Leg pain

I have been cycling for 2,5 years. I average 150km a week and raise this to 220km when a race approaches. <?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

I had a Fuji Team Pro and completed several races with no problems. I ?upgraded? to a Cervelo R3 and have done 2 races on it. It took a long time to setup as I have a problem high up on my inner hamstrings as they ache if I don?t get the set up just right Training rides have been going well but the two races have been disastrous. In the Amashova last year I started cramping badly at 70km on the inside of my front thighs where they go into the knee joint. My left thigh was worse and I could not stand the last 35km.

I put this down to lack of training. Since then my training has been going well and I was looking forward to a good ride at the Argus on Sunday. Alas, both quads got very sore again after about 60km, in the same place although they did not cramp.Ouch

A lot of people say that my posture does not look right on the R3 in that I am too upright. Could this be the problem?

• 3 weeks later...

Check your saddle,I had a similar problem which i battled with for months 'till i discovered the shape of my saddle was wrong. It was catching my inner thigh and obviously cutting of blood supply or pinching a nerve. I now ride a very narrow saddle with a flat hard sit bone area!

Gauging from how much you train I would firstly say that you fall within the group of people who don't train enough - distance and intensity. When you go to races you race harder than you've ever trained - the result will almost always be cramping or suffering towards the latter part of the race.

Cramping like you experience can also come from incorrect setup ie cleats or feet at wrong angles leading to discomfort around knee-area leading to overuse of certain muscles especially inner thigh that then have no alternative but to start cramping.