first thing about road use and and I'm sure many others were taught the same.

There is even a sign at Kyalami urging slower riders to keep left but I don't think anybody bothers taking note of it. I almost had a 50km/h crash approaching the corner where Fat Arnies used to be when some rider decided to cut the corner. I was already fully committed but she just came across without even looking - honestly, I've no idea how I missed her - it was real scary and it made me cross .... bliksem my moer meter went off the scale.  

Frankly, riding hard on a wednesday at Kyalami doesnt make any sense, there are just too many people of all abilities. Tonight was no exception - lots and lots of riders.

Best advice if you do go on free wednesdays is to cool it, and make sure you are aware of the others around you and don't asume anything.

I had someone ride into the back of me at the track on a tuesday - you need eyes everywhere!

Go early in the mornings (5am-7am) and ride as fast as you like :)

aag it's a wensday, it's mostly newbies, go easy on them, when they get more into the sport and used to their bike they will think of the stay left pass right thin, now all their concentration is going into staying on the bike.

Almost crashed on tuesday, me and Thug was riding on the back straight behind the pits, and a guy two bikes ahead did something and the guy infront of me locked his wheels and skidded a little bit, was quite close to going into him...

think people enjoy the freedom of not having to worry about cars :) Its not so much about keeping left, its more these idiots that pass you then they cut back before they are really past you.

If we want the sport to grow, then we have to accept that Kyalami is a safe environment for people to learn the ropes as well as improve their skills. 

As Hubbers we should appreciate the facilities at Kyalami and not assume that we have sole right to them.  We should also be experienced enough to anticipate the novice moves.  E.g taking the narrow line etc. 

No one person at kyalami owns the tarmac.  You cannot adopt the attitude of "anyone going slower than me is a moron, and anyone going faster than me is an idiot"

If you're going fast - go where the people aren't. 

fact is I was going where she wasn't ....... but suddenly she decided to change her direction. I'm not fast, cautious yes, but the basic rule of road use (in SA) is 'keep left'

Maybe a few KEEP LEFT signs around the track wouldn't be a bad idea.

Steve, I'm afraid its a racing track; its one way; there is a 'racing line'; there are no cars; it isn't a public road; there are no stopstreets/ robots/ speed limits etc etc etc.

Leave Wed PM to the beginners.

Hopefully there wont be rain this afternoon, and I'll see you there.