Ok so I have budgeted for an International Tri event.

Abu Dhabi Tri's organisers have not opened the entries and even Faris al Sultan says he is not sure the event will go on. It was perfect timing as 2 March is 6 weeks before PE.

Another option looks to be IM New Zealand (same date) although the flight tickets alone is my whole budget. (R35k for 2 tickets)... and I am not to fond of racing near the arctic.......

Then there are other options like the Alpe dHuez tri which is the week after the TDF.......... but this is only in July....

Anybody know of any other reachable long distance Triathlons that could be recommended?

• Replies 46

I had to cancel PE for next year for various reasons, but was left needing a race too.

Got an email the other day for IM Klagenfurt (Austria) 30 June, so decided what the hell, and paid my deposit yesterday

Most expensive option incl flights/accom excl entry is 25k, cheapest just under 20k

If you want more details will send you details, pm me

PS was a deal sent through via triangle from club travel in PE

Looks like an awesome race, almost identical profile to PE, and a lake swim and flat run

IM New Zealand was cancelled this year due to weather, I feel for those that spent R35 k plus to get there to be told that it was off, bear that in mind. I dont think that you will find much happening in the northern hemisphere this time of year, perhaps look at IM Mexico or IM Australia in May or IM Brazil in March 2013

I had to cancel PE for next year for various reasons, but was left needing a race too.

Got an email the other day for IM Klagenfurt (Austria) 30 June, so decided what the hell, and paid my deposit yesterday

Most expensive option incl flights/accom excl entry is 25k, cheapest just under 20k

If you want more details will send you details, pm me

PS was a deal sent through via triangle from club travel in PE

Looks like an awesome race, almost identical profile to PE, and a lake swim and flat run

I know people who have done this race and had only good things to say - Austria is very central and you could make a further holiday of it as well.

Garf have you checked out the challenge events? This on is in the first half of the year.

http://www.challenge...half/index.html

I did im70.3 Switzerland thisyear and was a jol but also in July ... no fun swimming though winter

Did they mention at the time that you were there that 70.3 for 2013 was not going to happen? It was canceled or postponed due to building at the Rapperswil race venue....well apparently the race is back on for 2013 new sponsor (BMC) found and new start finish venue, not sure if there is any route changes involved.

Eish thanks!

Panama also looks the **** but its too far again R30k for flights only. Remember the wife is going as well. Thanks JGR I did look at the Challenge races and are considering them.... They just sell out really quickly....

It would be a dream to race in the European mountains hence the interest in the Alpe dHuez Tri.

I even see there is a Canary Islands race!

Use SA 70.3 for your warm up and come to europe in summer, just remember the race entries oversubscribe / fill up very quick in some cases and you have to enter early (also slightly cheaper if u enter early)

I heard rumours of a new "iron man distance" race in switz next year, starting in Locarno and finishing on Jungfraujoch.... hopefully not at the top but its just a just a rumour so far

Swiss 70.3 is not very hilly, some easyish climbs on the bike but nothing scary so maybe not the best if you want to do one in the real mountains like Alp du Heuz

Good view of the alps in the distance if the weather is good

Did they mention at the time that you were there that 70.3 for 2013 was not going to happen? It was canceled or postponed due to building at the Rapperswil race venue....well apparently the race is back on for 2013 new sponsor (BMC) found and new start finish venue, not sure if there is any route changes involved.

The mentioned a few times during the prizegiving and race briefing but recieved a few email after saying they had a new sponsor - I think if i race in CH again ill do the full IM in Zurich.

How you been? Ive seen the temps are alreadu sub zero!

The mentioned a few times during the prizegiving and race briefing but recieved a few email after saying they had a new sponsor - I think if i race in CH again ill do the full IM in Zurich.

How you been? Ive seen the temps are alreadu sub zero!

There's a plan...Come do it in 2014, hoping to do it then to celebrate my 50th .....

Yeah its been chilly but only had 1 or 2 days below zero....the biggest problem is daylight saving ended end of Oct, we moved the clocks back and its dark by the time i get home....IDT time has arrived

Use SA 70.3 for your warm up and come to europe in summer, just remember the race entries oversubscribe / fill up very quick in some cases and you have to enter early (also slightly cheaper if u enter early)

I heard rumours of a new "iron man distance" race in switz next year, starting in Locarno and finishing on Jungfraujoch.... hopefully not at the top but its just a just a rumour so far

Swiss 70.3 is not very hilly, some easyish climbs on the bike but nothing scary so maybe not the best if you want to do one in the real mountains like Alp du Heuz

Good view of the alps in the distance if the weather is good

IM CH 70.3 took entries on the day but at a higher price .... any race in Locarno/Lugano would be amazing! loved it down there!

2 of those hills in the 70.3 werent as easy as they looked on the profile. I made a mistake with a 11-23 ... the name witches hills should have been the clue!

Swiss ill come if you do it whistling.gif

although my next trip will be winter as I still have not ski-ed

IM CH 70.3 took entries on the day but at a higher price .... any race in Locarno/Lugano would be amazing! loved it down there!

2 of those hills in the 70.3 werent as easy as they looked on the profile. I made a mistake with a 11-23 ... the name witches hills should have been the clue!

Swiss ill come if you do it whistling.gif

although my next trip will be winter as I still have not ski-ed

True

I would also love to do the winter thing for snow but then the tri is off the charts. Also the admin of carrying a bike along is not lekker.

Maybe I must rather look to run a Londen Marathon or somehting similar.... Hey doesnt the grat wall of China have a marathon?