Calling the Fly fishing manne

Pieter1

Hi. Are there any lodges/farms/venues around Dullstroom that supply fly fishing tackle? And are these willing to assist in showing/teaching how it is done? Or any other town? I read a piece about Haenerstburg between Pietersburg and Tzaneen - apparently some good fishing there as well.

It is my laaitie's biggest dream to do fly fishing. And to be honest, it seems like something I will enjoy. But before I buy, I want to try it out first.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

This place seem to offer a variety of services.. maybe give them call

https://www.flyfishing.co.za

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

• Replies 677

No fish today..only laughs.. they must have opened up a sluice gate up at the Vaal dam..river is flowing a lot stronger than a few days ago and about a meter higher..which meant a bit of butt river rafting today... ????????

70a3f3ccef48cf26f10834df382f624f.jpg9343f277d0ee67f6551ae85914049f81.jpg5874477030fa04fc8d9a78e6bd3f41cd.jpg

Edited by Gen

No fish today..only laughs.. they must have opened up a sluice gate up at the Vaal dam..river is flowing a lot stronger than a few days ago and about a meter higher..which meant a bit of butt river rafting today...

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk70a3f3ccef48cf26f10834df382f624f.jpg9343f277d0ee67f6551ae85914049f81.jpg5874477030fa04fc8d9a78e6bd3f41cd.jpg

Keep an eye on this page http://www.dwa.gov.za/Hydrology/Unverified/UnverifiedDataFlowInfo.aspx and check Goose Bay canyon. Find out which of the stations monitor your area. The Goose bay level needs to be 30 or below. That's cubic meters per second.

Thanks for that, I will keep an eye on that page..

[emoji23]No wonder I went butt rafting downstream ????????????

Aaah but all good fun.. the boys as always had a jol even though conditions were challenging...

Looking at that site and where we've been galavanting lately, I have to keep an eye on the Schoemansdrift readings

Edited by Gen

Hi. Are there any lodges/farms/venues around Dullstroom that supply fly fishing tackle? And are these willing to assist in showing/teaching how it is done? Or any other town? I read a piece about Haenerstburg between Pietersburg and Tzaneen - apparently some good fishing there as well.

It is my laaitie's biggest dream to do fly fishing. And to be honest, it seems like something I will enjoy. But before I buy, I want to try it out first.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Mavungana in Dullstroom do lessons on their beginners pond and then also have some lovely day waters available. Very decent bunch of guys, ask for Colin.

Took two blacktail from the bricks this morning. The wind has played very nicely this year, but I forgot how unforgivinging the bricks can be. Fun times!

Happy new year, fly Fisher people!

New to yellow fish on fly? Look here. http://yellowfish.co.za/catching-first-yellowfish-fly/

There are endless variations on the theme, but he gives very good solid advice. :thumbup:

I wish I had that info when I started, but nobody really knew how to catch them back then. It was thought that they only took bait and that catching them on fly was very much a hit and miss thing. The real leap forward came when it was realized that the Czech (or short line) nymphing could be used successfully and predictably for our yellows.

Originally the technique is from Poland, but was adopted and refined by the Czech national flyfishing team in the mid 1980s and now bears their name for eternity. It was designed for competitive trout fishing in fast flowing streams and since the Czech national teams cleaned up using it, everyone else developed their own slightly different versions to stay in the game. Basically it allows you to catch fish in parts of the stream that no other flyfishing technique could target. It works best in slightly discoloured water and very fast rapids and that made the whole of a competitive beat fishable. Meaning that you could also fish the parts between the ideal runs, riffles and pools, thus get you more fish and win the competition.

I'm not keen on the competitive side of flyfishing, but in this case, it sure rewarded us with a valuable technique and since the late 1990s it opened a whole new fishing game to us here in SA. 

