morning everyone, my first post here. Im new to the whole LC thing. JCZA is my partner for the stage races..so he got me to read the paleo diet book by friel/cordain. very interesting.

I have known my whole life that i am hypoglaecemic..ie produce too much insulin. Thus have been eating raw oats for breakfast for years to try and stabilise the insulin response. I have now cut most carbs like potatoes and pastas from my diet..

ive got a blood glucose meter and have started taking readings. yesterday morning was 4.6 FBG. when i got home in the afternoon it was 4.3. i then had a cup of tea with low fat milk..shot up to 6.2 :eek: .then went training..and had no steam. when i got home after training was back to 4.3.. so clearly my glycaemic response to low fat milk is huge..which then induces a large insulin response which flattens me. i shall try and test my response to normal milk later today

• Replies 4.6k

so clearly my glycaemic response to low fat milk is huge..which then induces a large insulin response which flattens me.

Howzit Mike

Firstly, I would stay clear of anything labelled low fat since the missing fat is then usually substituted with loads of sugar. Low fat yogurt and low fat flavored drinking milk are great examples of how these giant companies mislead us into thinking that when taking the fat out and replacing it with sugar, the product is much better for you. Can they be further from the truth? :angry:

However, I don't think this was quite the case when you drank the low fat milk. I have read alot about the effects that dairy have on insulin resistance. I read in one study that milk was even more insulinogenic than white bread, but less so than whey protein with added lactose and cheese with added lactose. http://ajcn.nutritio...6.full.pdf html

What we need to realize when drinking milk, low fat, non fat or full fat, the protein and the carbs are responsible for the large insulin release. Being more specific, the amino acid composition.

Check the following link for more detail.

http://www.marksdail.../#axzz2amgIomKQ

Edited by krouxsa

Welcome Mike Bike and to everyone else who may be new on this forum. :clap:

Your questions and observations made me scratch through some of my archives and I found the attached "A Paleo diet for the 21st Century" pdf, and I think (although not exhaustive by any means) this is a really nice little go-to book if you want to read a little about the do's and don'ts on modern Paleo or LCHF. It is only 27 pages, and I like the approach the writer took. :thumbup:

I cannot remember where and how I got this, so I may have the Copyright Nazi's on my case, so grab while you can ! :D

a-paleo-diet-for-the-21st-century1.pdf

edit : grammar

Edited by htone

morning everyone, my first post here. Im new to the whole LC thing. JCZA is my partner for the stage races..so he got me to read the paleo diet book by friel/cordain. very interesting.

I have known my whole life that i am hypoglaecemic..ie produce too much insulin. Thus have been eating raw oats for breakfast for years to try and stabilise the insulin response. I have now cut most carbs like potatoes and pastas from my diet..

ive got a blood glucose meter and have started taking readings. yesterday morning was 4.6 FBG. when i got home in the afternoon it was 4.3. i then had a cup of tea with low fat milk..shot up to 6.2 :eek: .then went training..and had no steam. when i got home after training was back to 4.3.. so clearly my glycaemic response to low fat milk is huge..which then induces a large insulin response which flattens me. i shall try and test my response to normal milk later today

Milk has a very high insulin response, similar to white bread/pure sugar.

I experimented a bit today at lunch, 18g carb meal. 9 of which was sugar from half a small grapefruit, and man did it taste good. :clap: Anyway, the ketones tested just a shade under "++" before dinner so I'm quite pleased with that as I see it as an indulgence. :thumbup:

Go fruit! :clap:

@Mike Bike & krouxsa - I am sensitive to milk, but have not had that much of a response from it. Sometimes you have to look past the obvious things, and silly as this may sound, it may even be the tea that lifts your blood sugar (if you are really hypoglaecemic). I only started drinking coffee when I started doing LCHF and was experimenting with bullet-proof coffee and at one stage found that I had inexplicable spikes in BG. Lo and behold, it turned out that I was sensitive to caffeine like that.

On a slightly different note (but still on this topic), I pushed my carb consumption up a little over the last week to see what that would do to my BG readings. For the past 6 days I have been averaging about 150g of carbs per day. My waking BG for the last 3 days has been 6.3 - 6.5 and random tests during the day (I don't eat lunch) gave readings as high as 7.8.

This morning I had my regular fatshake with no added carbs bar the 6g that comes with the PVM protein powder I use and that which is in the milk in the shake. My BG now is at 5.8.

What I have learned from this is that (I am a Type II diabetic so keep that in mind):

1. There is definitely a cumulative effect to carb consumption for me - I don't "reset" overnight and high carbs consumed today will have an effect on my BG reading tomorrow. Exercise at night also did not do a "reset".

2. Since starting LCHF, my "tolerance" for carbs has lowered. I used to be able to get away with about 100g of carbs during the day without adverse BG levels, now I start seeing my BG going up well below 100g per day.

3. I have had slow and steady weight loss over the week prior, but as soon as I upped my carbs to about 100g/day my weight loss stopped and I have in fact added about 1kg back over the last 3 days.

4. Blood ketones are at 0.6 mmol, which is not bad, but I am not seeing any weight loss effect from that and I am guessing that the high carb = high BG is simply blocking any benefit that being in ketosis may have. I have tested with Ketostix throughout and have been reading +++ throughout, so my overall ketosis was not affected, which is interesting - I am guessing if I took even more carbs it would knock me well out of ketosis.

