Winter Training

I hear you about fitness.......I am very beer fit at the moment......especially craft beers.......sorry man I was just assuming that gym was your thing.......being known as Armpies at one stage......

LOL. That was a chirp from someone who had it in for the Sheriff at one time. I think they challenged him to a duel on the bike or off it - not sure. I backed the Sheriff, and the oke wanted to take me on as well. Reckoned I had "lekker groot armpies" so I'd be a good fight, or something. I dunno. Cos I certainly don't have large arms... okay, maybe slightly above average, but certainly nothing to boast about. 

So it stuck. Was lekker cute... LOL

• Replies 84

LOL. That was a chirp from someone who had it in for the Sheriff at one time. I think they challenged him to a duel on the bike or off it - not sure. I backed the Sheriff, and the oke wanted to take me on as well. Reckoned I had "lekker groot armpies" so I'd be a good fight, or something. I dunno. Cos I certainly don't have large arms... okay, maybe slightly above average, but certainly nothing to boast about.

Where is the Sheriff

LMGA.........wish I could have witnessed that........

It was here, on Le Hub. Can't recall which thread it was, but it was helluva funny thinking of some grootbek trying to take Ant on.

Bergbok

It was here, on Le Hub. Can't recall which thread it was, but it was helluva funny thinking of some grootbek trying to take Ant on.

Ant se moer man. Ek sal hom stukkend bliksem.

Emperors was my last ride, so after that I started running.

also started with some weight training. Will stay of the bike and spinbike until end of June.

From July I will start riding again and also start with HIIT sessions.

I heard from numerous people that running improved their cycling quite a lot.

MTB. But I sense you're a roadie? Check out Nino Shurter's latest video. There is also a school of thought that states that solely LSD rides are not what you want to be doing during winter.

Guest notmyname

I miss him terribly. Always had a positive input.

Ja. Encyclopedic knowledge and the ability the put tjops in their place. EZ pz. Net so!

come to Slaapstad and race - are we the only place in the RSA that have winter racing? 

post-672-0-13422800-1461263590_thumb.jpg

May1 Sun WP League TT 20km Riebeeck Kasteel

8 Sun WP League Crit   Ottery 

15 Sun WP League Road 108 km Atlantis

22 Sun WP League Road   Killarney

29 Sun WP League Road 120 km Worcester - Rawsonville

June 12 Sun WP League Crit   Lights by Linea - Polkadraai

19 Sun WP League TT 20km Riebeeck Kasteel

26 Sun WP League Road   Killarney

July 10 Sun WP League TT 20km Riebeeck Kasteel

17 Sun WP League Crit   Lights by Linea - Burgundy Estate

24 Sun WP League Road 125 km Fesantekraal

Aug 7 Sun WP League TT 20km Riebeeck Kasteel

14 Sun WP League Road   Killarney

21 Sun WP League Road   TBC

28 Sun WP League Crit   Lights by Linea - Paarden Eiland                  

Okay, so tried to do a warmup session on the Wattbike yesterday, and when I realised that I wouldn't be able to train for as long as I wanted to, decided to give the last 2 minutes a bit of a go. Did a total of 24 minutes, at varying wattages. Average over 24 min was 201w (1.92w/kg) at 88rpm & 161bpm. 

Last 2 minute average was 385w @ 100rpm & 172bpm (3.67w/kg). I'll try the 20 min FTP test sometime this weekend or early next week.