That's why I use this puppy, no BS from them.

Looks very cool monsoir A. What batteries does that use? Very similar to the Hope Vision1.

I'm using a Lezyne at the moment, also pretty happy with it. Taken some multi use and abuse over time though.

• Replies 60

But it is unethical if you are not delivering what you are stating and you are then coming in at a far lower price on an inferior product vs a legitimate product that delivers on what the packaging says and is more expensive due the components being of good quality .... how are the good guys meant to stay in business then?

Those lights of yours are really good examples of good quality lighting!

Yeah, I may still have the original pre-production prototype I received from NightlIghtning New Zealand in 2003. Back then it was a 380Lumen LED light, the forst of its kind. Its still kicking and has seen out it 2nd battery pack already. In fact none of my Nightlightning's have failed and the overall failure rate was very low and often user induced or battery related.

I still have a Lupine Edison 10 that I purchased in 2002. It still has its original battery, but I changed the bulb and switch once in that period and that was done in Germany by Lupine.

AS far as these China imports are concerned, these guys are all part of a cat eat dog game. The Extreme is a copy of a Lupine light. SO as far as I am concerned if someone else is undercutting Extreme good for them. I'll stick to the original manufacturer's. Okes want to jump on cheap copy right infringed products that's your choice but I don't see the point of this thread. In fact its a joke. How can the distributor of a copied light, be bitching about another copy undercutting him? That's hypocrisy

Looks very cool monsoir A. What batteries does that use? Very similar to the Hope Vision1.

I'm using a Lezyne at the moment, also pretty happy with it. Taken some multi use and abuse over time though.

Exposure use a built in Li-Ion battery pack. The pack is built using Sanyo Li-ion cells so its a high quality battery. Exposure was the first to offer an integrated solution. very nice for the evening night ride but a bit limited in run time if you're into +3 hrs rides after work or 24hr races.

Sounds exactly like the old hifi corp PMPO vs RMS sales pitch.

Any dog and his uncle can bring a system in and slap a name on it these days. We are spoilt for choice these days..the chancers get found out and the cream will rise to the top. I also use to make my own with downlights and pvc plumbing tubes. that was because it was either R200 and my time or R3000 for a pro system.

I think magiclight have shown how to win the bang for buck game, if anecdotal evidence is anything to go by.

The Exposure Maxx-D also costs more than R3000..... what changed???

Yeah, I may still have the original pre-production prototype I received from NightlIghtning New Zealand in 2003. Back then it was a 380Lumen LED light, the forst of its kind. Its still kicking and has seen out it 2nd battery pack already. In fact none of my Nightlightning's have failed and the overall failure rate was very low and often user induced or battery related.

I still have a Lupine Edison 10 that I purchased in 2002. It still has its original battery, but I changed the bulb and switch once in that period and that was done in Germany by Lupine.

AS far as these China imports are concerned, these guys are all part of a cat eat dog game. The Extreme is a copy of a Lupine light. SO as far as I am concerned if someone else is undercutting Extreme good for them. I'll stick to the original manufacturer's. Okes want to jump on cheap copy right infringed products that's your choice but I don't see the point of this thread. In fact its a joke. How can the distributor of a copied light, be bitching about another copy undercutting him? That's hypocrisy

Think you're missing Hannes's point.

He's complaining about suppliers deceiving their customers with false output numbers to create a false sense of value in the customers' minds. I don't see the hypocrisy in calling out companies lying to their customers, unless Extreme Lights were lying themselves...

It's as if those half-filled 150gr chips packets were suddenly advertised as 300gr because they could hold that much - IF they'd been packed full.

Customers have a right to know what they are buying.

Think you're missing Hannes's point.

He's complaining about suppliers deceiving their customers with false output numbers to create a false sense of value in the customers' minds. I don't see the hypocrisy in calling out companies lying to their customers, unless Extreme Lights were lying themselves...

It's as if those half-filled 150gr chips packets were suddenly advertised as 300gr because they could hold that much - IF they'd been packed full.

Customers have a right to know what they are buying.

Interesting point of view since Extreme lights also markets they lights based on the manufacturers claims. The China copies all quote claimed performance based on input electrical power to the LED and quote the LED performance at that power. This is what all the China copiers do so how is Extreme any different?

Many of the earlier generation LED's could also achieve the lumen output in excess of 1000lumen but they would have to be overdriven resulting in a lot of heat to be dissipated , significantly shortened life span and efficiency reduced to 50-60% (so run time suffers).

So unless someone tests actual lumen output of these lights in the same manner and shares those results I consider all the China imports to be less than above board on performance claims

what a load of *** (and a hijack). I can guarantee that your ten year old lights are far inferior to a current 'cheap import' in every way but one - build quality. What was the price of these premium ones in 2002, R3k? That's about double in today's money.

People have (and I quote) "Voted with their Wallets"

edit: seriously, as an afrikaans person the OP should have his balls on a braaigrid for not being able to spell "gatvol".

Edited by Shebeen

So what you are saying is that the lumen output of the lights advertised on your site are all 100% accurate?

To the best if my ability as an Engineering and flashlight fanatic. I have made my mistakes in the past but never nearly x3 out. My biggest hurdle is the manufacturer that some time change the light without letting me know. But I make it clear asap when I discover it.

To calculate lumen I believe the power used should be taken in to consideration. I measure that and then Check what the LED manufacturer states on there datasheet.

This year I had a bad run with batteries. And I have decided that I can't allow that to happen again. Lumen is one thing but selling a battery that is almost guaranty to not last more than a year is a mistake. The price difference is huge but worth every sent. I believe.

To the best if my ability as an Engineering and flashlight fanatic. I have made my mistakes in the past but never nearly x3 out. My biggest hurdle is the manufacturer that some time change the light without letting me know. But I make it clear asap when I discover it.

To calculate lumen I believe the power used should be taken in to consideration. I measure that and then Check what the LED manufacturer states on there datasheet.

This year I had a bad run with batteries. And I have decided that I can't allow that to happen again. Lumen is one thing but selling a battery that is almost guaranty to not last more than a year is a mistake. The price difference is huge but worth every sent. I believe.

jirre boet. that's not right. where are you measuring, on the battery wire?

even if you're looking at current driving the acutal LED you're still thumbsucking off a datasheet.

Geez just as guilty as the competition!

Lumens is a measurement of the light actually exiting the front of the torch..... Not what the manufactrer "claims" is outputted in conjunction with the running VA. What about output loss due to inefficiencies never mind the manufacturer bullsh1tting on the claimed light output.

Would hope an engineer and flashlight fanatic would know and understand these things?