Specialized to Trek or?

Craig Foot

This is not a brand bash, but I currently have own a Spez Camber and now doing longer rides (Dr Evil, Tankwa, J2C etc) and have been wondering if it is the right bike for the type of riding I enjoy.

It also seems quite expensive to maintain via a Spez dealer.

I have been exploring options and Trek seem to have the Fuel range if I understand correctly that is suited to my needs, but I have no other knowledge of Trek.

Has anyone moved from Spez to Trek, or what bike do you suggest that is not top end budget.

Components are components I guess (Shimano, Sram etc), so I’m guessing it’s frame design and warranties, after sales service (costs and just being looked after as a customer).

I look forward to your suggestions/advice

Thanks

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Both are great for what you're doing, if you want to change I'd have a keen look at the Stump jumper ST or the new fuel

Both have around 120mm travel while keeping very racey geo

And they don't have proprietary parts which is fantastic

Personally I'd go for the stump jumper all day

You are in Blouberg, there is both a spaz and trekkie dealer in the area that can give you good service ... so that is a good start.

Both Trek and Spaz now offer lifetime warranties on their frames ... so bonus.

Spaz though have started to offer the origional owner a lifetime warranty on their Roval wheels too ... so that is lekker ... they also offer a very decent crash replacement discount and have brought in a further incentive with new bikes that for the first two years the origional owner will receive free shock services ... you pop into the store, drop off your shock and they fit a loan unit for you so that you are not without and bike and swap it out again when yours is returned from the service....go chat to Michael and Cycles Direct RE this if you want the finer details.