Performance enhancing substances among amateurs

• Replies 417

Wow this topic has lit up. This is what we were looking for guys. May it be the touch paper that lights the whole thing up but i don't think its going to. Why don't you go on Carte Blanche anonymous. Whistle Blower case ?. I do feel for all the guys involved in this that are really victims of something bigger and more sinister. Be it the rugby kids or the vets. Our values are so screwed and we are so hell bent on results as a complete society that the ends always justifies the means.....

I wish more of these guys would get really angry that they HAD to, to compete. Blow it wide open, take it out the shadows.

The problem i feel is with the fact that these enhancement drugs are so easily available. I mean i went into springbok pharmacy to get myself "Cadence Recovery Revive" the other day and on the shelf not even 1 meter away was a pill bottle labelled EPO!

I mean any kid can walk into the shop and get this stuff off the shelf, he doesn't even need to go to the OTC section. Is it just me that thinks this is wrong?

Any "EPO" on a shelf is not real EPO . Supplement companies will name things that way to make them appear better. I guarantee EPO is not avaliable in a pill on a pharmacy shelf. But if you went lookin they wouldn't be hard to find, there I agree with you.

Copper, I feel like you’re missing the whole point of this tread, it’s try and confirm that the whole sport is ROTTEN with PED's, amateurs and professionals alike, what does this mean? It means(according to this tread) that guys that cycle exceptionally well are most probably using illegal substances while racing... From working class guys doing the Epic to guys doing a sub 2:50 Argus to guys doing sub 3:50 K2C's, OR, just the regular working class guy who pulls the crap out of the whole group on a Sunday morning club ride.. ROTTEN with PED's.. Especially testosterone and growth hormones... And obviously its not everyone, but it looks (according to this tread) like a big percentage(way to big if u ask me..)

This guy spilling his guts is a step in the right direction to exploiting this whole thing.. The sport of cycling has a cancer, and its fed by pride.. That’s why we have this problem, the guys will do anything, from spending 100k+ on a bike to something stupid like using illegal quantities of caffeine on race day.. They will do anything.. But ey,,, as long as you look good on your bike and perform well within the community..

Not saying what he did was right, but he is doing the right thing now.

Sounds to me more like boasting and less like doing the right thing.

I must say that I can't help but to be deeply disappointed after reading the dope2survive confession...  Maybe not blaming 2ds as a person, but this whole thing is just so damn sad.  I blame weak individuals that crack under the pressure and prospects of cash.  The athletes, the doctors, the coaches, the pharmacists and the whole lot that plays part in this.

only criticism that I have towards d2s is that he "does not feel guilty" about it and the claim that he has not caused anybody harm or financial loss in the process.  That is BS sir, you have screwed a lot of people out of open and fair competition.  Not alone, but you had a very real part in that.

i honestly hope that more parents, coaches, teachers, trainers and doctors out there will tune their moral compasses and stop feeding this monster for the sake of the generations that we leave behind.

Thanks to my old man I guess I grew up in a world where cheating was never an option, shortcuts were frowned upon, giving up didn't exist and ONLY hard work, discipline and following the rules were rewarded, even if the end result was a second, third or 10th place finish.  Maybe this didn't get me as far as others, but I'm a proud of my second, third and 10th places that i've picked up along the way.  I only managed to play second team rugby, was the nr 5 spot in the tennis team, I was often the reserve when running track, this weekend 1000's will start before me in the 94.7, I always finish in the last 50% of ironman and my times on most MTB races are more than 1.5 x longer than the winners and the list goes on.

Despite all this, I love, embrace and enjoy sport more than virtually everybody I know, included those who are a LOT more talented than me.  Seems like there are too many people out their that have never learned to enjoy what they do, but only to enjoy the winning part of it.

If he wants to come clean he can post his name and the transgressions he did. Otherwise I call him chicken.

Actually, it is a bit simpler. If he has nothing to lose by coming clean, he should speak his mind and the truth, and probably atleast be respected hugely for that. If he can't come clean and speak the truth, and there is something to lose, then everything about it being a victimless crime is null and void. Whether it is friendship, cash or just ego that might take a hit...

I cant because I supply them... :) Nah man, i have reported it before and nothing came of it... People were never tested or contacted. I felt a grudge against a nemesis that I KNEW used stuff because he told me. And nothing ever happened.

Im of the view that if there is prize money and the race orgonisers PAY drug free sport they get a better response.

So, not sure what to make of it.

Problem is you can't just accuse someone. You need proof to enable the authorities to do something about it. Proof is hard to come by.

Sounds to me more like boasting and less like doing the right thing.

Can't agree more. We know this stuff is happening and how it's done - and as I said in an initial reply to his post, 5 minutes on Google pretty much provides the same info. I doubt if any further dramatic (yet anonymous) exposé will add much more to what we already know. 

