Looks like i didn't really miss ot on anything, who knows I might have been the unlucky one to be taken out in the STARS bunch....I agree tho, there is some serious need for skill in the STARS bunch, especially from the Cedar and Mohammedeyah Club cause if taken ot by their stupidity their will be some fist pumping afterwards....Garenteed!

• Replies 87

Everybody riding funrides in Cape Town should know by now that Cedar Shake and Bake spells 'Excercise extreme caution when you come close to me, cause I can't ride my bike'. This is said with experience of these cyclists bicycle riders!

Personally i really dislike races that descends Smits like Cobra as i find it simply to nerve wrecking to descend with a whole bunch who is trying to make up time. Never done the Cobra.

what was different yesterday compared to the last few editions was the SE was not blowing which normally acts as a safety valve and trim the group sizes before cape point instead the NW was blowing and therfore you had these huge groups going down Smits.

maybe they should but marshalls on smits just to calm traffic also. Cyclelab starting the race @730 just to accomadate the 30km ride is ridiculous and frankly unsafe because @ after nine round cape point/simons town you have a much bigger traffic volume. IF the long ride had started first the motorbike would simply not have been there.

i think they must rethink this as it is a league ride and will always be well attended.

I wonder how many people actually did the 30km?

No matter what PPA group you ride in there are always people who ride dangerously, I have ridden in most groups from J up to A and SV there are in every group a couple of guys who seem hell bent on taking others out.

There are just people without the spatial perception & skills to ride safely. There are also people who have no regard for the safety of others and feel that they are justified in riding like idiots just to move up a few positions.

Moaning on the Hub wont do anything, complaining to the PPA may get better results, but probably not. The best thing is to wait until after the ride for a "quiet" word or two to the person.

Hi Mtb_Roadie

Thanks for giving us a break this week, the pace was consireably slower without you putting the hammer down.

I met Tour Vista and had a lekker one.

Agree there are always dangerous guys in the pack , however I think that they opened up the Stars Cat too far down in PPA seeding, result you have guys that have not rode many racers coming in at this level.

I think the STARS group is too big and the rider strengths to diverse. G/F group is picking up the majority of the STARS riders and towing them along.

Those that get picked up by G/F are desperate not to do any work and most of the crazy antics are attempts to get away from the front of the peleton when they get caught up in any sort of organised rotation.The rider just behind does not want to get any further forward either and then it all starts to get a bit silly as they try and drift backwards.

Most annoying are the downhills ... Yes you will go faster than the front riders whilst sheltering in the bunch even without pedaling. Thats why we have brakes! When you pass by on the right (over the line) you will soon hit some wind resistance and slow down. Now you want to push back in ??? Even an idiot learns thats dof ... quickly ... not so in the STARS.

From what I heard it was not the 1st rider down that was the problem. The guys who hit the motorbike was look at the crash on the left and thus crossed the white line.

I hope the riders recover soon.

on this point ........... i always remind my son that mo matter what happens to never take his eye off the road (also riding U16 League ). an accident can happen to quickly. :eek:

Hope all involved recover soon ..............

Edited by Slow_one

BB69 thank you for your very wise thoughts on the matter.

Firstly I am one of the Think Bike Marshals and only due to the severity of what has happened have I decided to write on your forum. (Please note I am not planning to debate or discuss / argue what I am about to write further)

Fact

PPA / CycleLab Rule - DO NOT CROSS THE WHITE LINE! - Stupid excuses like I am racing, the wind, there was no traffic etc does not matter the rule is there to PROTECT YOU!!!

Fact

Its is not only the on coming traffic you need to worry about.... I’ve lost count how many times I have used my bike and my life to block traffic to save a rider that just crosses as we are trying to let traffic past

Fact

The elite cyclist on Sunday took over the WHOLE road going up black hill, and actually pushed my colleague who was marshalling them into the yellow line of the oncoming lane. I had to help him out and luckily we managed to push them back, if we had not believe me they would have also been in hospital.

Fact

The elite cyclist again on the hill by kommijie did the same took the whole road over endangering not just them, but my colleague and my self as well... How many times in one race must I risk my life for you???

Fact

due to their behaviour I had to very often ride at dangerous speeds on that very bumpy road to force traffic out the way.

