Pocket Knives ?

Scooter69

• Replies 1.1k

I got in to knives by having a flea market stall (sort of franchise) at Market Theater and Balfour Park flea market amongst others that sold all sorts of security things including knives in the late 80's.

Gas Guns, Swords, Batons, Shock batons, butterfly knives, switch blades - you get the drift.

I started to develop an understanding and like for them after that. I have a Kershaw, Leatherman x 2, I had a really nice Queen Steel (lost) and some nice lock blades which were locally made. I also have some kitchen knives including a Sushi Knife I got in Seattle on a whim that I am **** scared of, which is a type of Damascus steel.

But the funny bit was that stall. Man I had some things happen there.

Kids would arrive and play with the butterfly knives. It was always a short space before they drew blood . I carried plasters eventually, cause it was so regular that they would cut themselves.

Then there were the stilettos and switchblades - one so big it was like a sword. The guys would open these up and honestly almost slice their mate in half.

I had tear gas guns as well as shock batons. I couldn't sell either so i decided to get clever. I used to spray the gas in to a packet and then give them a smell, but as they sniffed i would squeeze the base so they got a bigger hit than expected. The guy would cough and splutter for 10 minutes and then he would cough up money for a spray gun, but so would everyone standing there. Or I would ensure that some got in to the air and then everyone in a 10 metre radius would be hacking and coughing.

The other one was the shock baton/Taser. You cant explain how they work, so I used to connect a battery and show them the sparks arcing across the top. One day I was busy and forgot to disconnect it and this guy comes along, picks it up, prods his mate and hits the switch. The guy must have been tasered for about five seconds, he did a bit of break dancing and then fell over. He needed to sit in my chair and we fed him Coke (sugary water) for a bit. But he was so the moer in - as soon as he recovered he wanted to bliksem his mate. And they had a table full of weapons.

But the ultimate story was the nunchakas. Lekker hard ash wood, beautifully made. So this oke come up, picks them up and he does the whole Bruce Lee thing from when he was 12 years old, but he isn't as fast as he was and he misses a catch and smacks himself full tilt on the back of the head, knocking himself almost senseless. I saw the eyes start to fade he hit himself so hard. We also had him in the chair drinking Coke.

Man that stall was entertainment.

I had some really nice knives from it but they have mainly been lost or stolen since then.

If you insist.

Pick one.

http://www.jayfisher.com/_borders/FOAriesNewZealandJade11.jpg

http://www.jayfisher.com/_borders/FOArgiopePolvaderaB16.jpg

http://www.jayfisher.com/_borders/FOBulldogMookaiteJasper1.jpg

http://www.jayfisher.com/_borders/FOAltairPietersite1.jpg

Dipth

Please buy me this one.

http://www.jayfisher.com/_borders/FOBulldogMadagascarRosewood2.jpg

EARPIE, CAN YOU BUY THESE LOCAL ????