Hi, no, I am not on the inside anymore.....one thing that is a definite is that you won;t get your license, no matter how you ordered it, if you do not pay CGC their R75 towards their executives' remuneration packages..... :)

If, however, you're not in Jozi, the crime capital of Africa, you should get your lic without too much of a fuss.

(Always see CSA as a slow-moving government-mentality-agency, then it is much easier to deal with.)

Carinus - enjoying it on the "outside" for a bit.

Ahhh some additional confirmation. Thought I was doubting myself there for a while while someone was applying ice to my forehead.

• Replies 93

Rumour mills are normally a pound of bull**** to be taken with a pinch of salt. They muddy the already murky waters.

All I want is a straight forward description of the process and what the benefits/rules are.

Simplicity, it cuts out so much chaff.

Crap dude....how mcuh more simpler do you want it? It is put out on the CSA pages.....

You want to race, get a racing license.

Everyone else get normal license.

:P

CSA sanctioning is given to races to ensure that the organisers stick to certain minimum requirements. There used to be requirements on the old csa site, but since the redesign you can't find anything on there.

The big problem is that organiser aren't reported if the screw up, so they're given licenses year after year.

Um, as race organiser, we are told to cough up calender fees. Then closer to the time, provide the race route, categories, and prize monies. Then just cough up the money, again, again, and again. Who benefits from the portion of the race entry that goes to CSA, or CGC? Not the Licenced riders, officials, or Jack Bloggs!! The sanctioning consists of 'have you paid your calender fee?'. And CSA do not 'seem' to give a rats about anyone other than events in the Western Cape... NEXT?

The rumour mill says all licensed riders will bet categorised for next year. So in other words no more age groups.In the categories only teams will be allowed to race. Teams must consist of 4 riders. If more than 4 riders number five must be under 26 years of age. If more than five riders in a team number six must be BEE. Each team must have a manager, director sportif and mechanic. Thats what the rumour mill says!

Heard the same....

No more age groups. Cat 1, Cat 2 etc.

Should be fun.

Don't know about the "must be in a team" thing......What about the normal guys riding 40+ as individuals......

Crap dude....how mcuh more simpler do you want it? It is put out on the CSA pages.....

Everyone else get normal license a membership.

Fixed, you're welcome.

Um, as race organiser, we are told to cough up calender fees. Then closer to the time, provide the race route, categories, and prize monies. Then just cough up the money, again, again, and again. Who benefits from the portion of the race entry that goes to CSA, or CGC? Not the Licenced riders, officials, or Jack Bloggs!! The sanctioning consists of 'have you paid your calender fee?'. And CSA do not 'seem' to give a rats about anyone other than events in the Western Cape... NEXT?

At least with CSA you can see what your money has been spent on in their yearreport. At CGC on the other hand, money disappears, and the responsible person is then pardoned by the CGC president?

Now it al became very clear . I will not join any cycling body or organization , I will not do races sanctioned by them , I will save a lot of money , I can buy more booze and smokes . This all worked out for the better ! Thanks everybody .

Everyone else get normal license.

Yasis boet :angry: .. :P ..... Man I was talking of a simplified process in general, not me specifically.

I already phoned CGC and spoke to CSA, they both confirm that the Cyclosport Liceence, now known just as "membership"

Allows you to race in your cat and get a seeding etc, but UCI/CSA events for points. Like the nationals and provincials require a full racing licence.

Quoted from the CSA site under "CSA Membership" http://www.cyclingsa.com/member.aspx

"Membership will entitle riders to race, be seeded and participate in CSA sanctioned events. Exceptions are detailed under Racing License Section"

So yah lekker, I can still be a weekend warrior in an event like the Silverstar MTB or Nissan Series.

But if I want to compete in events for national points like a pro, I must sign up for a full racing licence.

Sommer :)

Now it al became very clear . I will not join any cycling body or organization , I will not do races sanctioned by them , I will save a lot of money , I can buy more booze and smokes . This all worked out for the better ! Thanks everybody .

You can now afford to enter Sani2C again. Not Sanctioned and they don't care! Funny how they have so many riders riding the event that are not CSA menbers (not licensed) because heaven forbid they enter a not sanctioned event with a CSA license!

Yasis boet :angry: .. :P ..... Man I was talking of a simplified process in general, not me specifically.

I already phoned CGC and spoke to CSA, they both confirm that the Cyclosport Liceence, now known just as "membership"

Allows you to race in your cat and get a seeding etc, but UCI/CSA events for points. Like the nationals and provincials require a full racing licence.

Quoted from the CSA site under "CSA Membership" http://www.cyclingsa.com/member.aspx

"Membership will entitle riders to race, be seeded and participate in CSA sanctioned events. Exceptions are detailed under Racing License Section"

So yah lekker, I can still be a weekend warrior in an event like the Silverstar MTB or Nissan Series.

But if I want to compete in events for national points like a pro, I must sign up for a full racing licence.

Sommer :)

So your are not as dumb as you look in your profile pick? :D :D

I battle now with the same question.....do I go race at Nationals or not? If not, the D bunch will be my new home..... :)

so now to race i gotta pay:

1-CSA membership. R 75-00

2- to be a CSA member i have to be part of an offical club. R 300-700

3- race licence. R350-00

TOTAL : R 725 - R 1125-00

WTF

That is absolute BS.

espacailly when you take into account the cost of races now days.

or am i missing something?????

so now to race i gotta pay:

1-CSA membership. R 75-00

2- to be a CSA member i have to be part of an offical club. R 300-700

3- race licence. R350-00

TOTAL : R 725 - R 1125-00

WTF

That is absolute BS.

espacailly when you take into account the cost of races now days.

or am i missing something?????

Talking MTB here as i know nothing of Road.

If you pay to join a club they will most likley pay the R75 CSA fee and CGC R75.

If not you will need to pay those.

The race license is only for racing Nationals and UCI / international events.

Holy moses... 4 pages later and this is still as clear as mud!

And to think that some people actually pay me to think - and many more pay those people because they think I know what's potting with life, the universe and everything - and here I am battling to understand the "simple" rules of race registration... :blink:

Two things:

1.) Am I correct in that there is not pro-rata rate? So you either pay-up at the beginning of the year - or face paying FULL price for 3 months membership [like for instance, from today :P ], so that you're allowed to enter the occasional funride during October, November and December?

2.) Can you simply pay the CSA R75.00 fee WITHOUT being part of a MTB club? If I do everything on my own - but are quite willing to pay organisers whatever their fee is for organising a race, and want to simply show up on the day and ride - why do I also have to be part of some club?

2b.) Over and above the annual R75 for CSA - do I also pay an extra R35.00 for a day licence, over and above whatever fee is levied by the Organisers of a race?

If anyone can answer the above - that would be most of much joyfulness. B)

but according to them (CSA) you need to be a member of a club first?

Yes. you need to join a club.

Your club may have included the CSA and CGC application\ affiliation costs(if you are in Gauteng) in the club mempership fees.

If not you will need to pay them seperatly.