Post your mtb SS

_Daemon_

Thinking on building myself a Titanium 29er SS. Currently riding a 26er Aluminum and I'm hooked. Where can I find value for money frames and what make do you recommend? Or is steel the way to go?

My boet bought a dual sus ti frame from Waltly Titanium (China) for a reasonable amount. They make SS spesific frames with sliding drop-outs as well. Check out their Facebook page.

• Replies 3.6k

Eish sorry to hear about injury.

Now although 10k is a moerse lekker budget to have, you are smack in the middle of cheap and cheerfull vs. boutique / custom.

My boet bought a dual sus ti frame from Waltly Titanium (China) for a reasonable amount. They make SS spesific frames with sliding drop-outs as well. Check out their Facebook page.

Thanks, will have a look

Ok getting back to the point, you can get an awesome steel frame for that price, like Dangle pointed out, it won't be made from stovepipes, it will be sleek thin tubes from either Reynolds / Columbus / TT of high grade air hardened steel.

Eish sorry to hear about injury.

Now although 10k is a moerse lekker budget to have, you are smack in the middle of cheap and cheerfull vs. boutique / custom.

Steel frames over 10k? What are you looking at then?

Ja fak you wont believe what a custom handbuild can cost from some obscure oke in the states. But they are really overpriced if you are buying with your head...if you are buying with your heart it might be a different story

Frames that fall in your budget is the P29 and S.I.R...both bikes I have wet dreams about

Around 8.7

Ta...would be on my shortlist if I had that budget....love its tubes and niner always nails the geo.

What crank does that frame use? Will a XT work?