Death by a thousand lashes - 1st Sky whistleblower

carbon29er

• Replies 110

This just really goes to show that to be pro rider you need to be made of seriously tough stuff, it also shows that still today riders will just about do anything to hang on to their jobs, there is no financial security in pro cycling..

Yes the top 20 riders or so in the world are perhaps more financially secure, but the rest not so so much.

He said, they said... be difficult to prove!

Pictures or it didn't happen.. oh wait there was[emoji6] .. apparently

He told team Doctors he did not inject himself ( but now admits he did it a few times a week )

I am no Doctor or Nurse, but would there not be evidence as in injection marks?

He told team Doctors he did not inject himself ( but now admits he did it a few times a week )

Ja this is a bit of a sticky situation for Sky.. when he was released from his contract they stated his lack of discipline and some other character flaws.

Most likely it wasn't reported because they didn't want any bad PR coming their way.. kind of like this will just bring unwanted criticism to the team and the rider isn't worth jeopardizing the whole team..or the kid is suffering from depression lets get him sorted out...they actually would've been seen as really tough on doping had they reported it.. IMO.

So some rider takes vitamins, on his own, without his team knowing, and now I am supposed to vilify them and put them in the same box as Postal, Astana the Russians....?

I will gladly vilify Sky and Froome etc if they had similar evidence agaisnt them like Valverde, or have a history of blatant doping like Astana, or employed sanctioned dopers like Trek....

If he wore armwarmers they might have missed it.

Specially if he had the black SKY ones.

But white armwarmers, like the white ones Team HSBC wore, those made it easy to "spot" who had a bit of needle action that day

Junkies have a way of hiding these things.

Also if you have agreed and signed a no needle policy and the Dr asked you if you used and you said no, then they are unlikely to strip search you to check.

So some rider takes vitamins, on his own, without his team knowing, and now I am supposed to vilify them and put them in the same box as Postal, Astana the Russians....?

I will gladly vilify Sky and Froome etc if they had similar evidence agaisnt them like Valverde, or have a history of blatant doping like Astana, or employed sanctioned dopers like Trek....

The rider is to blame yes 100%, he did it without the knowledge of the team, the teams actions after he was caught is also a problem, because of their no tolerance to doping..the No Needle Policy is there for a reason.

And while people may see it as "only vitamins" is speeds up recovery from what I can understand (our local Drs on the hub could maybe clear things up and give more of an understanding), which means an unfair advantage was gained, and that violates the doping rules and management covered it up.

You can't say a little doping is allowed just as long as it isn't the good stuff.

It like my kid cheating on a test and I let him get away with it because ag shame he was stressed that day. Because they get away with the "little" things that they end up trying to get away with the "big" things.

But cheating is cheating no matter how and what was used.

ERM. Punchline? I don't feel like reading an entire novel.

No needles since 2011 (UCI)

Sky team member caught using needles and "vitamins".

Sky does NOT report to UCI or authorities.

Team member tells all to BBC.

Sky says team member was "ill" and thus not reportable.

PS: they're also klapping the TRAMADOL.

Team Sky is inniekak as another former team member discloses on questionable medical practices in the setup

Yup... too many stories to back up the "super teams rise to fame"... sounds a lot like team postal to me !

For me it was soooo dodgy to let Cavendish go (team was build around them) then all of a sudden they began winning grand tours with track riders and no climbers...eish I should have taken my vitamins .... :whistling:

What is the rider tying to disclose here? I get that he's dodgy - capable of breaking the rules and hiding it successfully and I get that he wasn't tough enough to perform at a high level under pressure. 

Not sure what he's actually after though. A book contract maybe?

The rider is to blame yes 100%, he did it without the knowledge of the team, the teams actions after he was caught is also a problem, because of their no tolerance to doping..the No Needle Policy is there for a reason.

And while people may see it as "only vitamins" is speeds up recovery from what I can understand (our local Drs on the hub could maybe clear things up and give more of an understanding), which means an unfair advantage was gained, and that violates the doping rules and management covered it up.

You can't say a little doping is allowed just as long as it isn't the good stuff.

It like my kid cheating on a test and I let him get away with it because ag shame he was stressed that day. Because they get away with the "little" things that they end up trying to get away with the "big" things.

But cheating is cheating no matter how and what was used.

But the team say he wasn't caught. He hadn't taken anything by needle at that stage, according to them.

Maybe he is a depressed, unemployed ex cyclist who sees an opportunity to start down a new career or reality TV appearances etc and kickstarts this by talking nonsense to the press and modifying what happened.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

And people wonder why professional sport can and will never be clean... if you don't perform, you don't get paid, it's that simple. Yip people, drugs work... you do the sums 

Have a lekker Friday guys  :devil:

Yup... too many stories to back up the "super teams rise to fame"... sounds a lot like team postal to me !

For me it was soooo dodgy to let Cavendish go (team was build around them) then all of a sudden they began winning grand tours with track riders and no climbers...eish I should have taken my vitamins .... :whistling:

In SKY's first year they built a team around Wiggins for GC after his top 10 TdF with Garmin.

What is the rider tying to disclose here? I get that he's dodgy - capable of breaking the rules and hiding it successfully and I get that he wasn't tough enough to perform at a high level under pressure. 

Not sure what he's actually after though. A book contract maybe?

Looking for a team. Attempt to catch the eye of ASTANA?