Yes in theory they said the target is across all 3 formats. But it's not only the T20 team that gets loaded, the ODI team as well and to a lesser extent the test team.

Hmmm... such a difficult and emotional subject this one.. All I'm going to say is that at the end of the day I want the national team picked on merit. Not on skin colour. Not on a ratio of so many of this colour people vs so many of this colour people in SA. We are all South African. Transformation should start at school level. Not picking kids of colour only for school teams, but giving them the resources to play the game on a similar footing as more privileged schools. Thats all. You do that and enough players of colour will come through the system

Afaik CSA's transformation programme goes from grassroots up. And not from the national team down. But yes there I do agree with you the more we can get talented kids into system the better. Especially if we can get those kids into schools like KES, St Stithians, Bishops, Rondebosch and Cambridge would help greatly ito the coaching that they'll receive. Also if we could improve the level of coaching these players receive while still in the age group set up that will help as well. Additionally we need these kids to make it into the professional game in numbers so that we can have the luxury to select the quality one's for the national teams.

Sent from my SM-J200H using Tapatalk

• Replies 11.6k

well well, so it appears David Warner has been using sandpaper on the ball on the field.

David Warner was charged with a breach of Article 2.3.5 of the CA Code of Conduct based on:

(a) development of a plan to attempt to artificially alter the condition of the ball;

(b) instruction to a junior player to carry out a plan to take steps to attempt to artificially alter the condition of the ball using sandpaper;

© provision of advice to a junior player regarding how a ball could be artificially altered including demonstrating how it could be done;

for how long?

does mitchell starc get to keep all his test wickets?

Its up to CA to go back and look into the recent history. If anything, I am impressed with their handling of the matter so far. Perhaps the ICC / various cricket bodies should offer some sort of amnesty and ask players to come forward and disclose information. Then the ICC can use this information in preventing similar offenses, defining undue altering / use of artificial substance (and all the other vague and ambiguous terminology around this matter) and impose a punishment to fit the crime. 3 demerit points and a potential 1 match ban, and only 5 penalty runs added to the opposition score is a joke really.

Should results be reviewed? Lets first get a grasp of whether or not this sort of thing is isolated or common, and if players make disclosures under an amnesty or not.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Edited by GLuvsMtb

Afaik CSA's transformation programme goes from grassroots up. And not from the national team down. But yes there I do agree with you the more we can get talented kids into system the better. Especially if we can get those kids into schools like KES, St Stithians, Bishops, Rondebosch and Cambridge would help greatly ito the coaching that they'll receive. Also if we could improve the level of coaching these players receive while still in the age group set up that will help as well. Additionally we need these kids to make it into the professional game in numbers so that we can have the luxury to select the quality one's for the national teams.

Well, if they set clear targets for the national teams (which they have, even if it is across the 3 formats) then they are implementing from top down.. 

Anyways, enough of that nonsense for now. Have you heard about those cheating Aussies?  :w00t:  :P

Agreed! If you really want to come clean throw the piece of tape, yellow sticky material, sandpaper on the table.

So Cricket Australia have confirmed it was indeed sandpaper. Good on them for clearing that up. 

the original statement was rough around the edges

I signed up for some Aus cricket site to watch highlights when we were there.

my inbox has now been getting some lovely ass kissing all week, the type you've never seen b'fore

An update from James Sutherland

Dear Australian Cricket Fans,

I would like to provide you with a further update on the situation with the Australian Men’s Cricket Team. We appreciate the concern you have regarding this situation and we wanted to ensure that you received this news directly from us.

I have recently concluded a meeting with the Cricket Australia Board in which we discussed the findings to date of the investigation into the incident in Cape Town. The initial outcomes and actions are as follows:

• Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft have been officially reported for breaching Cricket Australia’s Code of Conduct and will depart the squad immediately.
  • The preliminary findings have confirmed that prior knowledge of the incident in Cape Town was confined to only the three players reported.
  • Sanctions are expected to be announced within the next 24 hours.
  • Tim Paine has been endorsed as Captain of the Australian Men’s Test Team.
  • Matthew Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns will fly to Johannesburg today to join the squad for the Fourth Test against South Africa.
In addition to sanctions for the individuals involved, Cricket Australia will initiate an independent review into the conduct and culture of our Australian men’s teams. The review will be an important step in rebuilding and restoring your pride in our Men’s teams.

Our teams have a responsibility as role models to ensure they uphold the values Australians expect, and to inspire us through the way they play.

Further, the health and welfare of our players and other staff is of the utmost priority. The Team Psychologist is with the team and providing support, while a number of players and staff have family and friends with them in South Africa.

The last few days have provided the strongest of indications of the passion Australians have for cricket and the Australian Men’s Team. Fans have provided a consistent voice regarding their expectations and we have been listening. We greatly value the feedback we receive from the Australian Cricket Family and will take the necessary steps to address your concerns.

James Sutherland

Chief Executive Officer - Cricket Australia

Well, if they set clear targets for the national teams (which they have, even if it is across the 3 formats) then they are implementing from top down..

Anyways, enough of that nonsense for now. Have you heard about those cheating Aussies? :w00t: :P

Bans as I had suspected once the top brass got involved. Good on CA on taking such action and setting a standard ito punishing this form of cheating.

Still feel there is more players involved but if there is no evidence then there is not much that can be done.

Lehmann also needs to go. Let's hope that happens.

Watched the whole police escort thing and found it distasteful....pleased that its over and we can get on with the cricket although mark my words....the last test will be a damp squib no matter how much the commentators talk it up.

All in all a rather regrettable and forgettable series.

Watched the whole police escort thing and found it distasteful....pleased that its over and we can get on with the cricket although mark my words....the last test will be a damp squib no matter how much the commentators talk it up.

no way!!

aussie fightback - awesome story

proteas murdering baggy greens, that will never get boring.

infact here's some to whet your appetite!

Further, the health and welfare of our players and other staff is of the utmost priority. The Team Psychologist is with the team and providing support

Steve Waugh must be spinning in his early grave.......

Was there ever any doubt it wasn't

Not really but with that confirmed the initial press conference where they straight faced the tape story weighed heavily against them and added significantly to the sanctions.

Got a videoclip of a thermal camera on WhatsApp today. Some cold bus station or airport or similar. Lady lets out a fart. Big thermal cloud escapes her behind . Quickly moves away from the incriminating area.

Sou lekker wees om tydens die ‘Ballgate’ saga so thermal kamera op Liegman, Skuld, Bankrot en Warnedya te kon hê, om te sien hou hulle washers knyp en flaters paseer!

Yeah, watching that I actually felt sorry for the guy. Warner and the other oke though I have so sympathy for. Hanscome has a real "kom moer my gesiggie"

There is no need to manhandle them whoever they are