bikes stolen in cape town

velomonatiCT

I notice that some very expensive bikes were stolen off  bike racks from cars parked at the finish of the Epic. No mention is made whether bikes were locked with a proper lock or were in a secured area. While I feel bad for anyone who lost a bike, I still think we make it too easy for the scum, that is why they are attracted to these race venues.

It is time to harden our attitudes.

Look after your bike yourself, all the time, lock 2 or 3 bikes together even in the secure bike park, never leave them alone on a bike rack in the car park. Someone trying to drag a bundle of locked bikes away will attract attention. Someone removing a single bike off the car and walking away with it will not. Bike racks that can be removed from the tow-ball with a minimum of fuss are not to be trusted. Most bike rack locks cannot be trusted. Keep in mind that the baddies are probably dressed to fit in and are most likely cyclists themselves. 

To this end, when I get my towbar and rack, I'm probably just going to ask for the plate with 4 bolt holes, and get a custom collapsible rack manufactured for me (there's a few metalwork places that can do it) that stays on there the whole time. Fasten it to the towbar and cover the bolts in epoxy or weld them together so that they can't be removed. 

Then get one moer of a lock, and put it on whenever my bike is on the back. I'm not talking about a 5mm strip of threaded stainless, I'm talking frikkin massive, and with proper locking tabs that go over the rims to keep it secure. May be overdoing it, but I like over-engineering stuff and if it keeps my bike safe, well then it's worth it. 

• Replies 64

There are some interesting ideas incorporated in that design.

I like the inclusion of what looks like Kevlar fibre, which clogs whatever cutting tool you try. I also like the neoprene casing that prevents scratches and the Velcro that makes it easy to attach it in a neat and tidy way to the top tube. It must be pretty close to the ideal chain for the commuter.

My only worry is about the security of the lock. Better use the mother of all "uncuttable" padlocks or that will be the weak point.

There are some interesting ideas incorporated in that design.

I like the inclusion of what looks like Kevlar fibre, which clogs whatever cutting tool you try. I also like the neoprene casing that prevents scratches and the Velcro that makes it easy to attach it in a neat and tidy way to the top tube. It must be pretty close to the ideal chain for the commuter.

My only worry is about the security of the lock. Better use the mother of all "uncuttable" padlocks or that will be the weak point.

like this...

Well my bikes has been stolen out of garage twice in last 14 months. Now the insurance tells me they will not cover any more bikes stolen from my property. They still expect me to pay the R500+ monthly premium on them.....................

Honestly I don't think you can keep bikes in a garage in capetown these days. It really does seem a case of when not if they will be stolen.

I am not saying that this is fail safe (obviously), but what I have done is locked my bikes to the floor in my garage in Cape Town. I bought two thick dropper posts, bent them in half into U's, drilled two sets of deep holes next to the wall (so that one cannot get leverage under them with a crowbar), filled the holes with silicone cement and then hammered in the U's until 50mm was left above ground (with about 450mm below ground).

I then have a thick cable and heavy duty lock running through the two loops on the floor and through my bikes.

They will need an angle grinder to get them out, but at least it stops gangs quickly flipping open your garage and grabbing your bikes.  

A bike belongs in the house! I'd rather have my bike in the house than the missus! :ph34r:  :ph34r:

They will need an angle grinder to get them out, but at least it stops gangs quickly flipping open your garage and grabbing your bikes.  

You referring to the angle grinder that sits in the cupboard on the other side of the garage with all your other power tools?  And the extension cord  with power point by the door.

Just make sure you leave them the disc spanner so they can fit the correct grinder disk  :devil:

A bike belongs in the house! I'd rather have my bike in the house than the missus! :ph34r: :ph34r:

That debate has raged a while in our house too.

I got sneaky by borrowing a really expensive bike and justifying keeping it in the house because "it's not mine and worth a fortune ", over a period of days a strange stop motion kind of thing happened as the bike took barely perceptible steps closer and closer before finally taking up residence in the bedroom...

Then when that bike went back and mine replaced it the wife had become used to a bike parked next to the bed. A win for me [emoji1]

I notice that some very expensive bikes were stolen off  bike racks from cars parked at the finish of the Epic. No mention is made whether bikes were locked with a proper lock or were in a secured area. While I feel bad for anyone who lost a bike, I still think we make it too easy for the scum, that is why they are attracted to these race venues.

It is time to harden our attitudes.

Look after your bike yourself, all the time, lock 2 or 3 bikes together even in the secure bike park, never leave them alone on a bike rack in the car park. Someone trying to drag a bundle of locked bikes away will attract attention. Someone removing a single bike off the car and walking away with it will not. Bike racks that can be removed from the tow-ball with a minimum of fuss are not to be trusted. Most bike rack locks cannot be trusted. Keep in mind that the baddies are probably dressed to fit in and are most likely cyclists themselves. 

Thanks for the thread.  to answer your question - our bike stolen at the Epic at Meerendal was locked onto rear rack and locked onto the rear wheel of the landrover.  Bolt cutters were used, clearly being brought to the event for one purpose.

I would love to cut some nuts off, i must say! 

Thanks for the thread.  to answer your question - our bike stolen at the Epic at Meerendal was locked onto rear rack and locked onto the rear wheel of the landrover.  Bolt cutters were used, clearly being brought to the event for one purpose.

Hi my fellow Landy brother, I'll supply the nut-cutters and come help if you catch the thief!

How about setting up a sting operation to catch the guys at one of the events - I'm sure there is maybe a handful of them that do these jobs.

Thanks for the thread. to answer your question - our bike stolen at the Epic at Meerendal was locked onto rear rack and locked onto the rear wheel of the landrover. Bolt cutters were used, clearly being brought to the event for one purpose.

After all the effort to lock things up securely that's really rough, were they locked with chains or steel rope? They also use cordless angle grinders nowadays to cut locks and chains off, nothing is really safe anymore even those kryptonite U lock things can be cut off in a jiffy.

My bikes does not leave my sight.

At an event it goes into the SUV.

At home in the garage its gets locks back to front with another bike with cables through the wheels so it cannot be rolled or ridden away.

Then it gets locked to the wall, just in case some skelm has a remote for my garage door or busts the garage doors.

That's the best I can do. 

For the rest the insurance must stand proud.

• 4 weeks later...

My bikes does not leave my sight.

At an event it goes into the SUV.

At home in the garage its gets locks back to front with another bike with cables through the wheels so it cannot be rolled or ridden away.

Then it gets locked to the wall, just in case some skelm has a remote for my garage door or busts the garage doors.

That's the best I can do. 

For the rest the insurance must stand proud.

Found:    Our cannondale flash ultimate bike stolen at epic finish has turned up - at cash converters kuils river.   Perhaps the offer of a reward helped!

What is truly annoying is that Cash Converters apparently didn't take copy of ID or have camera footage of the transaction as required by law, due to "load shedding".  I mean why no use cellphone to copying.    I don't see this as any excuse for dealing in stolen property!  

Perhaps when we lay charges the ID will turn up!