To carbon, or not to Carbon? That is the question

The Ghost

15 members have voted

1. 1. To buy Carbon or not

• Yes
    • Its really no big deal

So for some reason I have taken a fancy to the idea of going carbon, and Im really not sure if I should spend the money.

I have been riding for about 4 months now, Im still very much at the 15k/h ave mark; so no expert.

I ride with tools and a Camelbak, so I dont think 900g would make a difference in terms of weight. Is that a fair assumption?

And outside of weight is there any point in spending >R20 000 on a new frame when I have a perfectly good aluminium frame; is bump absorption and handling etc really that much better?

Will it make riding more enjoyable?

Ride what you currently have till the thing falls apart, then buy a new bike.

Carbon is a bit more responsive and only little bits lighter than today's alloy frames.

It is not worth going carbon if you are a newcomer, unless you have the money. I rode my alu bike for 3 years (did the 94.7 in 3:02:00 on a stock standard Raleigh RC1000) before upgrading.

If you feel like you want to upgrade rather spend the money on wheels, its the best upgrade money can buy.

Some hubber said for every 100 grams save on ratation weight (wheels) you need take 500 grams of your framebike (excluding wheels).

My 2 cents worth

Edited by Zatek

No, it won't make any real perceivable difference in the way / speed that you ride, nor is it worth shelling out for unless you were going to be upgrading anyway.

In terms of bump absorption etc, yes carbon is "better" than alu. But there's also only so much a frame can absorb in place of a good suspension system. In terms of handling - all things remaining the same (geometry, head angle etc) then they will be the same. Carbon may just be a tad stiffer, so will respond faster to your pedal inputs (by faster, I mean that more of your leg power will transfer into the wheels as opposed to into the frame of the bike)