SA's trail difficulty rating system

Philip Varen

I'm putting together a blog article on this topic (see title) -  on what to expect from each trail rating and the level of skill each rating demands. 

There are 2 systems that I think are in use in SA- based on the strong suspicion that our trails are rated green, blue, red, black and double black.

The IMBA system uses (white), green, blue, black, double black. 

The Forestry and Land Scotland system (UK system) uses green, blue, red, black, orange.

So it seems likely that we would typically use the IMBA system, with the red from the Forestry and Land Scotland system, sometimes, if not rarely, thrown in. I've been riding for almost 30 years; I've seen red trails but I've never seen an orange trail. 

Any thoughts on this?

Philip

Edited by Philip Varen

Two pitfalls we experience :

1. The rating does not account for wet or dry.  Mostly not an issue.  But some trails are on clay types that becomes super slippery when wet ....  When a new rider relies on "blue" and encounters "black" unexpectedly, it questions the systems.

MAYBE - a notice board at the trail entrance .... "Due to current weather, and trail wear, the rating is elevated from Blue to Red.

OR - Normally Blue trail, expect Red/Black in adverse weather conditions.

The tricky bit being that a good many trails are built to deal better with rain, and the rating does not change significantly, thus you just know until you have tried the trail in different conditions ... and is this not the exact purpose of a trail rating system ?