[Event] The 36ONE MTB Challenge 2018

Tanya De Abreu Fernandes

On a negative note. What was it with this stone throwing incident(s) on Friday night after CP1?  I saw a visitors post on FB and the person was very disgruntled with 36One organisers and -and because of one of the incidents of stone throwing and the handling of cutoff times etc. 

Not good. I've only had/have good things to say about this race. Still do.

Its a pity  :mellow:

Seeing that I finished so late, my wife told me about the woman was ranting as her husband was picked up by the sweep.  Pity she does not put any times in her post. i.e. when did they leave Calitzdorp and at what time and where were they picked up by the sweep.  There is some information missing that would give a more complete picture.

No quite second hand info, but from I heard they may have no been aware of the interim cut-offs (it was 22:00 at 310 km, which they had not made).   The focus was on finishing by 6am.

We were at the last wp at about 23:38, and at that stage they had already been picked up.  There was no threat to us being picked up and we were even "escorted" in by a bakkie on the final tar stretch.

We were passed a number of times by the medic(s) on the quad bikes on the stretch between Calitzdorp and last wp, so difficult to comment on that one.

It is good to help a fellow-competitor, but in doing so you may have to sacrifice your own race / time, but is it then fair to rant against the event / event organiser if (pre published rules) are applied?

On a more positive note, the braaibroodjie at the Rooiberg waterpoint was a winner :thumbup:

• Replies 297

I enjoyed the race.

My hand is still numb though and I have rear that only a baboon could love!!

Hopefully I can get through the Swartberg 100 on Saturday!

You are a sucker for punishment.  Respect!!

pulled out just before CP1 (i think)

edit:

Is that a light specific helmet?

Jean Biermans (@JeankieStyle74) Tweeted:

Unfortunately I had a real offday on the bike @The36ONE I'm talking about, no power at all,shivering, sweating,stomach cramp.The doctor pulled me out of the race. but I was not able to go on anyway! I'm sad, disappointed and can't place it.but life goes on,how hard it is to me. https://t.co/XUqX0gp6XV https://twitter.com/JeankieStyle74/status/988437951003725825?s=17

WOW , What a awesome Race . . . ride . . . 

I had a severe bad patch between 128 km and 152 km to WP 5. I had thoughts of every possible excuse to quit . . . At WP 5 there were a festive vibe and great people and even a young farmer's boy ( Henko ) lubed my chain , got me a coffee . . . 

I spent quite a while at this water point "gathering" myself which surely got the mindset right and off I went.  

I registered temps of 3 degrees just before sunrise to WP8 and after CP3 up to 36 degrees.

Sho , the last stretch was testing and with the heat of the day I made many stops and spent time at the last 2 water points  - finally came in at 16:37 PM ( jumped in the pool , took a shower and went to bed by 17:30) 

Took the bike out yesterday and rode the Swartberg pass -  that is beautiful and the wind were howling. The gravel roads looks mostly good as tand the Grand Fondo would be interesting this weekend . . . Good luck to all participating  . . . I will not  . . . 

Be Blessed !

which means more dark and less hot  :clap:  :clap:  :clap:

edit: and a full moon

....but also more cold?

my dikgat werk beter as dit koud is

...and a month more for "training".... :whistling: ...

now I can do Trans Xhariep as well as there is enough recovery time

my dikgat werk beter as dit koud is

now I can do Trans Xhariep as well as there is enough recovery time

and if you dont do a ride report, you will have more time on your hands to train.

I know a oke, who's uncles' brothers mom has a second cousin twice removed from the other side of Admin's family. You know, in case we need to suspend an account or something.

#wedemandridereport

36One 2018

Where to start. 

I had unfished business with the event having pulled out in 2015 due to a slashed tire on the Rooiberg descent. 2017 was to be my comeback year but our bundle of joy decided she wanted to grace us during race week.

So I got myself an early bird entry and a training program.

Training started 31 December 2017 and on race week amounted to 190hours, 3920km and 45048m elevation.

In the process I also raised funds for the McClelland Home in East London

The ride.

