CY 187 761 Mazda Double Cab

Guest Smimby

So you've never spoken on your mobile whilst driving I presume  <_<  

Please read again why I posted here.....his reaction to my comment not the action....how we react when we know we are in the wrong.....

I commute on a daily basis and can tell you a KM away who is on their phone. I stopped doing that decades ago...it is dangerous, 

• Replies 236

We are all in the wrong at some time, 

That's my point.

It would infuriate me no end if some self-righteous pr*ck gave me an earful for doing so when, in all likelihood, he's just done the same thing. 

When I make a mistake on the roads I smile, wave and apologise. 99/100 its met with the same. Not much effort to cool the anger out there....

And quite right too Mike. Most of us apologise when we've made a mistake on the roads (cutting someone off etc.).

But I'll guarantee that you don't smile and wave to all and sundry around you every time you've made a call on your phone while stationary at a traffic light.

Dude, I feel your frustration, absolutely infuriates me when people talk on cellphones while driving and I am also outspoken at times bla bla bla etc etc. 

UNFORTUNATELY we deal with a bunch of looneys..... Been there done that. Not worth the effort in the bigger scheme of things. Reality is that he will be on the Tygerburger net week, week after described as a loving father, husband etc etc and we should all feel sorry for him/them after he passes away in a car crash... He made a decision, consequences will come....

What worries me most is the threats to you, okes like that have issues, be careful. 

Also, you/we don't know what went on in his life today, could be stressed as we all are.... Just said the wrong thing at the wrong time to the wrong person. 

Let it go, you know that this will only get worse for you and the oke will not apologise. Sad reality.

See you on the trails...

The "well I am sure you do it too" is not a reason or excuse either.

Just because other people break the law, does not mean its ok for you too.

Something similar happened to me a few days ago, when a large bakkie (bakkie driving behavior could be a lekker topic for tomorrow :) )  almost ran me over with a driver who was on his cellphone, I also gestured for him to get off his phone and was met by a barrage of verbal insults and physical threats. When I said to him "But dude, out of the two of us, you are the one breaking the law, why are you shouting at me" it got worse..... So I took out my cell and took of pic of him, to which he sped off very quickly.....

I could never comprehend people getting angry when THEY are breaking the law.

And quite right too Mike. Most of us apologise when we've made a mistake on the roads (cutting someone off etc.).

But I'll guarantee that you don't smile and wave to all and sundry around you every time you've made a call on your phone while stationary at a traffic light.

Traffic light is only red for a few seconds. that call probably started before he stopped and ended after he pulled away.

Seems according to some hubbers here it's OK to break the law AND NOT socially acceptable to point out to someone that he is breaking the law.

IMO one of the biggest problems we have on our roads is that it is not frowned upon or unacceptable to break the law, if we get caught speeding & talking on our cellphones we are just unlucky, not wrong.

Good on you Smimby, I wish I had the guts to confront law breakers like you did

Dear Sir

You were standing at a red traffic light and talking on your cell phone as I cycled past and said

“Please put your phone down, it is illegal”

You hooted like crazy and then proceeded drive up next to me asking if I was a traffic cop, and that it has nothing to do with me etc.

At this time your phone was laying on your lap and you were not wearing your safety belt. (wonder what will happen if your phone falls to the floor, and you look down ???)

I pointed out that you are now disobeying two laws, and your response to this comment is why I am posting here.

“I also ride a mountain bike and I know your face will find you”

Well sir, my if you read this you are welcome to contact me as my details are on my profile.

Let’s quickly look as this situation.

If you are talking on your cell at the RED traffic light and you have not finished your conversation you are MORE than likely going to carry on.

If you are not wearing your safety belt you are clearly not worried about YOUR safe and hence will not be worried about anyone elses safety.

It is NOT just up the law enforcement to make our roads safer, as PPA would then not have done the 1.5m (which by the way you and your kids benefit from)

So why get angry and threaten me to find me on the trails? Just say sorry and move on.

Edit: Dick, do you drive a Mazda?

Howzit dude, no I don't and no I will not come looking for you, not for this or anything. Seems like I have quite a serious reputation now. 

By the way if you have any other grievances or anger issues and need someone to vent on I am you man. 

I will not take it personally.

The "well I am sure you do it too" is not a reason or excuse either.

Just because other people break the law, does not mean its ok for you too.

Something similar happened to me a few days ago, when a large bakkie (bakkie driving behavior could be a lekker topic for tomorrow :) )  almost ran me over with a driver who was on his cellphone, I also gestured for him to get off his phone and was met by a barrage of verbal insults and physical threats. When I said to him "But dude, out of the two of us, you are the one breaking the law, why are you shouting at me" it got worse..... So I took out my cell and took of pic of him, to which he sped off very quickly.....

I could never comprehend people getting angry when THEY are breaking the law.

The pic move works a charm, best way to shut someone up or stop them dead in their tracks.

I have to ask this.....................if he was waiting at a red light and you cycled past him.

Did you run a red light?

Could have had cars in from of him queuing for the lights...

Traffic light is only red for a few seconds. that call probably started before he stopped and ended after he pulled away.

Seems according to some hubbers here it's OK to break the law AND NOT socially acceptable to point out to someone that he is breaking the law.

IMO one of the biggest problems we have on our roads is that it is not frowned upon or unacceptable to break the law, if we get caught speeding & talking on our cellphones we are just unlucky, not wrong.

Good on you Smimby, I wish I had the guts to confront law breakers like you did

Thanks, I try....I have stopped in my car and told someone to pick up the plastic packet they just chucked on the ground, and walk the 3m to the bin....

Just trying to make our country a nicer place to live in....I always ask, would you please put that packet in the bin...Please don't chuck your cigarette out, and did you know that in the Western Cape there is a law against it.... Most of the time I get a "sorry I did not know" and then we both smile and have a lekker day......

I believe it is up to all of us to try and make things better, just like the TBMTBC should not only rely on their marshals but on every club member to report abuse and illegal riding etc. It is OUR trails and OUT country.

Howzit dude, no I don't and no I will not come looking for you, not for this or anything. Seems like I have quite a serious reputation now. 

By the way if you have any other grievances or anger issues and need someone to vent on I am you man. 

I will not take it personally.

Dick, don't worry dude. Mr Smimby obviously lacks a bit of common sense. We all know that if it was you in the Mazda, you wouldn't have had any number plates on it.   :ph34r:

Is it that time of the month for you? You seem to have so much aggression. Are you on holiday in our Cape Town? Did you borrow your mates bakkie this am? Is it a Mazda??

My menses, and subsequent moodiness, are brought on prematurely when I'm confronted by such warm and fuzzy, self-righteous smugness.

But for sure dude, in laid-back Cape Town, it must be normal for people to apologise profusely and give grovelling assurances that they will never do it again when someone shoves their head through the car window to tell them to get off the phone. 

I have to ask this.....................if he was waiting at a red light and you cycled past him.

Did you run a red light?

Nope, it was a crossing he was infront and I was crossing on my green just next to the pedestrian crossing and his window was open.

Ha Ha, to those pointing fingers I can with all certainty say the last time I spoke on the phone while driving was when the nokia bricks were still around!! These days if a buy a vehicle I will only take delivery if a blue tooth system is installed.

If not, I'm in for a flaming from the hub guys :whistling: