Sabie Experience 2014

KENDA

Sounds like alot of fun. Well done fore all the finishers. My heart breaks when I think about all the pounding the bikes took, makes me wonder if it is at all worth it? Never the less well done guys!!!

And there were some okes that even did the whole event on rigid single speed bikes.......now that is pushing the fun factor.......or they knew about the rain and mud.

(Have pictha proef of this rare animal and his machine)

• Replies 107

The stats tell a story 141 finishers on the prologue and 87 finishers for the event. Considering the conditions every finisher deserves recognition but the real heroes were the marshals standing in the pouring rain for hours while we were having "fun" they have my ultimate respect and I thanked everyone of them as I passed by, but a simple thank you cannot really relay my gratitude for this unselfish sacrifice. A big a up to all of them!

This was my first stage race, and I must admit that the prologue beat the hell out of me...but I finished and now I am hooked and planning to enter my next event! The bike however took some shots with all that mud...a bit expensive, but worth it. Had to finish the final climb on Day 2 with what sounded like small rocks in the bottom bracket...almost brought me to tears

My heart breaks when I think about all tihe pounding the bikes took, makes me wonder if it is at all worth it?!

Couldn't agree more. Main reason I skip the Sabie

Saw someone on instagram snap his carbon bike in half! Looked like a spez

It wasnt a Spez it was a beautiful Niner with a rigid fork. He hit a tree on the prolouge.

Well that was a typical Sabie Experience.

Stage 1: Really enjoyed the slippery mud. It was quite fun if you manged to keep it upright.

Stage 2: Real fun day. That railway section sucked. The scorpion was a tester at the end.

Stage 3: A proper day on the mountain bike. That can hold its own against any Epic stage. Haartebeesvlaaktes can make a grown man cry. Coming down off  those mountains at full gas made my smile go almost right around my head. Perfect. (Although I think my sense of humour is still on that last climb at around 73km)

Stage 4: Eish, That was Sabie at its worst, Driving rain, The Mamba, Rocky Horror in the wet. Glad to make it down with all my bones in tact.

Highlight: Riding 90% of Rocky Horror and not crashing once over the 4 days and the Best goodie bag EVER.

Lowlight: Freezing on day 4 at altitudes around 2000m. Rookie mistake.

Some photos of what the bikes went through on day 1. This was my partners bike after 9 km, one way ticket home, hanger snapped off.

post-64141-0-11250700-1418805763_thumb.jpg

post-64141-0-43563400-1418805792_thumb.jpg

post-64141-0-61239600-1418805830_thumb.jpg

post-64141-0-07827800-1418805849_thumb.jpg

I don't understand why they don't move this race to some other part of the year.  I have done it and it cost me a small fortune to keep the bike going for the 4 days and then some more after to get the bike bike to normal running condition.  I really loved this event and would do it again in a heartbeat but not in those conditions they have every year

I have mailed them my feedback on the race and effective made two arguments for the event date that's not ideal.  Firstly due to it being holiday-time and the target audience of this race is probably your "rookie" stage racers... or people getting into stage racing (at least the team events).  For these people mountain biking is probably not the highest priority in life... so family holiday vs. mountain bike stage race - well... maybe that's why the numbers are not that high.  Secondly, as you mention the chance of rain & mud is very high and thus the costs to fix bike, etc. after the race doesn't warrant the race (even if the race is relatively cheap).

My feedback basically suggests that they should look at alternative dates if they want to attract more people to the race... I was very surprised to get the following detailed response on the same day (today) I sent my feedback.

"

Your feedback is appreciated and concerns around timing of the event are shared by ourselves, as the weather conditions pose some really challenging situations for us as organisers.

Unfortunately the local forestry landowners concerned restrict us to a six month period from 15 November to 31 May each year due to fire risk in the plantations. And most of the other 50 or so major stage races in the country have their events already established in the months leading up to the winter when our weather is more stable,

Initially the Sabie Xperience did have some very hot and dry events in December, as our really wet months are January/february, but it appears that climate change is having an effect. In fact this year the period leading up to this years' event was extraordinarily dry, but that changed on on the last weekend of November.

The other factor we are requested to conside;r by the Local Chamber or Commerce and Tourism is that they prefer accommodation bookings in the quiet weeks just before the Christmas holiday rush. Prior to this a lot of the youth are tied up writing exams at school and tertiary education institutions.

The event has always been directed at targeting families to come to Sabie for the race and then stay on for a week or so to enjoy the local attractions, but maybe it is time to revise this thinking to get the dedicated MTB enthusiasts here only for the race days.

Your response is appreciated.

"

So, it does seam that this has already been raised and problematic even for them.  I really enjoyed the race, but as you said, the cost of fixing the bike, probably doesn't warrant going back.  I would love to do it again, but for both 2013 and 2014 the mud and rain wasn't easy on the bikes; so I doubt that I'll take another change on the weather during December.

Congrats to all who finished.  We (me & partner - wannabe race) managed to get in just under 10 hrs for the 3 days!  Very pleased with result.

I have a different take on this race and the conditions we had to ride in. For me this was a true test of my riding ability , my fitness, my bike and my strength of character.

