Bestmed Satellite Road Clssic

Bianchisti

• Replies 306

Have done the 80km version a couple of times, which is largely common to the 106km, and enjoyed it.

Fast run to the bottom of the Hekpoort pass, rolling hills on the 106km loop, and then grind your way up the pass and the hill to the satellites themselves and then rolling hills down to the finish.

The start/finish venue is quite busy and I see they'll have more adjoining parking available this year which may help?

A tip: if you manage to get served at the bar, buy a 6-pack!

I really enjoy this race, relatively flat and easy first 70km that is followed by the long Hekpoort climb and fairly tough undulating roads till the end. Do it!!! ;)

Nice race. As mentioned - if you sit in a group you can get the first 75km done without too much effort...

...but all hell normally breaks loose up Hekpoort.  Bring your climbing legs, and if you manage to break from the bunch, be prepared to TT the last 25km of undulations.

Venue is ok. We had issues getting food after the race last year, so don't expect a great meal.

Sad that its on the same weekend as Amashova this year, don't know how that planning worked.

Agreed... i haven't decided which one to do. 

Wife wants a weekend away in durban so probably going to go down for shova but i was also quite keen to do satellite again.

Poor planning from all organisers

A very lekker race, and one that paints a true picture of how fit you are when you get to KAKpoort, and that last little drag to the finish.... you can't "freeload" your way to a good finish here.

I think its almost nicer than sitting is huge skittish bunches down those hills in Durban.

A very lekker race, and one that paints a true picture of how fit you are when you get to KAKpoort, and that last little drag to the finish.... you can't "freeload" your way to a good finish here.

I think its almost nicer than sitting is huge skittish bunches down those hills in Durban.

Do tell more re Amashova? I was thinking of doing Amashova but apart from the tick-value, do you think Satellite (80 or 110km) is a better training assessment race?

Eish, not sure how to answer this without annoying somebody....

The Shova is cool (I only did it once a few years back in C or D batch) and didnt enjoy it as me and another dude dragged about 100 people through the valley and once on the highway downhills it became very fast and hairy, shuffling a large group at high speeds is never fun. However, it will probably be a different experience in VA (especially at the pointy end where you ride ;) )

The satellite I think is one of the better races to see how you have progressed your training, due to its profile as well as the fact that the last 35km are interesting, false flats, bumps cross winds etc, and also that it usually has a strong field, but this could change with it being Shova weekend.

Thanks for the confirmation :thumbup: , that is exactly one of the reasons I entered - will give me a good indication of how fit I am especially with the 94.7 being around the corner

The Shova is cool (I only did it once a few years back in C or D batch) and didnt enjoy it as me and another dude dragged about 100 people through the valley and once on the highway downhills it became very fast and hairy, shuffling a large group at high speeds is never fun. However, it will probably be a different experience in VA (especially at the pointy end where you ride ;) )

Me in VA? Not even close! Perhaps you've got me confused with someone else with.....talent, capability, low % body fat, the money to purchase 'supplements'.....???

Hahaha sorry. My bad, 2 x Flying Scots ;)

Entered for Shova....nice weekend away full road closure and all. Pro's will do both Satellite & Shova, us normal okes need to choose.

They should have had it two weekends before 94.7 would have been great! 

Hard to guess....a few thousand?? What does Racetec say for last year?

Aah. Good idea.

1000 strong according to Racetec. Think I will do this and spare myself the travel down to Shova.