Cape Town Cycle Tour 2024

pdasilva

2 minutes ago, ChrisF said:

What do these figures look like over the last 10 odd years ?

I'm to scared to do this calculation.

And petrol about to go up R1.21 on the day that we leave. Going to try and get a full tank in before the price goes up.

• Replies 1.2k

All this talk of how dodgy it is.

To the guys who have ridden many sub 3s, no longer race to win but still get stressed over their start group, how many sub3s is enough?

I'm really interested in the Psyche behind the stress, the risk and the perceived reward, especially if you're that uncertain and unhappy with the start/group conditions.

This isn't a dig at anyone before people start getting defensive and attack me. I am genuinely interested in the motive because my brain isn't wired like that

Edited by Jewbacca

3 minutes ago, Jewbacca said:

To the guys who have ridden many sub 3s, no longer race to win but still get stressed over their start group, how many sub3s is enough?

I'm really interested in the Psyche behind the stress, the risk and the perceived reward, especially if you're that uncertain and unhappy with the start/group conditions.

This isn't a dig at anyone before people start getting defensive and attack me. I am genuinely interested in the motive because my brain isn't wired like that

There’s never enough sub 3s maaaaaan…!!!

I ask myself this everytime I line up. Last two years I simply just sat up when it got too hairy and ride  it out to the finish. 
never underestimate the competitive mindset. You get to a point where it’s fun to deal with the stress. Its non stress full stress, but rather an adrenaline rush

…..and it creates great material for ride reports

On 3/2/2024 at 12:39 PM, The Ouzo said:

Todays long term  forecast 

IMG_0969.png

How do I add this on my app ? Just installed it now but pretty clueless XD

And so we enter "race week" phase on Le Hub:

What will the weather/wind be like?

SEaster's gonna howl..(make sure you start near the front!)

Jislaaik, numbers are down...no...wait they up!

I didn't get my seeding yet!

Too many okes riding!

Its a tour...not a race!

Jewie sticking to his guns...under-sized, under-gunned, under-geared, under-rated...

Its expensive!

Petrol price is going up!

Load shedding....(just threw this in cause ....)

Did I leave something out?

Ride for the fallen!

Going to pack, see you at the gate!

16 minutes ago, Jewbacca said:

Well.
You train hard.  You did the sacrifices and diets and long miles etc.
Surely you want to "peak" for a big event and see how fast you can do this?  That would be my motivation.  Irrespective of how many sub3s I've done.

The organisers then squashing 400 people in a racing group?  That borders to attempted murder for me.  

3 minutes ago, Phillippe Coetzee said:

Looks like my KOM in Fish Hoek is save for another year.  😆

4 minutes ago, Phillippe Coetzee said:

are you asking about adding the route to the app ?

I've done the race before, so I link it to Strava and pull past rides from strava into the app.

4 minutes ago, capediver said:

Ride for the fallen!

Goodie bag. we need to discuss the contents of it!

no picknpay we might not even get a bag anymore, you need to bring your own.

I'm in & but at this point I'm seriously considering not riding in the group. The problem is I've looked at the groups further back and they are also ±400 people as well. Not sure what options there are. Anyone else thinking of doing something else?

50 minutes ago, The Ouzo said:

I'm to scared to do this calculation.

And petrol about to go up R1.21 on the day that we leave. Going to try and get a full tank in before the price goes up.

Jip, waiting for our Potch friends.  Two vehicles driving down.

The costs quickly add up .....

4 slapies, dan bederf ons hulle :thumbup:

Todays long term forecast

that peak in the wind is as you get out of Simon’s town and over Smits  

IMG_0976.png

Edited by The Ouzo

Just now, Spinnekop said:

Well.
You train hard.  You did the sacrifices and diets and long miles etc.
Surely you want to "peak" for a big event and see how fast you can do this?  That would be my motivation.  Irrespective of how many sub3s I've done.

The organisers then squashing 400 people in a racing group?  That borders to attempted murder for me.  

Following on from that, what motivates you to STILL risk 'another' sub3 if you believe it's THAT dangerous?

I'm no stranger to training and doing well at various races. I know I'm one of the few people to have run 13 peaks in under 15 hours. But I'm not sold on doing the same event every year as fast as I possibly can every year, especially if there is considerable risk involved.

My brain doesn't compute the risk/reward if it is bad as everyone says, if you've done it many times before

23 minutes ago, Jewbacca said:

A friend did a couple of sub-3s way back.

He no longer rides .... race or nothing ....

11 minutes ago, capediver said:

SEaster's gonna howl..(make sure you start near the front!)

Jislaaik, numbers are down...no...wait they up!

I didn't get my seeding yet!

Too many okes riding!

Its a tour...not a race!

Jewie sticking to his guns...under-sized, under-gunned, under-geared, under-rated...

Its expensive!

Petrol price is going up!

Ride for the fallen!

ENTRY PACK ....  (goodie bag)

how can you forget this .....

Edited by ChrisF

4 minutes ago, The Ouzo said:

are you asking about adding the route to the app ?

I've done the race before, so I link it to Strava and pull past rides from strava into the app.

Yip is there a way to add the route ? Otherwise I will just keep an eye on the forum for the weather updates.