[Event] MTN National MTB Series #6 Van Gaalen Driven By Nissan

Guys just remember this is a "National MTB Series" event and not just another race over a weekend.

It's meant to be challenging, and the routes are put together to keep the finishing times on standard in the series. :devil:

Half-Marathon ideal winning time 01h50min - 2h00min

Marathon ideal winning time 3h00min - 3h15min

Ultra marathon ideal winning time 04h30min - 05h30min

We obviously always try to keep it diverse and interesting with a fair balance of all riding conditions. (yes that means there rocks & sand - and not a groomed smooth artificial course, MTB means exactly that "MOUNTAIN" biking - I'm sure the purists will agree.) :thumbup:

• Replies 406

Guys just remember this is a "National MTB Series" event and not just another race over a weekend.

It's meant to be challenging, and the routes are put together to keep the finishing times on standard in the series. :devil:

We obviously always try to keep it diverse and interesting with a fair balance of all riding conditions. (yes that means there rocks & sand - and not a groomed smooth artificial course, MTB means exactly that "MOUNTAIN" biking - I'm sure the purists will agree.) :thumbup:

Wouldn't want anything else Wessel....recced some of the route last weekend...looking good :thumbup:

Yip I agree. When can we start moaning about the following?

Seeding

Goody bags

Not enough water

Water was warm

No Coke or Powerade

Parking

Nothing to drink at finish

Too many rocks

Sand on district road

Riders walking the descents

Seeding

Goody bags

Not enough water

Water was warm

No Coke or Powerade

Parking

Nothing to drink at finish

Too many rocks

Sand on district road

Riders walking the descents

Why is this in winter

whom is going to push my bike back to my car

why did they not tar the single track

Edited by flat29

Jislaaik I'm looking forward to this race. No "Jou Bliksem" for the 75km route. What a pleasure.

I didn't want the Ultra & Marathon to overlap the last kays as the riders would of joined together, I prefer the ultra boys racing alone. If you're fast you might see some on the "Oom Piet" loop.

On the marathon, till the floating bridge will be very tuff, :whistling: from there it's a walk in the park. :blush: We'll work earlier on the routes for 2015 and change the Ultra so that the marathon has closer to 1500m ascent, away from the ultra... and the ultra will be more interesting... :ph34r:

I didn't want the Ultra & Marathon to overlap the last kays as the riders would of joined together, I prefer the ultra boys racing alone. If you're fast you might see some on the "Oom Piet" loop.

On the marathon, till the floating bridge will be very tuff, :whistling: from there it's a walk in the park. :blush:We'll work earlier on the routes for 2015 and change the Ultra so that the marathon has closer to 1500m ascent, away from the ultra... and the ultra will be more interesting... :ph34r:

Good call Wessel...splitting the manne at the end is the best.

Seeding - On the day

Goody bags - on the day

Not enough water - Moer off the floating bridge and fill up

Water was warm - more chance of me falling pregnant, its WINTER

No Coke or Powerade - man up and drink beer

Parking - when you arrive

Nothing to drink at finish - Get a better girlfriend, one that packs you beers :thumbup:

Too many rocks - Springs is far away

Sand on district road - MAKE NO MISTAKE, must I start now?

Riders walking the descents - I will make my presence known

:excl:

Expect a full race report from you on Monday morning.

Yup Chukky, i expect nothing else than a protracted rant about those incompetent lazy and slow chops on the satellite descent. Please make sure you throw an empty water bottle at me as you blast past......

:)

Anyone else predicting a +7 hour finish on the marathon ?

Hi Thomas, my first year on the Trailseeker series was a rude awakening for me as I had never ridden at vG before and finished in 7 hours 30 ! It was 45 degC in the sun at 11.30 that day, I went through a litre of water an hour. It was the year they ran out of water. I was lucky to get off the satellite climb in time to get the last of the water at that water point after the descent. If you had no water there you would have been mad to carry on in that heat.

Last year I returned (3 year break) and managed it in 6 hours 30. The killer for me is the satellite climb and descent, I ended up walking so much that you can easily add an hour to your time. I have been practising at vG in the past year though so know the routes now and looking forward to it massively despite what I know awaits me ... with a vG marathon I am always happy just to finish ! Its real MTB'ing though, no doubt about that and my preferred weekend ride these days.

Yup Chukky, i expect nothing else than a protracted rant about those incompetent lazy and slow chops on the satellite descent. Please make sure you throw an empty water bottle at me as you blast past......

:)

Dont worry, you will find him gooi'ing a vloer moer about 3km later in the "sandpit".... The prawn and sand are not tjommies.