Is motorcycling allowed?

17 minutes ago, Hairy said:

%$#%^ that.

It takes a lot for me to strip my moer ... my moer is properly stripped.

Bike has been there for 47 days.

I do not give a continental that his back is sore and he now has a flu that is he "going to sleep off this morning" and then he is going back to the workshop to "sort out my bike for me".

Going to go down there now to see what the bike looks like, if she is pretty much close to finish as it was just the starter motor brushes that had to be done.

Unfortunately I have meetings later today or I more than likely would have gone and gotten the %#^ bike.

If he does not complete tomorrow I am fetching the #%^$ thing.

Who is the guy working on it?

• Replies 10.8k

Side note, any recommended private KTM mechanics anyone can recommend in CT, and better yet Table View area please.

Need to find a new workshop for next time around.

Someone called now, I think his wife.

Following my last voice note, and going to the workshop to see the bike, I have been assured that I will get it tomorrow, and they will contact me tomorrow to arrange for a collection time.

3 hours ago, Hairy said:

Someone called now, I think his wife.

Following my last voice note, and going to the workshop to see the bike, I have been assured that I will get it tomorrow, and they will contact me tomorrow to arrange for a collection time.

image.gif.33909b99e320abb3da3ae02e68aca2da.gif   🙂

11 hours ago, Hairy said:

If I do not get the call to collect tomorrow, I have a big friend with an even bigger bakkie, and we are going to go get the bike.

Good luck today. 

a bike shop that is not “sorted” is cause for concern. Time is money , customer satisfaction and all that. 

it’s gonna be worth the wait I suspect. These big singles are good for smiles. 

Ok, tomorrow I get the bike 🤣

He was not happy with how the motor turns over at start, and is worried it will burn out the motor. So he has opened her up again and checked the decompression pin and recons it needs replacing. Let's not forget something small, like him supposedly checking this a few days ago.

Anyway, he is taking it to a dude to make and press in a new one now, and will have it back for tomorrow.

image.jpeg.97345ab1f7aaf18cdf6c49191c7e2b5b.jpeg

At least I know he is working on the bike ... though I would have appreciated if he just wiped around the motor a bit to make sure there is little to no dirt near the open heart of the bike while he is working here.

And whoever the clown is that taped up this elec wire like this, should be taken outside and be given an stern talking to.

image.jpeg.3f793f5216431a825afa44f86e32aacc.jpeg

When I was there last, I also picked up the loose wires on the right rear indicator..... fooking amature hour from the previous persons owning this bike, and it is also apparent I will have some plastic repairs to do around the indicator fixture to the body panels when I get her back.

image.jpeg.e256ecb083ba9c3a7726789dd9bcee6a.jpeg

Ish - now I'm not going to make any jokes because I know exactly how you feel.

I had a similar situation with my RAV - I was hearing a bearing noise coming from the front but only when I pulled into the Garage.  Nothing serious.  Anyway, I work in Krugersdorp and live in Pta so I commute.  I also have to be quite smart with services because I need my car to get home again.  So off to Toyota I go for the 180000 service and please to check for the bearing noise.  Comes back - needs a water pump.  Two days.  This obviously doesn't work for me, so I book it into Toyota Lynnwood for the water-pump.  No says the Service Advisor - it's the tensioner pulley. Two days.  So I leave it with them and steal my wife's car for work.  RAV stays with Toyota over the weekend, on Monday my Wife Ubers to collect.  Sorry says Toyota, it wasn't the tensioner pulley but the Alternator - R15000.  NFW say I, and I drive the car to Krugersdorp on Tuesday to work so I can hear the new noise.  Now it's bloody loud.  So off I go to our Auto Electrician up the road who we can trust - yup - Pulley on the Alternator.  Car will be done by 16:30 he says.  Calls me at 16:30 (after all my colleagues have left Krugersdorp), Toyota has no stock of Pulleys so car will only be ready on Thursday (2 days).  Uber back home to Pretoria, steal my Mom's car for Wednesday and Thursday, use the bike to work on Friday, pick up the car - noise still there.  Now I'm worried to drive the car back to Pretoria in case it is the Water Pump, so off to Toyota West Rand again - please replace the water pump.  We told you says the Service advisor. another 2 days.

