Upgrade to Disc Brakes

Tesla

Hi guys. A friend recently convinced me to join him in the MTB scene, so saying I'm new to all this is an understatement.

Long story short, I bought this merida tfs 500 and I want to upgrade the V brakes to disc brakes.

I have no idea what my options are here. Obviously I would like to spend as little as possible, without sacrificing safety or buying something that breaks within a couple of uses.

I'm also scared that if I approach a bike shop they would just try and take advantage of my ignorance.

I have included some pictures, so if any of you seasoned MTB pros out there can point me in the right direction that would be great.

Cheers

post-17490-0-31868500-1382722982_thumb.jpg

post-17490-0-37573900-1382723002_thumb.jpg

post-17490-0-11252100-1382723019_thumb.jpg

post-17490-0-98925000-1382723043_thumb.jpg

Going to need new hubs possibly spokes as well ...

plus rotors of course.

Is it worth it vs a good used later model bike?

plus rotors of course.

Thought so.. seen some ok'ish wheelsets on here for R950.00 +

Ya 2 grand later.. Just rock the V's till new bike.

Hey Tesla. So first off you need to check if your equipment can accommodate discs. Your frame can... I can see the mounting holes for the rear calliper. Can't see if the shock can from the pics but it needs to have mounting holes on the left side of the fork to mount the calliper. Then you need to check your hubs. From the photos they are definitely not a 6bolt mount but I can't see if they are centrelock hubs or not.

If your fork and hubs are not disc compatible it could be an expensive upgrade. Your best bet then would be to buy a second hand set of wheels and maybe a second hand fork. But you're still in for about 1k on wheels, 1.5k for a fork, 1.5k for the brakes, 500ish for rotors and then any adapters to mount the calliper to the frame/fork.