Edited by DJR

Hey guys. I took a trip here: http://www.elgroriverlodge.co.za/activities.html during the holidays. For R350 you can rent a small inflatable big enough for two guys and a medium cooler box. They drop you 12km from the lodge and you then float 12km down the river. We caught some nice cats and saw BIG yellows but no luck with them. The water level was quite high but the guys at the lodge reccon it’s better to fish when it’s low. For a 1 1/2 drive from Randburg it is a lekker outing. Ps. If you go there are power lines that span across the river about 2km from the lodge, keep right there otherwise you will have a moer of a paddle back to the lodge.

post-25481-0-01788700-1515237963_thumb.jpeg

post-25481-0-28391900-1515237977_thumb.jpeg

post-25481-0-79731900-1515237999_thumb.jpeg

Edited by Pieter1

Hey guys. I took a trip here: http://www.elgroriverlodge.co.za/activities.html during the holidays. For R350 you can rent a small inflatable big enough for two guys and a medium cooler box. They drop you 12km from the lodge and you then float 12km down the river. We caught some nice cats and saw BIG yellows but no luck with them. The water level was quite high but the guys at the lodge reccon it’s better to fish when it’s low. For a 1 1/2 drive from Randburg it is a lekker outing. Ps. If you go there are power lines that span across the river about 2km from the lodge, keep right there otherwise you will have a moer of a paddle back to the lodge.

5821910A-FD9E-4B6B-922E-06708FC07322.jpeg

12476BC7-4DFC-4E5A-9A7D-7F1D8D7C7EF3.jpeg

15FFCD20-F415-49EA-9157-73484C70F776.jpeg

Nice Bru. Those barble give a good fight on light tackle.

There are endless variations on the theme, but he gives very good solid advice. :thumbup:

I wish I had that info when I started, but nobody really knew how to catch them back then. It was thought that they only took bait and that catching them on fly was very much a hit and miss thing. The real leap forward came when it was realized that the Czech (or short line) nymphing could be used successfully and predictably for our yellows.

Originally the technique is from Poland, but was adopted and refined by the Czech national flyfishing team in the mid 1980s and now bears their name for eternity. It was designed for competitive trout fishing in fast flowing streams and since the Czech national teams cleaned up using it, everyone else developed their own slightly different versions to stay in the game. Basically it allows you to catch fish in parts of the stream that no other flyfishing technique could target. It works best in slightly discoloured water and very fast rapids and that made the whole of a competitive beat fishable. Meaning that you could also fish the parts between the ideal runs, riffles and pools, thus get you more fish and win the competition.

I'm not keen on the competitive side of flyfishing, but in this case, it sure rewarded us with a valuable technique and since the late 1990s it opened a whole new fishing game to us here in SA.

Euro nymph addict right here. I can cast the dries, but I find EN far more productive. I want to catch fish, not just go fishing. That's just me though.

attachicon.gif5821910A-FD9E-4B6B-922E-06708FC07322.jpeg

attachicon.gif12476BC7-4DFC-4E5A-9A7D-7F1D8D7C7EF3.jpeg

attachicon.gif15FFCD20-F415-49EA-9157-73484C70F776.jpeg

Lekker..

Elgro River lodge is a popular spot with the local guys around here too..there are so many spots like that between parys and the vermaasdrif bridge.. and when I say spot I mean fishing water not lodges [emoji23][emoji23]

The best one is a farm bout 10km from our house.. unfortunately after the farmer died his wife is not allowing anyone on the property to go fish anymore. Hubby reckons it is the most productive waters he has fished..he would catch up to 30 yellows in one afternoon..its also the spot where he caught his 12kg barble on the fly..but I am friends with another farmer (her neighbour) So I am going to start working them to see if we can get access through their farm.

I have been following the charts and it's now the 4th day in a row that the river is flowing at well below 30..so not only it it down it will start clearing too..

Euro nymph addict right here. I can cast the dries, but I find EN far more productive. I want to catch fish, not just go fishing. That's just me though.

Having "grown up" on dry fly fishing on the Cape streams, I think that it will always be my first love. I went through a nymphing phase and got quite Zen at it, but it passed, I think mostly because our streams and our trout are so ideal for dries. Now I use nymphing on the Cape streams only if dries won't work. On the Orange, for Yellows, I use nymphs almost exclusively.

Nice Bru. Those barble give a good fight on light tackle.

Thanks dude! Ja they are lekker to catch!