Point is, this oke did not occasionally dope to impress his buddies or rig his Strava time. He consciously engaged in (and made a science of) a lifestyle of cheating, and by doing so deprived honest people of honest victories with his so called "game of chess". And in reading his post, something tells me he is not the changed man he makes himself out to be...

Zero respect.

Start off by naming and shaming yourself if you really feel like "gutting" yourself, buddy.

Can't agree more. We know this stuff is happening and how it's done - and as I said in an initial reply to his post, 5 minutes on Google pretty much provides the same info. I doubt if any further dramatic (yet anonymous) exposé will add much more to what we already know. 

Point is, this oke did not occasionally dope to impress his buddies or rig his Strava time. He consciously engaged in (and made a science of) a lifestyle of cheating, and by doing so deprived honest people of honest victories with his so called "game of chess". And in reading his post, something tells me he is not the changed man he makes himself out to be...

Zero respect.

Start off by naming and shaming yourself if you really feel like "gutting" yourself, buddy.

Yes, it sounded like some boasting and well executed googling.

This person would have to be well in to their 40's on their way to 50.

Andrew, is that you ?

I doubt it.

Yes, it sounded like some boasting and well executed googling.

This person would have to be well in to their 40's on their way to 50.

Andrew, is that you ?

I doubt it.

Boasting? Well executed Googling? And you go tmy age completely wrong brother Wyatt... And poor Andrew, he must have taught you a few lessons on your day, hence the accusation. He is much more intelligent than to dope. (Not as dumb as me!)

Let me hit you with some irony! I have had NO LESS THAN 64 PM's sent to me people who are requesting help! The sport is SICK! Not only me! Only I know that I have stopped and YOU are not to judge because you do not know me! 

You are all lekker windgat slinging your faceless responses around, cowards! I wanted to come clean and make a difference, but hey, with arrogant pricks like some of you I would rather shut up and keep all the stuff to myself than being insulted like this. i have been 100% honest, my intention was NOT to boast. 

I stand before my God and He knows me and my heart, my deepest secrets and my hearts desires. You will not judge me, only God judges. This is exactly why people withhold the truth, because YOU cant handle the truth.

I am a man of my word, you don't know me at all. 

This is a hard topic and you cant face the fact that everyone is sick in this sport! 64 requests I received, is it me or the sport????

All those who sent me PM's for advice, here's my advice:

Visit your nearest Sports Physiologist and ask for advice. 

Some more irony, I have my "normal" profile and I am quite popular among you guys, I will always know who I am, you will never know me, I will always know who the people are that asked me for PED's and will never utter any word. This will be forgotten and never spoken of again. 

Sorry for what I did to the sport.. 

Let me hit you with some irony! I have had NO LESS THAN 64 PM's sent to me people who are requesting help! The sport is SICK! Not only me! Only I know that I have stopped and YOU are not to judge because you do not know me! 

Just to be clear, you're saying that after you started opening up on this thread, 64 Hubbers have sent you PM's asking for advice on how to source and use PEDs?

Boasting? Well executed Googling? And you go tmy age completely wrong brother Wyatt... And poor Andrew, he must have taught you a few lessons on your day, hence the accusation. He is much more intelligent than to dope. (Not as dumb as me!)

You are all lekker windgat slinging your faceless responses around, cowards! I wanted to come clean and make a difference, but hey, with arrogant pricks like some of you I would rather shut up and keep all the stuff to myself than being insulted like this. i have been 100% honest, my intention was NOT to boast.

I stand before my God and He knows me and my heart, my deepest secrets and my hearts desires. You will not judge me, only God judges. This is exactly why people withhold the truth, because YOU cant handle the truth.

I am a man of my word, you don't know me at all.

This is a hard topic and you cant face the fact that everyone is sick in this sport! 64 requests I received, is it me or the sport????

All those who sent me PM's for advice, here's my advice:

Visit your nearest Sports Physiologist and ask for advice.

Some more irony, I have my "normal" profile and I am quite popular among you guys, I will always know who I am, you will never know me, I will always know who the people are that asked me for PED's and will never utter any word. This will be forgotten and never spoken of again.

Sorry for what I did to the sport..

China, I remain faceless because of what I do for a living and have made the decision not to share my details on a public forum. In addition, my idea of doping is a coffee before a ride and a steri stumpie half way through.

You are the one who claims to be trying to help the sport and, if half of what you say is true, you could potentially have a huge positive impact by standing up and sharing what info you have, even if it only makes the new crop scared to try doping due to the risk of being exposed by someone like yourself some time in the future.

There are probably very valid reasons why you wouldn't let us know who you are. Career, relationships etc possibly play a part and I personally would not blame you for that. But, if that is the case, why come on here and tell us how much you know and won't share?