DIY front and rear shock service

Dirkitech

Hi All,

About a year ago I had a LBS do a complete rebuild and shock service on my bike. It wasn't a month before I started noticing reduced performance from the front shock and a few more months from the rear shock. I think the LBS messed up something or didn't replace all the seals as I requested, because prior to having my shocks serviced they never gave any trouble and only wanted the service since I bought the bike 2nd hand and wanted to make sure nothing is going to break on me.

My problem is that as a student I cannot afford another full shock service, so I am trying to learn from online sources how to service a front air shock rockshox world cup and a rear air fox float R with brain.

Has anyone on this forum self serviced their air shocks similar to these?

Is it difficult or risky or tedious?

Is self servicing costly and perhaps not worth the time and trouble?

Any constructive feedback would be appreciated!

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The fork's easy, the shock is best left to someone who knows what they're doing.

Did the LBS send them off or do them in-house? 

Did you asked for a "" oil and wiper kit "" service ?

This a basis essential service very 6 months

(Not that difficult via Google and Youtube )

When you experience other issues they need special attention and parts 

Done by an experienced workshop or the agents 

As a student you should have done your research regarding any "" Brain "" shock ... its going to cost you $$$$

The brain shocks can ONLY be done at Specialized...and its going to cost you....