carbon29er Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Despite it being Friday, I'm not biting. Stop worrying about other people, their kit and their bikes.Only worth biting if you think your comment wasn't one I agreed with. But then again when I look at what you wrote I wonder how many guys from B bunch down have team mates up the road in a fun ride or even a CSA sanctioned "race". OP clearly asked opinions on whether or not it's ok in the context "Now, when you are riding/racing in the more intense batches (vets, A, B etc.), riders have different goals. More often than not, one just wants to finish with the bunch". Not pro riding where we all think it is OK.
Pure Savage Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 So...Wheel Sucking: Here is the story, During a ride this week as we approached a very famous climb in CT per accident found myself behind a very famous HUB member waiting for the robot to change Green. As the Robot was about the change another cyclist from the opposite direction started the climb ahead of both of us, we then charged along ,closed the gap and Wheel Sucked him dry, when he eventually popped we passed him and I sat behind my fellow hub friend until he popped and then passed him. So on this Wheel Sucking Debate ...how do you guys see that?Was I a sucker... bear in mind front guys did pop meaning they were trying to ride me offShould I have gone to the front and do my share? Climb length +- 5/6min depending on WPKGHey!! I was recovering from a hang over!!! Half way up I had burnt off the Shiraz and when you came round I was half way through the Tequila from Wednesday night! I didn't think it wheel sucking. And yes I was trying to ride you off my wheel Also it was a tail wind so slip was not massive. (I was in my secret training kit, how did you spot me )
Patchelicious Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 3 wise men quoted above. You chose them. The only sport where most participants compare themselves to pros on a daily basis. Sure we can ride the same routes that they ride, on mostly the same kit and can even dress like they do. Yes it's surprising how many fat okes I see in full Sky kit square pedalling their Pinarello F8s up Suikerbossie. But we are not them. There is a massive difference between even the weakest pro and the best A batch rider. Never mind those of us further down the index. Anyone know Yet we pretend to race based on how the pros do it. Anyone know William Robinson?What a loser, the F8s are soooooooooo 20 minutes ago!
Fat Boab Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Yet we pretend to race based on how the pros do it. Anyone know William Robinson? This one?
carbon29er Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 William Robinson that rides for Pure Savage Bigger claim to fame than that. He won the 2016 Cape Town Cycle Tour. 1J batch. And joined the 3 dead club. But apart from you I wonder how many of the other race strategists knew he won the CTCT in 2016.
Pure Savage Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Bigger claim to fame than that. He won the 2016 Cape Town Cycle Tour. 1J batch. And joined the 3 dead club. But apart from you I wonder how many of the other race strategists knew he won the CTCT in 2016. Well, he has also taken KOM's at the giro del Capo. I also have a 3 dead He also has won a the red hill trail marathons The boy is lekker strong and great fun to ride with. Also this weekend he was just behind two world tour riders up Chappies https://www.strava.com/segments/3211261?filter=overall I still think his biggest claim to fame is riding for Savage Pic of him dishing out pain for five hours during the DC
carbon29er Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Well, he has also taken KOM's at the giro del Capo. I also have a 3 dead He also has won a the red hill trail marathons The boy is lekker strong and great fun to ride with. Also this weekend he was just behind two world tour riders up Chappies https://www.strava.com/segments/3211261?filter=overall I still think his biggest claim to fame is riding for Savage IMG_0965.JPG Pic of him dishing out pain for five hours during the DC I guess I could have chosen the winner of 1K or 2A but they didn't do a 3 dead. By 3 seconds. I wonder if he would have preferred a sub 3 to winning his batch. Out of interest for all his other impressive achievements did you remember he won 1J in 2016? That was the point I was trying to make about sitting slip for 109kms and jumping for the sprint. PS William Robinson won by minutes. 3 hour ITT to do that from 1J.
carbon29er Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 What a loser, the F8s are soooooooooo 20 minutes ago!I've been told not to worry about other people, what they wear or what they ride. I guess that precludes me from posting the video of the 100+ kg guy carrying lots of spare tubes on his aforementioned steed in the aforementioned team kit, but this time in white as GB road race champion. Walking up the hill. Even the pants were white.
Pure Savage Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 I guess I could have chosen the winner of 1K or 2A but they didn't do a 3 dead. By 3 seconds. I wonder if he would have preferred a sub 3 to winning his batch. Out of interest for all his other impressive achievements did you remember he won 1J in 2016? That was the point I was trying to make about sitting slip for 109kms and jumping for the sprint. PS William Robinson won by minutes. 3 hour ITT to do that from 1J. Yup, he also did it in 2015 and 2014. He loves a good ITT!
Gonduir Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Personally i get upset if someone come from nowhere and sits on my wheel. If they approach me and ask if we can work together i don't mind then but if they just come, sit on my wheel and then piss off. That's what makes me upset.
Fat Boab Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 I've been told not to worry about other people, what they wear or what they ride. I guess that precludes me from posting the video of the 100+ kg guy carrying lots of spare tubes on his aforementioned steed in the aforementioned team kit, but this time in white as GB road race champion. Walking up the hill. Even the pants were white. It didn't happen, if there ain't no fotties! (We all like a bit of schadenfreude....)
Nibali Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Quick question. What are the rules on wheel sucking if you a smaller, less powerful, Louis Meintjies type of rider? Will it be overlooked by the peloton or will it still be frowned upon? As a fellow lightweight, I can say this. You always do your turn up front. If you are knackered, tell the guys you're sitting in 2/3 turns. Then repeat. Even if you do half the time the Boeing kickstarters do on the front, do your pulls on the front. The ride just gets so much more rewarding because of it. And it's awesome if instead of trying to drop you, the big okes ride with you in a break. Do it once, it's addictive.
rattlesnake Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 So to sum this debate up .... D-E-B-A-T-E (where people with differing views on various subjects try to convince others that their view is correct).... without "Blapping" "moering" or insulting ... 1. If you're a pro you can unashamedly wheelsuck2. If your licensed and not a pro it depends who you're speaking to and the circumstances... and3. If you ride open seeded don't even think about wheel sucking because the loud typing folk of hubland will most likely use the opportunity to blap, moer or insult you... That about sum up the consensus here? Friday flame suit on!
Pikey Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 As a fellow lightweight, I can say this. You always do your turn up front. If you are knackered, tell the guys you're sitting in 2/3 turns. Then repeat. Even if you do half the time the Boeing kickstarters do on the front, do your pulls on the front. The ride just gets so much more rewarding because of it. And it's awesome if instead of trying to drop you, the big okes ride with you in a break. Do it once, it's addictive.cool,good tip. I like that .have to get used to speaking up.
Patchelicious Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 So to sum this debate up .... D-E-B-A-T-E (where people with differing views on various subjects try to convince others that their view is correct).... without "Blapping" "moering" or insulting ... 1. If you're a pro you can unashamedly wheelsuck2. If your licensed and not a pro it depends who you're speaking to; and3. If you ride open seeded don't even think about wheel sucking because the loud typing folk of hubland will most likely use the opportunity to blap, moer or insult you... That about sum up the consensus here? Friday flame suit on!Its usually better to not insult the people that you are trying to preach rationality too. And BTW, in some cultures, a good blap, is a sign of respect.
rattlesnake Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Its usually better to not insult the people that you are trying to preach rationality too. And BTW, in some cultures, a good blap, is a sign of respect."Loud typing" is an insult!? Perhaps I should have used the words "more vocal" instead? My bad.