Overtaking - Skill levels, busy parks and manicured single track

PhdotD

Methods for passing on singletrack:

1. Ride as closely as possible to the person in front of you - occasionally touch their rear wheel;
  2. Buy a Hope rear hub and freewheel the whole time, even backpedal to increase effect;
  3. Loudly clear your throat;
  4. Comment on their riding skill;
  5. Once they are gatvol for you and get out of the way, pass them as closely as possible and give a lekker spit - asserting your dominance.
  • Replies 293

Women and kids you just ride over. Small guys you ask to move. Big okes you sit behind them and make peace with the situation.

Fast girls you bite their ass and hang on....

Should have fitted that kling kling bell, a ringing bell if rung correctly (ting ting as opposed to TJING TJINNNGGG) from 50 - 100 meters away will give the slower riders time to see the potential threat you pose and find space to allow you to pass.

or they might ask what kind of ice cream you selling

If a rider crashing through the bush to pass you, on manicured, un-technical single track,

Actually this is just WRONG - creates erosion and destroy the natural flora/fauna and ultimately leads to singletrack converting into jeep track....... rather go ride on tar ..... look after the trails...

Were you wearing knee and elbow guards for a ride at NF?

I also have a feeling this was the oke in the incident with Barbie.

I have NO IDEA why he would be wearing even knee gaurds there, not even to mention elbow gaurds. There is way too much peddalling to do with such uncomfortable things (trying to avoid saying what I really want to say)...

To the OP...maybe you could have just stopped and give them time to ride on if you really wanted to sprint that section...also please dont wear such protection on a normal morning "distance ride"...it waists all the efforts I have done in the last few months by fighting with race organisers of enduro and dh to let us wear less protection because it is uncomfortable and takes my attention away from the actual riding..cause when they look at folk like you they go "but there are people that are fine with wearing it on "distance rides" even.

Sorry if  it feels like I am attacking you, I think I actually saw you the day at the Hakahana Enduro too, but when I saw the incident you caused with MTB-Barbie and her family I just shook my head because this gives 'Enduro riders' the same bad status as "Strava racing snakes"...the get-out-of-my-way-or-I-will-ride-you-over :thumbdown:

Also try ride places like Hakahana...not too many people there to get in your way and it will be good practice too.

If a rider crashing through the bush to pass you, on manicured, un-technical single track,

Actually this is just WRONG - creates erosion and destroy the natural flora/fauna and ultimately leads to singletrack converting into jeep track....... rather go ride on tar ..... look after the trails...

I agree...toooo many double lanes in the bushes already.

So I had an incident at Northern Farms this weekend. It was ridiculously busy (new year resolutions in full swing) and I should've just left. Nevertheless, it was late in the morning and I expected most to be returning from the ride.

I don't consider a single element of NF to be technical and rate it as easy and 'manicured' and generally go there for two reasons, distance and convenience.

Whilst going through some single track (known as blue gum single track on strava) i caught some VERY slow riders and informed them of my intention to overtake as well as on which side to expect me to be coming passed on. This seemed to cause a lot derision in the group of riders, with one of them complaining they "nearly" fell over and one protesting that "it's single track and passing isn't allowed"

Really? not according to the IMBA

My thoughts are this.

The average mountain biker in this country needs to re-assess their skill levels and be honest with themselves about their skill and ride where applicable (dirt roads). If a rider crashing through the bush to pass you, on manicured, un-technical single track, "nearly"makes you fall over, after a clear and full warning that it was to take place, you shouldn't be riding there.

Thoughts and opinions please on what I'm sure is a hornets nest waiting to be kicked

post-63868-0-10010100-1421148679_thumb.jpg

Maybe stop riding places like NF and ride more Hakahana and van Gaalens dagga pad etc.

My thoughts exactly. OP you come across as a teenager swimming in the kiddies pool, complaining that the water is warm.

EDIT: Pool, not poop :lol:

:o

Fast girls dont have an ass....

Are you telling me you are not fast?????

Just wait for me at the bottom of the hill honey - I will eventually catch up. :)

Fast girls you bite their ass and hang on....

YOU ON A ROLL TODAY

F... all else to do.... spent the morning dressed in plastic with a portable air-con.... 2 more days and I am done... :)

BTW - DO NOT follow HA down a hill....  :)