The goal was 22h10, but I knew sub 24 was more realistic due to unpredictable race and weather conditions. Race plan was basically ride from WP to WP

Start to Spitskop

I started slow, and right and the back to make sure I don’t get caught up in a balls to the wall start. Once the legs were warm I just settled into a rhythm refusing to look at the Garmin. The sun quickly set and the dust rose. Headlight on I was the idiot that ignored the rules and rode on the right side of the road to try and keep out of the dust and try to find a smoother line.

I had some luigatte (must be roadies) sitting slip on the Schoemanspoort road who refused to take a turn up front. I eventually went off the tar and let them pass.

The waterpoint was nice and festive, I had a quick sunnies rinse (the first of many) a bottle fill grabbed a banana and hit the road.

Spitskop to Dysselsdorp

Not long after the waterpoint we started hitting the downhill and manne is dit nou lekker. Avg speed jumped from 18 to 26kph.

At some point we got onto a sandy jeep track section and (for me) a new railway section. I did not expect this and the sand almost caught me out, luckily some oke on a grey Scott  :whistling: wiped out and I managed to avoid a real bad section.

Just before the checkpoint another bunch formed, but this time we worked together nicely. There was even a dude on a rigid SS doing a few pulls (the two of us eventually broke away).

Dysselsdorp to Scheeperskraal 

The checkpoint was like an open air party under the stadium lights (much better than the old CP). I racked my bike and went to have my box handed to me (much easier process with the Dryland crew sorting them beforehand and going to fetch them for you). I put on my warm kit, grabbed some soup and date balls (yum).

Got back to my bike and realised I have some time to spare and went back for some more soup and banana bread (and date balls)

I mounted my bike and met up with a club mate doing the relay and rode with him for a few k’s eventually telling to go (he was going to fast).

It started getting really cold and at one point I stopped to put on my wool gloves and pulled up my buff.

On this stretch I started seeing the first of many jumping rocks, I kid you not, you’re riding and next moment small rocks jump across the road like frogs.

Scheeperskraal to Volstruisvlakte

This (and the next stretch) is somewhat of a blur. I just got into a rhythm and peddled, stopping what felt like every 5min to have a nature break due to the amount of fluids I was taking in compared to lack of sweat.

I thoroughly enjoyed a cup of nescafe at the waterpoint and only after leaving I remembered not thanking the WP volunteers, so if any of you read this, sorry and thank you. Die oom se koffie was lekker!

Volstruisvlakte to Mount Hope

The railway and rock section!!! I’m convinced that this section was put in just to screw with us. The railway riding isn’t that bad but balancing my bike on those rocks with numb hands and feet is no joke.

On the rock section, I’ll reserve comment as this may result in warnings and bans. I found the ride over the dam wall very tricky and at some point dangerous as there aren’t really any markings or landmarks for that matter, making navigation difficult in the dust.

Water point 5 needs a special mention, especially the youngster with the bottle of lube. I think he is still sleeping the way he ran around helping everyone. Kudos young man, your folks are doing a great job. I ate a lot and drank some more coffee here, just because the vibe was so lekker.

I realised that none of the whatsapps I sent my wife went through and sent an SMS to her, knowing that I was ahead of schedule and that she needs a heads up to head to halfway to meet me.

Mount Hope to Volmoed

This was THE COLDEST stretch of the night for me, no matter what I did I just could not get my legs going on the hills. To crown it all my jacket zip got stuck at some point and I couldn’t do it up all the way on the downhills.

Hitting the tar I thought I knew the CP was close, but dammit that tar section draaaaags on forever.

I got to the CP went through the timing check and set about finding my wife.  We met up, I left my bike and she sorted out the bottles, charged the Garmin and sorted out some PROPER (read not instant) coffee. I ran to the tables ate a few (ok A LOT) of date balls and dry wors, got my pasta and coke end went back to the car to unsuccessfully try and warm up. Brekvis (pasta at 04:10?) finished I kissed my wife and set out into the night (did I mention it was cold?)

Volmoed to Paardebont 

Still freezing I started feeling really sleepy and the frogs started jumping even more. I eventually got off the bike to try and wake up and to be honest I was afraid I was going to fall asleep and ride off some mountain.

The sun eventually started showing itself. Local EL legend and RASA blanket wearer (read really knowledgable and experienced) Oom Leon Kruger passed me at one point and I hooked on for some motivation and advise.

