neewat, ek sal maar die lekker kosmaak aan julle ouens oorlaat, wil my cottage pie recipe en hoender pastei recipe deel ook hier, maar sho sho sho, dink tussen Wayne en Rouxtjie se skeppings sal dit maar vaal lyk.

My dad always used to say, there are two types of people, (referring to cooking) those who can cook, and those people that know people that can cook....I'm one of the latter...

• Replies 1.2k

neewat, ek sal maar die lekker kosmaak aan julle ouens oorlaat, wil my cottage pie recipe en hoender pastei recipe deel ook hier, maar sho sho sho, dink tussen Wayne en Rouxtjie se skeppings sal dit maar vaal lyk.

My dad always used to say, there are two types of people, (referring to cooking) those who can cook, and those people that know people that can cook....I'm one of the latter...

Share share share....

Had a duck pasty at the ou pastorie in skeerpoort the other day, they serve it with a pear and blue cheese micro greens salad and kweper jelly...omg extremely good

Edited by rouxtjie

Does any one know of a place in JHB where I can buy Guinefowl meat?

Does any one have a good guinea fowl recipe? My father in law has lorts on his farm and I have been wanting to cook them for a while.

A weber is a fantastic thing if used properly.

Smoke chicken, roast anything.

Lately I have been making homemade pizza with the kids.

Daddy makes the dough and a variety of toppings, kids go bossies putting WHATEVER toppings they like.

We make small pizzas so if they taste ***, we give them to the dogs and make more...I am trying to teach my kids to experiment with whatever flavours pop into there little minds.

Buy a pizza stone though.

I got me one of these. They do very nice pizzas and roasts

http://static.yuppiechef.com/docscache/static.yuppiechef.com/docsraw/4060/otherpicture36421203135454_600x450q80.jpg

Does any one have a good guinea fowl recipe? My father in law has lorts on his farm and I have been wanting to cook them for a while.

My ouma has a killer one, will get it from her, she makes a pie with it....From what I can remember you cook it for ages in redwine and use cloves...its is moer rich though.

Also you can't eat them in months with the letter "r" in them...think they have parasites then or something

My ouma has a killer one, will get it from her, she makes a pie with it....From what I can remember you cook it for ages in redwine and use cloves...its is moer rich though.

Also you can't eat them in months with the letter "r" in them...think they have parasites then or something

Thanks - much appreciated

Ja I have also heard that about the months. Worms apparently

Guys please remember... if you are going to cook a whole leg of lamb, PLEASE cut out the pituitary glad... that thing is SIFF when cooked.... and seriously alters the meat flavor for the worse... its the glad that gives the Lamb/sheep that heavy smell and oils the skin... not great when it messes with the meat!

on that note, for those of you who eat "the parsons nose" from a chicken, cut the two glads off there as well... those are the glads the chicken used to oil its feathers and are bitter as hell!! cut off before cooking!

interestingly the story about only being able to eat them in certain months is an urban legend, i think the story has something to do with their breeding season, but the story about them having worms in their meat in certain months is not true

Guys please remember... if you are going to cook a whole leg of lamb, PLEASE cut out the pituitary glad... that thing is SIFF when cooked.... and seriously alters the meat flavor for the worse... its the glad that gives the Lamb/sheep that heavy smell and oils the skin... not great when it messes with the meat!

on that note, for those of you who eat "the parsons nose" from a chicken, cut the two glads off there as well... those are the glads the chicken used to oil its feathers and are bitter as hell!! cut off before cooking!

My butcher must do this, I wouldn't even know where it is....old school butchery in vereeniging called la oma....winner winner chicken dinner. They are proper old school guys. You can ask for exactly what you want.

interestingly the story about only being able to eat them in certain months is an urban legend, i think the story has something to do with their breeding season, but the story about them having worms in their meat in certain months is not true

Stand to be corrected then...the thought of worms just put me off though to not try and tempt it.

Shot brother...like I said I have really started enjoying baking...ja ja ja I know its a bit pansy but I dig it. Croissants are the one thing I can't get right....struggle big time with it. I have a suspicion my dough isn't right in particular the butter in my dough...its too warm I think causing the croisant to become dense instead of flaking....help please, how do you keep the butter cold in the dough while working it.

I'm pretty sure you know this already but thoroughly chill the dough and the butter before starting, then roll out the dough and only when that is done take out the chilled butter and roll that out. Place it in the middle of the dough (fold the dough over so there is one layer under the butter and two over it) then wrap in clingwrap and chill again for at least an hour.

Try not to touch the butter with your hands too much.

Repeat the folding process and then wrap in clingwrap and leave it in the fridge overnight.

The next day is when you get to shape, prove and cook them.

It's all about the chilling and the time. You can't shortcut anywhere on croissants.

I put a different spin on Weber and braai last weekend. I basically made a hot fire in my weber and braaied a few lamb tjops and a chicken flatty until they where medium rare. I put a bit of lemon juice over the tjops with salt while braaing. The flatty was basted. The idea was to brown them quite quickly. They need that burned crust almost. After this I transferred them both to the oven. The tjops in a bowl with a rosemary and olive oil basting and the pigeon to the rotisserie. I left them on 180 degrees for an hour. I also put some roasting herbs mixture in the oven which also gave off a nice fragrance.

I have to say the meat was uber soft whilst it had that braai taste. The best chicken I ever tasted. Tjops where softer than Rouxtjie's Ego when I passed him during our last MTB race :w00t: .

Wow - that is very interesting.

My butcher must do this, I wouldn't even know where it is....old school butchery in vereeniging called la oma....winner winner chicken dinner. They are proper old school guys. You can ask for exactly what you want.

just remember to ask them to do it! :)

I got me one of these. They do very nice pizzas and roasts

http://static.yuppiechef.com/docscache/static.yuppiechef.com/docsraw/4060/otherpicture36421203135454_600x450q80.jpg

I am looking at one as well (EBUCKS + yuppie Chef!)

How do they work? Do you plug it in or do you put it in a fire?