Fact

your bunches break up constantly do you really expect us to be everywhere at once? I would love to, but its impossible

Fact

many "professional" riders have 0 regard to the rule and to us... So when we reprimand you for breaking the rule you b!tch n moan, when we are not there you moan even more??? choose what you prefer your life or your seeding - stick to the rule

Fact

I / we volunteer to keep you safe - (the money I receive pays for my fuel and maintenance) keep that in mind

Fact

Our lives are more at risk than yours - I have a family too - I want to come home to them too

Fact

Rule is a rule

Fact

I cycle as well

Fact

it was the cyclist that caused the accident, not the fact that the Marshals are not their (dont be typical South Africans and blame everything else for the accident - take some responsibility) My survival instinct tells me not to cross the white line because I know that a car / bike / truck could be coming around that corner. Think about it rationally for a change

Fact

This is not directed at all of you - just the ones that think they are above the rules

Ps thanks to the very few guys who asked about the bikers condition (we don’t know either yet)

I hope all heal and that it is not too bad. But imagine it was a truck or a car what the carnage would have been?

Have a good day

To the motorbike marshals ... thankyou all for a really thankless job. I'd just like to highlight the fact, that these guys do the job out of the goodness of your hearts ... not to get rich! Over the years, I've accumulated good memories of the times these marshals have made the road safer for our bunches ... the recent Burger is a case in point. These guys were fantastic, specifically on the way back to Stellenbosch, when the wind became a factor. I no longer own a motorbike, but if I did, I don't know that I'd be prepared to sacrifice a perfect Sunday morning, to cruise along in 2nd or 3rd gear for a few hours!

Thanks again ...

Looks like i didn't really miss ot on anything, who knows I might have been the unlucky one to be taken out in the STARS bunch....I agree tho, there is some serious need for skill in the STARS bunch, especially from the Cedar and Mohammedeyah Club cause if taken ot by their stupidity their will be some fist pumping afterwards....Garenteed!

It's not stupidity, MTB_Roadie.

It's a lack of skills and experience.

:mellow:

Nice Quote For The Day...

"...choose...do you prefer... your life or your seeding?..."

PPA 'Think Bike' Marshall, January 2012

Edited by ' Dale

Moaning on the Hub wont do anything, complaining to the PPA may get better results, but probably not. The best thing is to wait until after the ride for a "quiet" word or two to the person.

At some level, these threads will raise the safety concerns and issues to many riders that subscribe to The HubSA.

There is tremendous value in that.

It raises awareness which is key to many riders finding safer and alternative ways to race.

BB69 thank you for your very wise thoughts on the matter.

Firstly I am one of the Think Bike Marshals and only due to the severity of what has happened have I decided to write on your forum. (Please note I am not planning to debate or discuss / argue what I am about to write further)

Agree 100% I ride both m/cycle and bicycle and know the risks involved of going over the white line - I have scars to show what happens when an oncoming vehicle meets a motorcycle when the driver of the motor vehicle jumps a white line to cut a corner.

Thanks for the service and dedication for us roadies :thumbup:

On a side note, how does one become a bike marshal? I didn't ride Sunday's race and thought it would have been nice to be a marshal for the race. Drop me a PM when you can, thanks.

It's not stupidity, MTB_Roadie.

It's a lack of skills and experience.

:mellow:

It is like driving a car, sometimes you need some common knowledge....some of them don't think, its easy...keep a straight line, dont swerve all over the road....I aint a pro either, but some things you should just know....it is probably the same people who rides like this who skips red robots and who takes up the whole road on training rides....

Hi Mtb_Roadie

Thanks for giving us a break this week, the pace was consireably slower without you putting the hammer down.

I met Tour Vista and had a lekker one.

Agree there are always dangerous guys in the pack , however I think that they opened up the Stars Cat too far down in PPA seeding, result you have guys that have not rode many racers coming in at this level.

will see you this Sunday ;)

It is like driving a car, sometimes you need some common knowledge....some of them don't think, its easy...keep a straight line, dont swerve all over the road....I aint a pro either, but some things you should just know....it is probably the same people who rides like this who skips red robots and who takes up the whole road on training rides....

Sure, common sense is also an important element.

Driving a car though requires skills and experience. And, I am not even talking about RACING a car.

See you on the weekend (with a new fiets?)

Edited by ' Dale

Sure, common sense is also an important element.

Driving a car though requires skills and experience.

See you on the weekend (with a new fiets?)

that is true, maybe they must offer some compulsary classes to all league racers ;)

Yep, picking new frame up today, should be ready by tomorrow evening :D