The first big climb is the one after the crossing the Gourits River and it is brutal when your legs are already screaming at you due to being cold and tired.

The waterpoint had a lekker fire going and a Hilux providing some Karlien van Jaarsveld. The date balls, coke and banana bread was exceptional as was the prospect of warmer weather (a prospect I severely regretted a few hours later)  

Paardebont to Rooiberg

It got warm quickly after the sun was finally out. I did not want to stop to undress and waste time in the process, which in hindsight was a big mistake.

When I eventually got to the waterpoint I was cooking and could not get undressed quick enough. The volunteer offered to take our kit to the start and Oom Leon swiftly advised to get rid of as much weight as possible. So with my light, batteries, headlight and warm kit safely in a overstuffed (and torn) ziplock I headed up Rooiberg.

This was the first waterpoint were I filled all 3 of my water bottles.

Rooiberg to Calitzdorp

I completely forgot the false start to Rooiberg, but quickly remembered that the real pass start a little further from the waterpoint, which by the way was not where they said it will be.

Had a laugh halfway up as some dude doing the half was complaining that the hill is no steep enough (I really hope he was taking the ****).

I got to the top and sucked dry 2 liters of water, thank goodness they set up the roaming water point.

The slog to Calitzdorp it got difficult as the half okes start passing you and it screws with your mind as your ego wants you to keep up with them.

I hooked up with a dude on a very noisy Specialized and we rode the last 8 or so into Calitzdorp after the route made a millions zig-zags to make up distance.

My missus gave my one look at CP3 and told me I can not go on without having a proper rest. I had my potato salad and sosaties with some date balls and plenty fluids while having some play time with my daughter, who refused to get of my lap despite my toxic stench.

Garmin charged and the last battery taken off the bike, I loaded some new bottels, rinsed my contacts and eyes, which by this time felt like I had 40grit sandpaper stuck to my eyelids and set off into the unkown and by all accounts the most difficult part of the race.

Calitzdorp to Kruisrivier

Heading out past the Boplaas cellar I knew I was in for a long 80km. It was hot and my knees were hurting despite me mumbling “pain is in the brain” to myself (apparently Tim Noakes said it).

This section is qctually “pretty” as you cycle next to river and through some small holdings. I got the idea this is like a Clarens in the Karoo as most of the houses are fancy but closed up.

I got of my bike a lot in this stretch as peddaling uphill became very painful.

I eventually made it to the waterpoint and went straight to the medic after the volunteer tuned me his lube won’t help for my knees. Deep Heat rubbed on and route info obtained and I quote “die bult wat jy nou gedoen het, nog 3 van hulle tot by die volgende waterpunt, maar dis maklik, ek het dit nou die dag gedoen…… op ‘n ebike”

Bottles filled, sunnies cleaned, eyes dropped, symbicord sucked, biogen and dateballs onto the next section of HELL.

Kruisrivier to Lategansvlei

3 hills turned into 4 and a half.

gave away duct tape to dude with broken shoes

Found shade, threw bike down, fell on the ground and rested.

Got up and back on the bike

Swore at medic for not being able to count

Found shade, threw bike down, fell on the ground and rested.

Got to turn off, whoop whoop downhill.

Ja downhill, with headwind, crap

Lategansvlei to FINISH

Stopped at the WP, bottle was still filled, got back on bike

Road surface crap, no momentum

Got to tar, headwind, got off and pushed some more.

Into town, WHERE IS THIS FINISH

Board shown High School, k that’s close to the finish, WHERE IS THIS FINISH

Downhill to the finish, freewheel, kanniemeerniekorporaal

Finishline, Marilene and Carina. Tears

Off bike, thank you prayer.

Photo’s (dammit my bike is heavy)

Cold Castle Lager (LITE is for fatties)

Home

Sleep

Will I go back, hell yes.

I’ve thought about what I did wrong or even where I can improve and I don’t know, maybe it’ll come to me later, but for now the only thing is I know I’m addicted.

Awesome @fanievb  !!!

"Water point 5 needs a special mention, especially the youngster with the bottle of lube" Daardie seunna se naam is Henko  . . .  well done jong man ! Ek sal dit onthou ,hy het vir my n koffie angedra , hyt gesien ekt dit nodig  :thumbup: 

WP 5 wss awesome !