Things I've learnt from commuting

zeabre

You Ass :)

At least I only work from 9am - 5pm so get to ride in a little later than most.

Hehe..those sound like better hours!:-D

• Replies 4.1k

would love to commute on my bike but we don't have Showers at the office. :(

showers help a lot, but there's ways around it if you can't.

My back tire's pretty chewed up, so I rotated them on Saturday - swopped front for rear. Pulled 13 thorns out of the tow tires - a lot can be said for Slime! I've only had a tire go completely flat once, never noticed any other thorns :)

I've also figure out Michael Jackson's secret ... on Thursday morning, a Putco bus bumped me in Duncan street, Pretoria, nothing broken but badly shaken. After receiving no joy from cops, metro police and Putco about the driver, I paid him a visit in his bus on Friday morning. A boot in the face and a promise to make doggy treats out of him seems to have sorted him out. He turned a 'whiter shade of pale', a la MJ. I was given a wide berth this morning on my commute, dunno how long that's going to last :)

I wouldn't recommend anyone repeat my actions, I've probably made myself a moving target for the foreseeable future.

.........I've probably made myself a moving target for the foreseeable future.

Get a disguise? :D

Sheez boet. I am glad you are ok. We wouldn't want you taken out of the commuter's challenge that way. :D

The whole Liesbeek, Albert Road, Woodstock route is pretty OK. Watch out for pedestrians and the area around Gympie Street. After about 6:30, Albert gets very dodgy, rather use Main Road (Gympie Str warning repeated).

... there's a ramp going down to the cycle track that'll take you to the back of the station.

Thanks! I'll be doing daylight recce so this is what I was looking to hear.

Got confirmation from Putco this morning that driver has been suspended pending disciplinary hearing. Some bigwig in Putco got wind of this and blew his top :clap:

Lekker nuus, Bushcamp!

Don't expect to score any points in the Silly Commuter Racing series if your opponent is wearing a shirt like this

post-43-0-95306400-1330418456.jpg

Well done! (on getting some action taken I mean, not on getting bumped. Had that a few months ago myself courtesy of a WBHO construction workers bus, not fun)

Strangest "bump" I have ever had was from a rubber duck on a trailer.

It was a close call with the stone face of the mountain as we were going rather fast.

What the hell is going on the last week? yesterday afternoon, and this morning, people tried to left-hook me. I ended up in a shouting match with the idiot yesterday, until his son jumped out of his Land Cruiser and tried to slap me. I put stop to that, and went home. This morning, another bloody white bakkie brigade member did the same thing - storms past me, only to cut right in front of me into a driveway - me doing 28ish km/h, fooking far left of the road. Had a 'nicer' altercation - just told the 'lady' that I hope she has a really blessed day.

I carry a can of pepper spray. The next guy or gal that gets out of the car wanting to beat me is getting a face full of pepper spray and then some carbon cycling shoe in their mouth.

Was also thinking about getting some pepper spray - but with the people being so bosbefok in Pretoria nowadays I may end up being charged with assault. I just pull a knife and that ends it - white boys cannot run fast enough if you pull a knife in a fight, they just *** themselves.

I sure hope one of those drivers don't bring a gun to your knife fight!