Law may change to assist cyclists

paulvs

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Bit off topic... but:

Would motorist still have to abide to this law even when there is a dedicated cycle lane, but the cyclist chooses not to use it?

I see so many douchbags that do this on Marine drive while there is a (PERFECTLY) good cycle lane... and when you hoot or confront them they act like the motorist is in the wrong.

"Hayward said: “Cyclists are not all goody-two-shoes. The police must get out there and fine those people. A cyclist does not have the right to ignore traffic rules. In Australia they confiscate your bike until you’ve paid the fine.”"

I like. They need to implement this in Joburg on Oxford road going through Rosebank. Buses are a major issue here especially early morning. Cant even remember the number of close shaves I have had. The buses also seriously exceed the speed limit. If I was a traffic cop I would be making a few arrests every morning.

The Cape Times asked Transport MEC Robin Carlisle if it were feasible to introduce the 1.5m overtaking legislation, given the narrowness of some roads favoured by cyclists.

Carlisle replied: “If the road is too narrow for a vehicle to overtake a cycle at a distance of 1.5m, then that vehicle must travel behind the cycle until it is able to overtake it lawfully.”

The principle is great and I think it is a move in the right direction.

Enforcement will still be an issue, but if a motorist does hit a cyclist whilst breaking this law it could spell serious trouble for him.

I like. They need to implement this in Joburg on Oxford road going through Rosebank. Buses are a major issue here especially early morning. Cant even remember the number of close shaves I have had. The buses also seriously exceed the speed limit. If I was a traffic cop I would be making a few arrests every morning.

Those Putco busses down Oxford road in the mornings terrify me.