Stolen Epic 29'er Cape Town

Rough Rider

hey Dictator , thanks for your comment and expertize But ,

let s help Rough Rider to get the bike back ,

dude, you were flipping awesome here. maybe it's not a laughing matter, but I was lightly taking the piss on what is an amazingly powerful photo that would not do so well in any competition. You've increased the chances of a successful recovery here big time. These sort of posts need more airtime, so i was only really just bumping it back to the top of the list.

I'm not sure it's anyone's right to question your (or anyone else who saw this suspicious scene in rush hour) inaction to 'apprehend' the suspect? You thought on your feet, and the results were good.

Welcome to the hub, we like you already.

• Replies 70

These days you never know if the guy is armed or has a knife. Trying to take it could result in injury or worse. At least there is something that could identify this guy now.

Yip.

Ye, think he did his part, gave the OP 100x better chance of at least catching the guy, now onto the authorities to do their part.

Thinking a cross post onto Twitter onto Helen Zille's feed might not be a bad idea, get her aware of what is know/picture etc, she might be able to put some pressure on the local's to actually do something other than being a cold death wall eating pizza's.

G

Yip.

Please keep a lookout for my White Specialized Epic 29"er.

Its a XL frame with xtr brakes . Stolen on 4 December from the V&A waterfront

Do you mind if i post the picture on my facebook asking people to keep a lookout?

Quick thinking on taking those pics and don't feel bad about not confiscating the bike. If the guy had stabbed you, people would have told you you were silly to get involved. You can never please everyone. What you did is brilliant. OP - keep the story going. We want to know what happens. Surely with this evidence you will find this guy?!

Still no explanation as to the circumstances surrounding the theft. Where was it stolen, etc.

We would like to know so we can avoid making the same expensive mistake. I quite often ride through the Harbour to M&B to have breakfast, bike leaning against the hedge close to the table whilst eating. If this is risky, we must know.

Still no explanation as to the circumstances surrounding the theft. Where was it stolen, etc.

We would like to know so we can avoid making the same expensive mistake. I quite often ride through the Harbour to M&B to have breakfast, bike leaning against the hedge close to the table whilst eating. If this is risky, we must know.

^^^ what he said

Guest ctMTBer

These days you never know if the guy is armed or has a knife. Trying to take it could result in injury or worse. At least there is something that could identify this guy now.

Well at least keep following him and call the police...but taking his pics is not going help

Edit: what is anyone going going to do if they see this person without the bike somewhere in CPT?

Or is the idea to five the picture to the police ? And police has the attitude off " surely you have insurance ?"

Edited by ctMTBer

Yoh if I saw this dodgy scene - I would have confiscated that Sworks immediately.

I doubt the thief would have tried to resist, he would have tried to make a getaway to avoid being arrested.

would make duk *** right there act first think later is my problem got too many scars from it

^^^ what he said

My vehicle was parked in my dedicated office parking lot .Bike was cut loose from bike rack behind car right under surveillance camera and with two security guards within 10 meters .

Thanks, so this tjop really wanted your bicycle.

Obviously there is Surveilance footage and you have kept the cut lock and / or chain. Insurance might want to see those.

i fowarded the pixs to the editor at cape times and the argus, don t know if that is cover story , but rough rider is a nice guy that i met and hope i could help to the recovery of his bike ....and prevent such crimes !

i could not do a jackie chan or chuck norris here, i didn t realize on the 8 seconds encounter with the crook , that the bike was stolen !!!

how could i presume on that ? why bother ? and ride a moto on a pavement and follow him ? i just did it !! in 8 seconds only !

i was victim myself of a bike robbery in a bridge near the casino 2 months ago and even if i know how to defend myself ( a bit) , ... ,2 guys came from nowhere , pushing me to the ground , a 10 inch rusty blades coming into my leather shoes and left a big cut ( don t ask why i was riding with leather shoes at the first place ) ..., the bike was gone with two guys on it ..........riding away . i was safe at least .

my reaction was , **** , welcome to cape town !!! lekker bru ! . and i walked back home shivering and pissed off with the world . it was a **** bike anyway , but superbly rideable .

but a camera is helpfull , it happen to be around my shoulder instead of my bag for that situation , that was my weapon of choice . !

but guys be careful we thinking a syndicate is operating on a special command , carte blanche did a documentary i think last month about special order.

record the serial number of your bike now !! it is ususally under bottom bracket . take some pixs , overexposed or under !

but take some yeah ?

Jey ,

Edited by jey5000

Omg! The guy in the photo, is that your bike?? How did he steal it?

oh no you didn't......just ask that question read the whole thread dude. Bump!