I know that it will take me about 2 - 3 days to get my BG levels to the low 5's by simply restricting carbs again. I have trained throughout and have not felt any benefit in terms of energy or endurance over the last week, and over the last three days I had major energy dips in the afternoons, reminiscent of my high carb days. I am, therefore, resigned to the fact that for my own health and sanity I will have to remain low-carb.

In terms of all-day exercise (like hiking in the Berg), my food of choice is v.fatty biltong mixed with coconut oil. Incredible stuff. My search is over, and I'm happy. A 750ml bottle of this mix will take me through an entire day of climbing/hiking

Hi Tombeej

how exactly do you prepare and carry above please ?

tx

Sorry, I've been on the road all week. Will try to post something on this during the weekend.

Secondly, pick and pay selling 500g bricks of kerrygold butter for R38,99 at the moment. I think normally they sell for like R58,99 so definitely a big saving for the best and healthiest butter in the world. The special expires on Sunday.

:D

Just bought 1.5kgs, should last me a month. Thanks for the info. :thumbup:

@Mike Bike & krouxsa - I am sensitive to milk, but have not had that much of a response from it. Sometimes you have to look past the obvious things, and silly as this may sound, it may even be the tea that lifts your blood sugar

Very True indeed!!!

So many factors that needs to be taken into consideration. Htone, do you ever think you will be cured from Diabetes by following the LCHF lifestyle? I'm just asking out of curiosity since there has been many people, including people like Peter Attia from eating academy, that has had great success in actually reversing his diabetes completely. I really respect your insight and experience in this journey. For someone like you, cutting carbs is not really a choice, it's a must to survive.

Just bought 1.5kgs, should last me a month. Thanks for the info. :thumbup:

I already bought 5kg, gonna go buy some more after work. I see the expiry is only in August 2014 so I'm sure I will have butter for a year!!!

Just on a side note, have you tried their Full Fat Dubliner Cheese and the 2 year mature cheddar? I tell you, that is some good cheese! R30 for 200g, but oh gosh, that's how all cheese should taste like.

Edited by krouxsa

I just need to get Biltong. But I hate eating infront of clients. So it is easy to chuck something down the pie hole and feel stuffed. But I just need to get to the biltong shop. Only reason why I am on diet fuel at the moment.

I don’t see store-bought biltong as a viable option IMHO.

First, the cost. My local Spar’s biltong is R270/kg. That’s an insane price to pay for a daily snack meal. My homemade biltong comes in at a more reasonable R80/kg or so.

Second, the stuff you buy in the shops is lean. Almost no fat at all. So maybe a nice source of protein, but that’s it. Certainly not not going to win any awards as a fuel source to keep you going through the day. As I’ve said a few times before, I dish out the lean cuts of my homemade stuff to family and friends because they don’t have any value for me. The fat is what I’m after.

Third, as an on-the-go snack: When done right it’s seriously delicious. And with a small packet in your desk drawer or in the cubby hole of your car, you can just go and go and go all day, with no energy dips or food cravings. It’s the energizer bunny snack.

With my line of work, I am often on the road, sometimes all day. If I don’t have an effective means of fueling, the risk is that I end up at a garage buying a soft drink and a pie (well at least that’s what it was like in the old days).

In the LCHF world, really fatty biltong should be the aim. And the only way to do that affordably is to make it yourself.

Where do you get such fatty cuts of meat and what cut specifically?

EDIT: I see most recipes recommend silverside, but that's a lean cut.

Edited by Helpmytrap

First, the cost. My local Spar’s biltong is R270/kg. That’s an insane price to pay for a daily snack meal. My homemade biltong comes in at a more reasonable R80/kg or so.

Spar near my fiance sells biltong (met lekker vet ruggies) for R99-99 per KG

But I just have to get space to make my own biltong. the place I stay at is way to small to do anything in...

Very True indeed!!!

So many factors that needs to be taken into consideration. Htone, do you ever think you will be cured from Diabetes by following the LCHF lifestyle? I'm just asking out of curiosity since there has been many people, including people like Peter Attia from eating academy, that has had great success in actually reversing his diabetes completely. I really respect your insight and experience in this journey. For someone like you, cutting carbs is not really a choice, it's a must to survive.

Nope, it cannot be cured, just managed. But you can manage it to the point where you don't need any medication and where it does not impact on your life at all, that's why LCHF fits me like a glove. Just for interest sake, check the graph below - that was what happened to my BG after starting LCHF in October of 2012 - it resembles that of a healthy person. I haven't done an updated graph to plot my recent experimentation, but once my carb intake is around 50 - 70g my BG settles around 5.0 as well. So yes, I could say that I reversed it, but the truth is that I could trigger high BG in no time with higher carbs. I blew my regulator a long time ago.... :whistling:

post-36230-0-92947000-1375465714_thumb.jpg

Second, the stuff you buy in the shops is lean. Almost no fat at all.

I was introduced to our local Biltong Warehouse by a friend recently and I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality, pricing and fat content of their biltong. They sell silverside biltong for R160 / kg and I must tell you it is prime quality. They make and awesome droëwors as well, so if regular fatty biltong does not cook your goose, then droëwors is a nice other option.

But just FYI - remember that even trimmed beef has a fat content of between 10% - 25% by weight, so even if it is lean biltong, you are at least getting 10% of that in as fat - and I would much prefer that fat to whatever gets put into an energy bar... :ph34r:

http://biltongwarehouse.co.za/ - I see they can even courier it to you :D