Gauteng hub ride

nellie

Hey...

Following on a topic posted by Blondeonabike...how about organising a few coffee rides?

94.7's over now, and except for the peeps heading down for the Double Century this weekend, racing's pretty much done for the year...

Saturday's predicted weather forecast seems to not be too bad, so how about having all the ladies head out for a coffee ride this weekend?

I'm relatively new to Gauteng and we mostly go train in the Cradle or around Hartbeespoort... Our usual route around Harties isn't really suited for very large groups, as the road gets pretty narrow at places with quite a bit of traffic over weekends... So i was thinking Cradle - nice wide yellow line specifically for cyclists. The other safer, quieter option that i know about is out Meyerton side, althouh that might be a bit further out for most people?

So - votes / suggestions? Following on the weekend's twitter ride i think that 40-odd kms is a relatively okay distance to allow newbies and less fit / experienced riders to enjoy the ride too?

I'd suggest 7am in the Cradle this Saturday, unless anyone else has a nicer route and coffee spot in mind? (As i said...relatively new to the area, so my route-library could definitely use some new suggestions for safe riding options)

So..who's in? Nice girls day out... put names to faces and get to meet some new people - followed by breakfast and coffee?

**FURTHER EDIT: 7am, starting from Makiti... On the road going to the Sterkfontein caves from the Lion Park side...riding in, doing the +/-28km loop and then ending back there for coffee and waffles / your choice of breakfast...

Edited by nellie

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Awesome idea!! Unfortunately I am running Tough One on Sunday, and I need to rest the legs. I will definitely join you next time.

I'll be there......wait......do you have to be a girl?