Bike home on Friday, Wife's car with Bike trailer to work on Monday, Wife's car home on Monday, bike to work on Tuesday, My RAV with bike on trailer back home on Tuesday.....

Noise is still there.  Aircon pulley apparently.....

3 hours ago, Andymann said:

Ish - now I'm not going to make any jokes because I know exactly how you feel.

I had a similar situation with my RAV - I was hearing a bearing noise coming from the front but only when I pulled into the Garage.  Nothing serious.  Anyway, I work in Krugersdorp and live in Pta so I commute.  I also have to be quite smart with services because I need my car to get home again.  So off to Toyota I go for the 180000 service and please to check for the bearing noise.  Comes back - needs a water pump.  Two days.  This obviously doesn't work for me, so I book it into Toyota Lynnwood for the water-pump.  No says the Service Advisor - it's the tensioner pulley. Two days.  So I leave it with them and steal my wife's car for work.  RAV stays with Toyota over the weekend, on Monday my Wife Ubers to collect.  Sorry says Toyota, it wasn't the tensioner pulley but the Alternator - R15000.  NFW say I, and I drive the car to Krugersdorp on Tuesday to work so I can hear the new noise.  Now it's bloody loud.  So off I go to our Auto Electrician up the road who we can trust - yup - Pulley on the Alternator.  Car will be done by 16:30 he says.  Calls me at 16:30 (after all my colleagues have left Krugersdorp), Toyota has no stock of Pulleys so car will only be ready on Thursday (2 days).  Uber back home to Pretoria, steal my Mom's car for Wednesday and Thursday, use the bike to work on Friday, pick up the car - noise still there.  Now I'm worried to drive the car back to Pretoria in case it is the Water Pump, so off to Toyota West Rand again - please replace the water pump.  We told you says the Service advisor. another 2 days.

Bike home on Friday, Wife's car with Bike trailer to work on Monday, Wife's car home on Monday, bike to work on Tuesday, My RAV with bike on trailer back home on Tuesday.....

Noise is still there.  Aircon pulley apparently.....

Had to laugh. Although probably in poor taste doing so. 

19 hours ago, Hairy said:

Ok, tomorrow I get the bike 🤣

He was not happy with how the motor turns over at start, and is worried it will burn out the motor. So he has opened her up again and checked the decompression pin and recons it needs replacing. Let's not forget something small, like him supposedly checking this a few days ago.

Anyway, he is taking it to a dude to make and press in a new one now, and will have it back for tomorrow.

image.jpeg.97345ab1f7aaf18cdf6c49191c7e2b5b.jpeg

At least I know he is working on the bike ... though I would have appreciated if he just wiped around the motor a bit to make sure there is little to no dirt near the open heart of the bike while he is working here.

And whoever the clown is that taped up this elec wire like this, should be taken outside and be given an stern talking to.

image.jpeg.3f793f5216431a825afa44f86e32aacc.jpeg

When I was there last, I also picked up the loose wires on the right rear indicator..... fooking amature hour from the previous persons owning this bike, and it is also apparent I will have some plastic repairs to do around the indicator fixture to the body panels when I get her back.

image.jpeg.e256ecb083ba9c3a7726789dd9bcee6a.jpeg

Eish, good luck and maybe check the bike over thoroughly, maybe even an oil change and check the magnetic drain plug and oil filters before you ride it much. The lectrics are simple on these bikes but they do use some quite thin wires so the insulation can get worn off leading to intermittent problems. Indicators get brittle (and burnt on the exhaust side) so need some optional ideas. They need a healthy battery to start; it is a big, relatively high compression motor.

AdvRider has a massive section on the LC4's.

1 hour ago, mazambaan said:

Eish, good luck and maybe check the bike over thoroughly, maybe even an oil change and check the magnetic drain plug and oil filters before you ride it much. The lectrics are simple on these bikes but they do use some quite thin wires so the insulation can get worn off leading to intermittent problems. Indicators get brittle (and burnt on the exhaust side) so need some optional ideas. They need a healthy battery to start; it is a big, relatively high compression motor.

AdvRider has a massive section on the LC4's.

Shotto

New indicators next to my desk for fitting

New battery has also been fit at the workshop.

Hopefully today is new bike day.