Day one was by far the worst conditions that I had ever attempted on a MTB. My problems (and believe me I was not alone) started within the first 5 kms when I started experiencing chain suck, something I have never experienced on this particular bike. What I did not know was that the bottom pulley of my rear dérailleur had started seizing. My entry on the bridge at Lake Olaf was greeted by the spectators and photographers with the normal polite cheer and then the worst chain suck struck. One stroke forward half a stroke back to release the chain suck, I was slowing down dramatically and by the time I hit the middle of the bridge all my entry momentum was lost. I was going to have my first swim on a bridge ever "Pedal Boet Pedal!" was the encouragement from the opposite bank. Half a stroke forward, half a stroke back meant that I was going even slower. If half a stroke was all I had I knew I had to make it count, I tried to increase the cadence of what must half looked like a poor rendition of a Michael Jackson's moonwalk. By the time I had crossed two thirds of the bridge my mentor realised my predicament " He's got chain suck and can't pedal!" He announced to the motley group on the opposite side, the lady with the pink umbrella had look on her face that reflected both horror and amusement as she was anticipating her first swimmer of the day, out came the camera! Half a stroke, half a stroke , I was sinking with the bank mere meters away "keeping going Boet, you'll make it!" My back wheel was now completely submerged and I thought I was a goner when somehow the water must have freed up the pulley and it gave me two full strokes as I lurched onto the bank into the arms of my mentor and to the loudest cheer a backmarker could ever receive. I was an instant hero and after much backslapping and some lube I set off on my way to the Eagle Run and a long day in the saddle. This is adventure not racing!

I have a different take on this race and the conditions we had to ride in. For me this was a true test of my riding ability , my fitness, my bike and my strength of character.

Day one was by far the worst conditions that I had ever attempted on a MTB. My problems (and believe me I was not alone) started within the first 5 kms when I started experiencing chain suck, something I have never experienced on this particular bike. What I did not know was that the bottom pulley of my rear dérailleur had started seizing. My entry on the bridge at Lake Olaf was greeted by the spectators and photographers with the normal polite cheer and then the worst chain suck struck. One stroke forward half a stroke back to release the chain suck, I was slowing down dramatically and by the time I hit the middle of the bridge all my entry momentum was lost. I was going to have my first swim on a bridge ever "Pedal Boet Pedal!" was the encouragement from the opposite bank. Half a stroke forward, half a stroke back meant that I was going even slower. If half a stroke was all I had I knew I had to make it count, I tried to increase the cadence of what must half looked like a poor rendition of a Michael Jackson's moonwalk. By the time I had crossed two thirds of the bridge my mentor realised my predicament " He's got chain suck and can't pedal!" He announced to the motley group on the opposite side, the lady with the pink umbrella had look on her face that reflected both horror and amusement as she was anticipating her first swimmer of the day, out came the camera! Half a stroke, half a stroke , I was sinking with the bank mere meters away "keeping going Boet, you'll make it!" My back wheel was now completely submerged and I thought I was a goner when somehow the water must have freed up the pulley and it gave me two full strokes as I lurched onto the bank into the arms of my mentor and to the loudest cheer a backmarker could ever receive. I was an instant hero and after much backslapping and some lube I set off on my way to the Eagle Run and a long day in the saddle. This is adventure not racing!

Yip, that is how it was.......great write-up of the conditions that were encountered.

Bike got the lube treatment everyday......pre- and post ride. Everything and anything that moved or had to move were coated with one (or a combination) of the following:

post-41755-0-88632200-1418882048_thumb.jpg

post-41755-0-46335800-1418882034.png

post-41755-0-14351700-1418882095_thumb.jpg

post-41755-0-40515600-1418882016_thumb.jpg

Even cleats and pedals got the treatment. Must say that I am pleased at how these products held up in those conditions.

I have been doing this race for 5 years. The rider numbers have been falling since they made the main race shorter. The idea of combining the race with a family holiday does not seem to be working either.  

There are very few stage races close to Johannesburg with proper climbing and challenging trails. I think this is the niche SabieX should exploit. Move the race 1 month earlier, make the days longer (75 - 100kms), and make the race the challenge it deserves to be.

Ouch, sounds like you had some "fun" out there.  I agree with the "test of character, skills, etc.".  I don't debate that!  Day 1 was indeed the worst conditions for me on a MTB as well - came off the bike 3 times - luckily at low speeds (wheels just slipping & sliding all over the place).

I also understand that MTbikes are made to be ridden and one cannot "worry" too much about the bike - they are tough.  My point however is also... it costs money to keep a bike in tip-top condition to avoid bearings from seizing and keep forks & shocks working well.  Most people will probably not service forks & shocks after this race and they might pay the price in future - having to replace stantions.  I however will service most of my bike myself and probably take the shock & fork to my LBS for a service.  So, for me it's relatively cheap as I can do most myself.  But for AVG Jo Soap, a service after this weekend will set you back R1000 to R1500 or more if bearings needs to be replaced, etc. etc.  Hence me thinking that the numbers of this race will keep on declining.

So, even though I fully agree with you in terms of the race, the challenge, etc. etc. I just wonder if the "test for character" is worth the money spend afterwards to be able to keep "testing that character" :whistling:

But, well done on doing the 4 days RR. On Tue when we left I felt sorry for you guys... having rained all night Monday night and Tue I though another day like Saturday would really suck!

Well personally I think this test of character and all its cost were woth it and trust me I've already been paying new hanger , chain , front XT brakes.

And I'm not the kind to part easily with my cash. But where else can you do a 4 day stage race for R2500. I also think if they made it longer in these conditions it might be a bit too challenging for me.

This race will never be a sani because the terrain is harsher than the masses are prepared to tackle & unless they had big budget to market it it just won't grow very fast.